1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Galaxy Prepares GeForce GTX 260 1792 MB

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 14, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,228 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    As NVIDIA partners attempt to cash in on the good sales of GeForce GTX 260, by lining up numerous custom-designed models based on the said GPU, Galaxy has added yet another to its lineup: a GeForce GTX 260 accelerator with twice the amount of memory as its reference design, all 1792 MB of it. Galaxy worked on two areas of this card: cooling and memory. Towards memory, the company chose to use the high-density Samsung K4J10324QD-HJ1A memory chip, that has a capacity of 1 Gb (128 MB). 14 such chips populate the 448-bit GDDR3 memory bus to dole out a total 1792 MB of memory capacity.

    Towards cooling, Galaxy used a custom GPU cooler that spans across the length of the card. Its GPU contact block gives out five heatpipes that direct heat to a dense array of alumium fins. Three fans are employed to cool the card. The airflow passively cools the memory, the 4+1 phase VRM area has a heatsink of its own, so does the NVIO2 processor. Expreview put the card through a series of test to bring out its performance increment over the 896 MB GeForce GTX 260. The games World in Conflict and Company of Heroes saw significant increments in average frame-rates.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Expreview
  2. DeathTyrant

    DeathTyrant New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That's a damned nice looking card. It's nice to see a fresh take on the 260.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,974 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    now THATS a custom card.

    all hail galaxy, for making a card thats UNIQUE
    PCpraiser100 says thanks.
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    When you actually look at the results, the only game which shows a genuinely worthy boost is World in conflict, the others are minimal.
    I think its cus there are very few games that actually need more than 1GB of graphics memory at the moment. I mean I can run GTA IV with everything on max, and still only get the odd pop-in.
  5. Slyr7.62

    Slyr7.62

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    69 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    GTA IV does happen to be way more CPU-bound than GPU though, that's why the core I7 helps big time.

    This Galaxy 260 has a nice cooler.
  6. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    My CPU is only ever around 80% usage tho. But it likes using 75% of my RAM! The game itself must be right on the 2GB limit.
  7. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    344 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
    that's a really nice looking card and unique too.. well perform in games, but crysis warhead didnt seem to perform well tho..
  8. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    god then I need a whole new pc! :cry:
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,974 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    take note of the AA levels they're using.
  10. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    344 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
    yup.. with 16QAA, the reference GTX260+ nearly on par with the Galaxy one for crysis warhead.. but the galaxy really perform much better in other game:D..
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,974 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    i'm pretty confident the gap might increase with less stupid levels of AA, as well.
  12. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    344 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
    yup.. me too
  13. kyle2020 Guest

    that does look nice.
  14. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Awesome, when i finally gets a job i will go for this card. And it uses two six pins, yay!!.:) I just hope a 600w PSU will be able to handle that card and the rest of the system,.

    Should be awesome in games.:)
  15. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,200 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Tremendous leap in performance:confused:
  16. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    For OCing :D
  17. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    my antec 550w neo does just fine with my setup

    1 SSD 5 HDDs

    3.9ghz E7300 @ 1.4v
    and zotac GTX260 amp2! overclocked even more 680 core 1250 mem

    less then 450 ish watts imo, tho havnt tested with meter yet. (at full load)

    back on topic,

    only thing i don't like about those heat sinks/fans is it just blows the heat back into the case,
    thats why i like the zotac cooler (i think its the standard referance design) but anyway just my 0.02
    still looks sweet tho!!!!
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  18. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4,829 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,285
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
    Galaxy is my favourite vendor because they often use Samsung memory.
  19. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    what's wrong with others??:confused:
  20. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,172 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle/Shoreline WA
    I like this card because the cooler is dual slot not triple by the looks of it, and that it has more ram.

    For a single card provided the price is right might be my next upgrade.
  21. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    thats a nice looking card but no performanse cains makes it gainda pointless:ohwell:
  22. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    That is a nice-looking card,goes nicely with the heat pipes too. I always trusted graphics cards with memory from Samsung so this card has excellent quality memory.
  23. NeSeNVi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    That's why I like Galaxy: non reference design, but how about loudness?
  24. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,619 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,578
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I like it, looks great, I want that cooler for my GTX260 dammit! I don't see the point in the extra ram, I'd rather have seen a 1GB/512-bit bus 260, I know it's probably not phesable without a gpu architecture change. Nice non-reference board for sure, not worth me changing over to, but nice card!
  25. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    but dude youre on a 22" monitor though... im sure at full HD or higher the 1gb + comes into play... i certainly need it in GTA4 on my rig

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page