1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Game Booster

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Ammugonevil, Jul 24, 2009.

  1. Ammugonevil

    Ammugonevil New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    177 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Hell, deepest, darkest
    There are different versions of this software but this ones seems palateable enough

    Game booster, shuts down aspects of windows etc.... that are not needed for gaming to cut down on the amount of resources that are used
    AsRock and phanbuey say thanks.
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    But you are installing yet another program. Shutting down programs can be done easily.
  3. Ammugonevil

    Ammugonevil New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    177 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Hell, deepest, darkest
    Yeah but then its one click to renable them.. time saving...
  4. Akumos

    Akumos

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    535 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Birmingham, England...
    So, when in your system tray, how resource hungry is this program. I imagine it's KBs!!

    Anyone give examples of what it shuts down... just programs in the background or services too?
  5. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    you have 6b of ram though, if you had like 1gb I could see the need for something like this if you were unsure of what apps to close but with your setup it might be kinda useless to you
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,912 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Meh, it doesn't really matter anymore in the age of dual and quad core processors, 4GB or more RAM and muscle car esque gpus
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Akumos

    Akumos

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    535 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Birmingham, England...
    True true
  8. Ammugonevil

    Ammugonevil New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    177 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Hell, deepest, darkest
    True but it is useful when you are using older rigs in your house when your hosting a lan party... or is that just me..
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
  10. Ammugonevil

    Ammugonevil New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    177 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Hell, deepest, darkest
    And no i dont use it on my system....

    Well it shuts down windows services which arent used/ needed like group policy bollucks... and closes items in your system tray, they are all returned when game booster is shutdown so you dont have to reboot.. renable
  11. Ammugonevil

    Ammugonevil New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    177 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Hell, deepest, darkest
    can give more info and screenshots dude if you want??
  12. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    841 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    To the OP, I was thinking there is no way he needs this. This sounds like a gimmick for an old slow computer like a dial-up booster, but the review says other wise? (Haven't looked yet)
  13. Ammugonevil

    Ammugonevil New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    177 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Hell, deepest, darkest
    I use this on my lil bro's system
    E series dual core 2.66
    and 7900 gs
    4 gig ram ddr2

    yeah i know needs upgrading its on my to do list

    gets more than a few fps so why spin over it.......
  14. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I used game booster on my old P3 and Geforce 4 i didn't really notice any difference but i also had 1gb of ram(that was alot at that time :laugh:)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,202 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    hey, a few FPS is a few FPS... I mean more is always better :D thanks for this.
  16. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,775 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    565
    Location:
    New York
    Here you go.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    Frogger, erocker and AsRock say thanks.
  17. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,860 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    US
    I wounder if this helps games like GTA4, i know defraging the GTA 4 folder can give 1-5 FPS extra by using contig more in some cases..

    Might even help some with games like Arma 2 as well. And because you have a kick ass comp don't mean you can not more reasonable performance out of it.

    Will give it a try now and if i get the time tomorrow i'll post some differences...
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    Very nice! A lot of the programs I already have permanently disabled but there are a bunch in there that aren't. Going to give it a try. :toast:
  19. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    give it a go later with Prototype & see
  20. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,775 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    565
    Location:
    New York
    lol ... I never really use it....I was messing with it and Wprime and had interesting result which swayed toward the app does indeed work...but as far as gaming , not even a once.



    Edit:lolz not even with GTA IV
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    Might be a good program for the bencher's. Now I have to try WPrime. :laugh:
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,912 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    I just disable most of that stuff in services.msc anyway.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,202 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    this is great - because alot of services being disabled are great for games and crunching apps, but sh*T if you're just trying to use the OS - and using office programs that depend on some of these services.

    this toggle is perfect.
  24. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Reminds me of amd fusion and game xp looks decent. iobit also make smart defrag one of the best defrag progs imo
  25. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    you could just stop the services yourself using windows and restart them soooooo. . .

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page