1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gaming Computer with a $1500 Budget

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by PVTCaboose1337, Feb 3, 2006.

  1. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    With the outdating of my old laptop, and the ability to play games at a high FPS diminishing before my eyes, I have decided to build a new computer. I am not up to speed on all the best components I should buy, but I am sure all of you are. I have a few simple requirements I would like any who answer this post to follow.

    First, format your responses easy to read, as following:
    - Example processor ($100) http://alink.com
    - Example thing drive ($33) http://alink.com
    - Example thing card ($11) http://alink.com

    Second, there are a few minimum requirements to follow.
    - AMD processor
    - 2 GBs ram minimum (Good brand)
    - 250 GB hard drive minimum
    - Sound card of high quality
    - Motherboard that supports 3 ram slots at least
    - Video card (ATI only) that is 256 mb ram and FAST (if budget allows, the X1900)
    - Badass case (I like the P180 by Antec) other suggestions open
    - A good DVD burner (maybe that BenQ with Litescribe)
    - Cooling, not water, but really good, heatsinks included

    Third, post links with all parts

    Forth, post all prices to the right (shown above)


    Thanks guys
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2006
  2. Shadowkull New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    ur saying 3.2 req but amd doenst pump out 3.2 lol

    fx-57 is only 2.8
    if ur talkinga bout equivilance then ok.

    also go check out AT forums as they have soo manyu people asking the same stuff as u
     
  3. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    My mistake, I am an intel guy. I just wanted to try AMD though because it is better, or something like that. Also, where are the AT Forums, A link?
     
  4. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    Drumroll please...
    [​IMG]
    & you can always just use a old HDD or power supply(if your old one was good) & case
     
  5. drokkon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    lol - maybe just me - but your formatting sounds a little demanding for someone looking for a favor from strangers :)

    In any case, I'm no pro, but I just built my own new computer from the ground up (still working out some bugs). I have to heartily second your motion towards the Antec p180. I read many reviews both good and bad, but it is a solid choice when paired with an Antec power supply (I got the 550W TPII). It's everything I'd want a case to be - although I'm admittedly not as picky as some - my last case was a beast from the late 90's.

    I found the case cheapest at zipzoomfly.com and the power supply cheapest (with a rebate) at newegg.com.

    I also used stores.tomshardware.com and computershopper.com quite extensively to not only pick my parts, but also to find the best deals.

    Hope this helped a little.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2010
  6. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    That Helps ALOT.

    Also, thanks Drokkon for the suggestion.

    Still open to suggestions
     
  7. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    :-D anytime
     
  8. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Is the motherboard you suggested compatible with the ram you suggested?
     
  9. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    yeah I believe, let me check...
     
  10. Cybie1111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    329 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, California, USA
    At the egg, you can get the OEM version of the X1900XT for $499: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814131006

    Also the AMD X2 3800 is around $300 to $310 (they are having a sale on this, dunno exact price): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103562

    And if you want ATi, do you want a Crossfire motherboard? If so, Bikers suggestion of the 550 watt power supply is not recommended. I would go for the 600-700 watt range with Quad +12 volt rails (triple +12 volt rails is ok too)

    300GB Hard Drive 16mb cache 7200 rpm Maxtor: $120 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822144014

    And DO NOT buy refurbished products.

    More suggestions soon. :)
     
  11. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    Definatly is compatable w/ the mobo
     
  12. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    I like TigerDirect since it doesn't have any tax
     
  13. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    hes on a budget YOUR CRAZY lol jp but I think with crossfire and all that, it would add up to quick and it doesnt raise performance good enough to justify the price of two cards o_O

    Sorry for triple post or quad O.O
     
  14. Cybie1111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    329 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, California, USA
    Heh you can get a crossfire mobo for 120-140 dollars (with exception of DFI), around the price of your suggested motherboard. :rolleyes:

    And having a crossfire motherboard dosent mean that you have to go crossfire and buy 2 cards. Just need to buy one card now and get another later when the prices drop.

    [offtopic] And it does suck to have to pay taxes on the egg. But it looks like you only get taxes where their factories are. Is that true? [/offtopic]
     
  15. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
  16. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    Can you please rephrase? I dont quite get at what your saying.
     
  17. Cybie1111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    329 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, California, USA
    PVTCaboose1337 prefers ATi but otherwise that would work well for him, and you can save up to $100 by going to the X2 3800 and overclock it to 4200 speeds since the 3800, 4200 and 4600 are basically the same thing but with different clocks.
     
  18. Cybie1111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    329 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, California, USA
    Nevermind that. I found an answer.

     
  19. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I know not to buy refurbished... bad memory, also, I dont understand all this crossfire motherboard vs. other motherboard buisiness?
     
  20. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    I myself don't really like newegg... I'm a loyal customer to TigerDirect... over $3,500 I gave them... in les than a year O.O I never realised that it was only a year wtf.... I hate tech advances cuz my comp is outdated, but that setup I shoed you is prob a ver nice one, you can always use a old power supply/harddrive
     
  21. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Acually, I cannot, I have a laptop. :(
     
  22. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    Then do it e-bay style! :p, how old areyou?
     
  23. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    15, my dad LOVES ebay, he had bought thousands of dollars of items off of it. Not a bad item yet either.

    I would still like to know about all this Crossfire ATI X1900 XT buisiness.
     
  24. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    Crossfire= not worth the cost... and since its not worth the cost, why pay extra for a crossfire mobo that you wont use to its full potential :p Logic.
     
  25. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    so what do you recommend instead of the crossfire mobo,

    i still want 512 ram in the graphics card
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page