1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Galaxy Outs GeForce GT 610 MDT Graphics Card

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Galaxy introduced a new GeForce GT 610 graphics card with its MDT multi-display connectivity, ideal for PCs with multiple high-resolution monitors for productivity. Just don't expect to game on it. The single-slot, full-height graphics card uses a fan-heatsink to cool the GPU and 1 GB of DDR3 memory. The GPU is wired to two IDT VMM1402 multi-display chips, which give out two DMS59 ports. Cables are included that convert each DMS59 to two DVI-I single-link, which supports digital resolutions of up to 1920 x 1200 pixels. The GPU is clocked at 810 MHz, CUDA cores at 1620 MHz, and memory at 1.00 GHz. Based on the 40 nm GF119 silicon, the GeForce GT 610 packs 48 CUDA cores, and a 64-bit wide memory interface. Pricing information was not released.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Aquinus says thanks.
  2. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    It's pretty amazing how far the low end cards have come.
  3. Ghost

    Ghost

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    272 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Unknown
    Cheap alternative to Quadro NVS?
  4. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    I guess it is.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,029 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    It's so cute :D
  6. Isenstaedt

    Isenstaedt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    211 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    This is an HTPC card. I don't get those who say the 650 or the 7750 are HTPC cards.
  7. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I like to be able to play games on my HTPC if the mood takes me.
  8. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,207 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    True, but as long as they keep the prices low end too.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    true
  10. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Maybe the next one after my GT 520, though I don't need so many outputs.

    EDIT: Meh it's a rebranded GT 520 LOL.
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012
  11. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    I want it just for the novelty of it.
  12. Supercrit

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    89 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Gt 610, y u no passive?
  13. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Exactly what I was thinking. They are trying to keep the prices down, I don't see why they would need a fan.

    ¿No HDMI/DP? there goes your HTPC card.
  14. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    No HDMI?!?! LAME
    Isenstaedt says thanks.
  15. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,246 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    Just wait. Zotac will put a dual fan heatsink.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    865 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Because your HTPC is usually hooked up to your TV, which is mostly front of your bed or your sofa, and not at your battlestation.
    You only need a wireless gamepad, and you are ready to have some fun on the big screen, and even first person shooters using fast engines (like Source, Unreal or the idtech5) will run fluid and smooth without problems.

    I hope you "get" it now;)
  17. xorbe

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    370 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Can't you just passive dvi -> hdmi all those connections? Not sure if hdcp works that way though.
  18. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Yes you can, as HDMI carries the same signalling - it's a superset of DVI.
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,887 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Very nice. I would like to see this on something a little more powerful, like the 640 or 630.

    4 displays = workstation card. Many developers and people who work in an office don't need powerful graphics but do enjoy having multiple displays. I would want something like this in my machine at work. Convincing my boss that I need another display in addition to the two I already have might be a tough sell though.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page