1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gaming at 4K

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by 15th Warlock, Jul 1, 2013.

  1. Knight091

    Knight091

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    Jacksonville FL

    You do 3D work...I want to see it..:):)
     
  2. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    You'd be bored, it's mostly houses and furniture lol
     
  3. Knight091

    Knight091

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    Jacksonville FL
    O DEAR GOD..... WHY...WHY..... well it better be ZBrush houses and funiture...lol.... here is my work.

    http://www.hmay3d.com
     
  4. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,773 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,160
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    You get used to the bezels after a few minutes, once your eyes focus on the main monitor and you use the surround monitors for peripheral vision you hardly notice them, well at least in my monitors I hardly do, but they have very narrow bezels too.

    Can you imagine gaming with 3 4K 31.5" monitors in 3D? Man that would be sublime :D
     
    radrok says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
  6. Knight091

    Knight091

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    Jacksonville FL
    DANG IT. I am trying to take a pic of the sim and the tec room but they have cams every place and signs saying no camera's etc. They get a little mad when they see you snapping pics......SIGH.... :(
     
  7. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,773 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,160
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    That's a driver away from being fixed. From a performance standpoint the cards are doing damn good.
     
  9. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Well I tend to evaluate things that work. Crossfire is not one of them at the moment.

    They delayed their driver release and they could delay/miss the target another time so there's no certainty ;)

    No hard feelings but I tend to bash ATI/AMD considering I've been purchasing their dual GPUs for years and they failed to deliver most of the time.

    This driver fix could decrease frame rate too.

    Man I agree wholeheartedly imagine 6840x3840 portrait surround :droool:
     
  10. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    685
    Properly qualified statements are important for accuracy. Inaccuracies hurt the lemmings....

    This is a problem.
    This is NOT a problem for everyone on every title, at every setting.
     
  11. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    I think I can speak for some TPU members with lots of ATI/AMD multi GPU setup experience when I say Crossfire doesn't work...

    Yes your mileage may vary but to be honest those problems do not tend to show if you run a single 1080p monitor with 2-3-4 GPUs, they become evident when you complicate things like multi monitor, high samples of AA and such.

    When a single card is enough to run a certain game multi GPU issues become veiled.

    Anyway enough this is a horse beaten to death :toast:

    Can't wait for their miraculous CFX fix.
     
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    As a CF user I can tell you depends on what you are running series of cards wise and display wise. Nvidia isn't free of issues on its own. I have run both and both have issues with multi card setups and multi monitors.

    I am still running a desktop with dual 3870X2's that has never had a single issue. I ran a dual 4850X2 and dual 4870X2 setup and both also worked quite well. I even went as far to run quad 3850's back in the day. None of those ever had noticable issues. My current 7 series cards work ok if you play with some settings. Just takes a bit of work, they are the first AMD/ATi setup I have dealt with noticable microstuttering.
     
  13. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    685
    Just to make sure the horse is beaten to a pulp... Lol....

    And how many people run multi monitor setups? Not many. Even if it happened to that group constantly, its still an extreme minority. Clearly that isn't the only setup it happens with, but to say 'it doesn't work' without qualifying that statement is over exaggerating things. Its a real problem that effects a lot of cfx users and undoubtedly needs fixed though.

    Anyway... To a pulp! :)
     
  14. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    We basically (quite) had the same setups in the past.

    Went from 3870x2 which was a so-so experience to a 4870x2 Crossfire (4GPUs) and it was a complete mess, one card (2GPUs) were fine but man quad was a stutterfest.

    Things have gotten better with the 5970 and with the 6990, actually 6990 Crossfire was quite playable in some games.

    Then we jump into 7970 CFX+ territory and it becomes a shame for ATI, probably because they are dealing with a new architecture and I'm ok to give them their time provided they don't shamelessly advertise dual GPUs cards as working for the time being until they fix their issues.

    Why bring in Nvidia? They have already fixed this issue. I agree they have other issues but it is not relevant.


    The issue is that the problem is shown even on single high resolution monitors (2560x1440/1600) because it becomes evident when the framerate counter is under 60FPS.
     
  15. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,483 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,622
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I ran two 570's in SLI and never had any problems other than games forcing 5000+ FPS and shutting down my PC, so I had to disable SLI for them. I ran two 7950's and microstuttering killed my experience in about 75% of the games I played (I have around 300+ on steam and then the rest elsewhere). Having two AMD cards was like having 1 1/2 GPU's because of runt frames, so I switched to the most powerful single GPU I could afford for 120/144hz gaming.
    Crossfire does work, but in many instances it sucks slightly and doesnt actually show the frames its producing. AMD have promised to fix that, but I wont be getting an AMD card again anytime soon.
     
  16. hardcore_gamer

    hardcore_gamer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    388 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    Location:
    Fabry Perot cavity,AlGaAs-GaAs Heterojunction
    Like it or not, 4k and VR are the future of PC gaming. For those who are happy with 1080p, buy a PS4, it'll serve the needs for the next 10 years.
     
    radrok and cdawall say thanks.
  17. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    PC in general, when I upgraded from 1920x1200 to 2560x1600 I completely changed my 3Dstudio layout arrangement.

    I foresee that'll change again with 4K, so much more space....
     
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    I'm glad someone said it. People who are happy with 1080P are the reason we do not have better and better video cards along with better and better displays.
     
  19. Ephremius New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    60 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6


    It has already been confirmed that 4k will be on big screens only... pixel density wise it makes sense on their end, however, the pixel density with has 2560 x 1440 is as good as it gets... so yeah 27: 1440p is the best image money can buy because pixel density and image quality go hand in hand. and my 1440p runs at 105hz, 4k only runs at 24hz so far :)
     
  20. Ephremius New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    60 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I tried playing on 1080p again, and was horrified at how bad the graphics were, 4x MSAA and 1440p at 105 frames per second (my 1440p is overclocked to 105hz) is night and day difference... and black ops 2 at that frame rate and 105 fps which i am able to keep 105 fps steady the entire time, makes a world of difference, it feels so smooth in FPS... <3 60hz feels like 30hz when I used to think 60hz was awesome, not it just feels horrible gaming at 60hz, I am so used to 105 lol
     
  21. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    I still play Quakelive on my old CRT....
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  22. jihadjoe

    jihadjoe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    389 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    In this context Titan is awesome value. 1/3 FP64 for less than 1/4 the cost of a Tesla.
     
  23. hardcore_gamer

    hardcore_gamer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    388 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    Location:
    Fabry Perot cavity,AlGaAs-GaAs Heterojunction

    4K will be available for 31.5 inch as well. Asus already announced that the 31.5 inch version will launch first, followed by the 37 inch version. Infact, newegg already has a page for this monitor.

    PPI of a 27 inch 1440 monitor is 108.79 whereas a 31.5 inch 4k monitor has a PPI of 139.87. It is a good improvement. Also, don't forget that a higher ppi, larger monitor gives a better FOV.
     
  24. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,841 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,490
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    How do denser pixels make for a better FOV? Makes no sense.
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    Cramming more pixels on... say a 24 inch monitor (1440p instead of 1080p) gives you more picture in the same space... Though, for many games you need to adjust the FOV be it in game or through an .ini/.cfg file. Most of the time though, the game will scale correctly.
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page