1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gaming NIC card, to buy or not to buy?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Deadlyraver, Mar 25, 2013.

  1. Deadlyraver

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    276 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    I haven't been more into games that are managed by servers as every month goes by. However, due to matchmaking lobbies and different networks of servers they are becoming more difficult to prioritize. After spending years squeezing as much performance out of my router as I can and still seeing 100+ ms on my LoL Client which troubles me sometimes, should I turn to a gaming NIC card?

    I have seen some neat examples of the NIC tech at work, however I also am aware that much of it can be done thru port forwarding as well as pretty much anything else I've done on my router related to prioritization. Therefore, I do not really know what else seems to define it so differently in function except for the claims I see behind each one.

    So the question is will an NIC card really benefit me more than a router could?
     
  2. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    831 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    If you're complaining about LoL servers, they are pretty bad at the moment. Personally I say it's not worth it, a lot of reviews say it's pretty much no different at all to motherboard NIC's. You would get much better performance upgrading your router (If it's old) or investing in a new internet plan.
     
  3. Deadlyraver

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    276 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Well, come to think of it, it is a DGL-4500 from D-Link. Fair candidate for an upgrade?
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,443 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    Gaming NIC only have bandwidth prioritization, the Motherboard in my bros machine has what is known as X-Lan which is pretty much the same. Id say any External PCI/PCI E NIC that is atleast 100 based would work for any gaming, Now if You have a 1000/100 Router and a 100 NIC- that router will only transmit at 100, so basically the Router and NIC have to match in speed to get max performance out of both.
     
  5. Deadlyraver

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    276 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Running full speed.
     
  6. lZKoce

    lZKoce

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    611 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    It looks like a good router you have. I am not sure what do you mean by prioritizing? Don't you need prioritizing only when more than one device is connected to the router when you are gaming? If this is the case, I don't think a NIC card will help. I mean, if you expect to download something on the background, and have a tablet and laptop connected along with your main gaming machine and have less than 100ms...well may be an even better internet plan is required (I am pretty sure, you have a pretty good one now as well).
     
  7. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,915 (7.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,167
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    What internet provider plan are you on? 10, 20, 50, 100mbps? If your router is capable of running those speeds, and you have cat5 or cat5e going to your pc, then a NIC isnt going to make a fat bit of difference, unless you have 8 other damned devices jacking onto the network (like my house), in which case sit on your router and put priority on yourself.
    I'm assuming you're not stupid enough to have torrents on download or w/e while you play LoL, but i have zero problems with any game server ping times on the LoL client at least.
    Maybe your interwebz is just crappy...
     
    Deadlyraver says thanks.
  8. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,362 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    760
    if u want something better then ur onboard Realtek 8111C, then buy a Intel NIC they r the best on the market.
     
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,294 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Any recommendation that someone gives that says you should upgrade doesn't know what they're talking about. Different adapters sometimes have a little less latency when processing network traffic but generally speaking you'll only see a difference of something like a couple of milliseconds off your ping (2-5ms-ish, which is aiming high).

    Keep in mind that your local network is not your bottleneck, the internet is and speeding up what is already fast won't get your more speed. It's like saying you're going to upgrade to 7970s in crossfire but you still have your machine running with a Pentium G2020 and 2Gb of ram. It might help a little but generally speaking your experience will still be worse off.

    All in all, save your money. It's not a worth while investment.

    All of the routers between you and the server have much more impact on your internet speed than your adapter and even upgrading your router to be a full blown gateway might not even make that much of a difference because, as I said, routing in your network most likely isn't the bottleneck.

    Adapter wouldn't make much of a difference anyways. The latency between using Cat 5, 5e, and 6 on the same length of cable responds the same way unless there is a lot of noise on the cable (rare in residential environments).

    Response time is the same. Bandwidth could vary... but response time isn't invariably determined by the bandwidth you have available unless you're already saturating it or there is actually a different problem.

    Absolutely not.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  10. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,926 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I've come to the conclusion that you can't do anything to make things better on your end...
    I know how you feel...recent games like Black Ops 2 outright piss me off...
    A few years ago companies used gaming servers and all was well except there were to many hackers and to many dumb ass rules that game play became almost unbearable...with stuff like Punk Buster being utter failures game companies started turning to these match making game lobbies with uber lag...

    They found that its not only cheaper but its also easier to have similar shit game experiences across the web...and since they are raking in the money they really don't give a flying fuck about poor online game play...its cheaper for them in so many ways...like when they port games they can simply tweak the same generic ass p2p setup they have for the xbox and ps3...

    Makes me wanna puke...but be assured once new consoles are out that have beefier setups console gamers will to find out just how shitty thes server based p2p game lobbies are and they'll make it slightly better than total shit and then we pc players will also get that slightly better pathetic improvement as well....until then the best advice I can give is to try to stay in groups with your teammates as that seems to help with timing...even though it usually results in inferior game play and less fun...
     
    Deadlyraver says thanks.
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,294 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The problem is that a centralized server won't be fast for everyone. When you do a p2p lobby with people who are geographically close to you, it will respond quickly assuming no one's internet is crap (a tall order in many cases). On the other hand if you want dedicated servers to always be fast, you need to have multiple of them is geographically ideal locations for optimal response time. That costs a ton of money to setup that infrastructure. So in the end, it's a cost thing. So unless your Blizzard with millions of people paying them monthly (I don't know if it is still millions, it used to be so they've made that money already,) they can afford to put servers across thew world. Same with Google... but unless your made of money, that's not a feasible option.

    Unfortunately we're stuck with all bad options because games require optimal network conditions across the board so unless everyone has these said optimal conditions. It will always be a problem regardless of how it is setup because it's going to cost someone a lot of money in the end and people (generally speaking) are pretty greedy... at least here in the US people tend to be imho.
     
    jmcslob says thanks.
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,443 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    which is what, 100 or 1000 on both the router and NIC?
     
  13. reverze

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    +1
     
  14. Deadlyraver

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    276 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Running Rogers connection, 25mbps DL 2mbps UL

    Connection Type is Coax.
     
  15. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,804 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    602
    Does your router have QoS???
     
  16. PatoRodrigues

    PatoRodrigues

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    227 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Brazil
    Port Forwarding, Port Triggering, DMZ, QoS and specific port data for the games you play.

    On PS3, didn't lose NAT2 status since i did all this kind of stuff on my router (Linksys E2500).

    That's the best you can do on your router.

    Damned be the game industry. Specially f'n Treyarch/IW. MW2 had an almost perfect connection, and this lag compensation/matchmaking BS ruined everything.
     
    remixedcat and jmcslob say thanks.
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,443 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    never use DMZ, you leave your network open for malicious code to attack all computers

     
    PatoRodrigues, Aquinus and remixedcat say thanks.
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,294 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    This. Never use DMZ. You'll be completely relying on the computer to protect you from the internet and that is a bad plan. It's safer to hide behind your router. More often than not just enabling UPnP will let PS3 and Xbox connect to the internet just fine. None of the things you listed will actually make the connection faster. NAT doesn't slow down your connection (unless your router is overloaded but that's a different problem,) it just makes it so your machine isn't directly accessible from the outside and enables packets to be routed appropriately for connections that are already established.
     
    PatoRodrigues says thanks.
  19. PatoRodrigues

    PatoRodrigues

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    227 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Brazil
    Yep, my router has more than 3 devices connected. Makes a HUGE DIFFERENCE in games. Really noticeable.

    I use QoS and Port mostly, only tried DMZ a few times. Won't use it anymore. Thanks for the tips.... :D
     
  20. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,804 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    602
    Can you do QoS by client device? or is it just some general "media optimization" generic setting??

    Here's the options in my Amped Wireless R20000G:
    [​IMG]
     
  21. PatoRodrigues

    PatoRodrigues

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    227 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Brazil
    [​IMG]

    That's how my QoS works. Shitty image, i know. I haven't mastered the Print yet. :roll:
     
    Deadlyraver says thanks.
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,443 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    if possible keep that router as cool as you do your PC
     
  23. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,804 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    602
    What options does that pulldown menu that says "applications" have?
     
  24. PatoRodrigues

    PatoRodrigues

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    227 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Brazil
    Skype, Messenger, RealPlayer and all kinds of BS that certainly you don't want to give priority to. LOL

    But i frequently define those applications as the ports for PSN and/or PS3's MAC Address. Online Games and MAC Address are options in the "Category > Applications".
     
  25. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,301 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,186
    The simple answer to the original question is..

    If you ping your router/modem interface and the latency is more than 1 ms

    And you have money that you want to buy something close to useless with: Buy it. IUt probably won't do anything however, but then you can say you have it.

    Or, if you ping your router/modem interface and the latency is less than 1 ms

    And you have money that you want to buy something close to useless with: Buy it. IUt probably won't do anything however, but then you can say you have it.


    QoS only has real affect on network when the bandwidth is a limiting factor and/or when your MTU is an issue.

    If you want to know more about your ability to connect to the internet and reach maximum speeds connect one PC directly to the internet connection and run a few tests.

    http://www.pingtest.net/
    http://www.megapath.com/speedtestplus/



    Run a few tests and average the results from each. Compare with and without any other devices between the connection and the end use. If a component adds significant latency, packet loss, speed loss or jitter post what that item is.
     
    Deadlyraver says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page