1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

gaming-pc advice needed

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by legendzlive, Dec 24, 2012.

  1. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    OP has already ordered the parts so there's no point in arguing.
     
    PatoRodrigues and Hellfire say thanks.
  2. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    565 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Essex, England
    I agree, whether you're a ATI/Nvidia fan that type of discussion isn't required here, they are both at the highest end of GPU's available and dominate all games. it's just down to preferences.

    He's made his order and whether he went for ATI/Nvidia he got a fantastic gaming rig and hasn't really gone wrong.
     
  3. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    340 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    well said!!he will for sure enjoy in all games released and for many of those that will be released!!! im just glad he decided to take parts and build it by his self!!
    i just ask if he could put some pictures when he do actual build!! :):toast:
     
  4. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    565 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Yes, photos, and also remember legend, if you need help with the actual build itself, feel free to pop back on here to get advice, this place is teaming with people who will help put a rig together on here,

    I myself once helped someone build a rig via webcam just to help out :)
     
    Pehla says thanks.
  5. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,982 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Its not a argument its a discussion.
     
  6. GamerGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    180 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Babylon 5
    Yeah, that is a must do, some hot pics of that secksay build would be nice, just let me know in advance so that I can have a box of Kleenex ready.:pimp:
     
  7. legendzlive

    legendzlive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Belgium
    Don't worry, I'll give you guys some nice pictures in return for all the help I got here^^
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012
  8. legendzlive

    legendzlive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Belgium
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    All parts are in the house! I might start building today. Depends if I have the time for it! #02/01/2013
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2013
  9. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    Nice! So you won't be able to start building on New Year's Eve?
     
  10. legendzlive

    legendzlive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Belgium
    I don't think so :l It's past 14:00 and bpost doesn't do any deliveries after that time so I have little hope I'll still get my cpu and ram today.
     
  11. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,634 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    Nice Pics, I hope you will have no problems building it!
     
  12. legendzlive

    legendzlive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Belgium
    So do I .. There's so many cables !
    It looks overwhelming for a first time but we'll see :)

    Just a quick question though,
    am I supposed to attach the cpu cooler after or before I put the motherboard in my case?
     
  13. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    In your case before. CM 690 II Advanced has a weird cut-out for back of the CPU area on the mobo so you will not have access.
     
    legendzlive says thanks.
  14. legendzlive

    legendzlive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Belgium
    My build is completed up to the part where I need to connect all the cables.
    I did this build together with my dad, who has no knowledge about building pc's either,
    but I think we did quite alright. The cpu-cooler was a real bitch to get in place..
    Also, I left the psu out because I am using it to ground myself before handling the parts.

    ps. I have my uncle coming over today to help me wire this rig up.
    Here are some pictures from yesterday;

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2013
    Crap Daddy says thanks.
  15. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    565 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Just double check which socket your Graphics card is in, I know with some boards they have to be in the correct socket or will only run at x8 speed,

    I don't know that board myself but double check it's the primary PCIE 3.0 socket
     
  16. legendzlive

    legendzlive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Belgium
    It's in the right socket ^^ thank god for manuals ;D
    I'll be adding the pictures soon :)
    It's up and running or should I say kicking ass!! ;D
     
    PatoRodrigues says thanks.
  17. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    565 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Cool, sometimes its the slot closest to the mobo, sometimes not
     
  18. legendzlive

    legendzlive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Belgium
    First off;
    I'd like to thank everyone who helped me and adviced me to build this beast myself ! :)

    The building process went really smooth :)
    Attaching the cpu cooler was the hardest part imo.
    Also, the cabling process was really complicated for me, being a first timer,
    but luckily my uncle ( expert ) explained everything to me and helped me wire it up :)

    The pc is AMAZING and I'm loving it :)
    PS.: the screen on the picture isn't my real screen. That screen is yet to be delivered :)

    Here are the final result pictures:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2013
    Hellfire and ...PACMAN... say thanks.
  19. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    Good work. It's a fantastic feeling when you finish you first build and everything works.
    Enjoy!
     
  20. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    314 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Great job and I really hope you enjoy, you do however have a great case there for a lot better cable management. Take the time one weekend or whatever to get it sorted, that hardware deserves it!! Have fun mate :)
     
  21. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    340 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    now what u can do is a litle bit of house cleaning(cable managment)
    i see there is plenty of room behind motherboard to hide cables...
    if u are scared to mess with cables do it one by one!!
    anyway glad u do it and hope it serve you for long time!!
     
  22. newbsandwich

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    96 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Yeah great job on first build! Like already mentioned, do some cable clean up when you can (get that mass cables away from your video card, give it room to breathe). I have the same case, and you can stuff almost all that extra cable behind the MB tray. Also, you could route the 8pin power cord from the top left hole if you have enough length. And you can also remove the bottom hard drive cage too, this help free up some room and promote easier air flow from front fan.

    Do you mind if i ask what the total bill was for your build?
     
  23. legendzlive

    legendzlive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Belgium
    Total bill was € 1600,65

    Case: Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced € 78,89
    PSU: Corsair TXM Serie PC-Netzteil 650 Watt ATX € 94,49
    Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 € 120,89
    CPU: Intel Core i7-3770k € 315,00
    CPU cooler: be quiet! Shadow Rock PRO SR1 Premium CPU Cooler € 47,61
    GPU: EVGA 02G-P4-2685-KR NVIDIA GTX 680 € 505,17
    Memory: Corsair Vengeance Low Profile 16GB (4X 4GB) € 80,80
    SSD: OCZ Tech Vertex 3 Max IOPs Series SSD 240GB interne Fesplatte € 198,43
    HDD: Seagate ST2000DM001 interne Festplatte 2TB (7200rpm, 64MB Cache, SATA III) € 88,85
    Thermal Paste Arctic Silver 5 € 7,90
    Wifi TP-Link TL-WDN4800 Wireless N Dual Band PCI Express Adapter (450Mbps) € 32,90
    Dvd reader/writer Asus DRW-24B5ST Silent dvd writer/reader € 29,72
     
  24. newbsandwich

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    96 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Congrats again on your first build, you did good job picking out parts and putting it all together. Thanks for the pricing info.

    Did you ever get chance to clean some of the wiring up?
     
  25. legendzlive

    legendzlive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Belgium
    You're welcome :) And no not really :l I did open my case up again after all the comments and took a good look at the wiring beneath the GPU, but I couldn't find a way to make it better..

    It's actually pretty 'clean' imo. I didn't use any cables that weren't neccesary and I tried to keep them away from the mobo ( in which I succeeded ). Perhaps one day I'll have to balls to detach all my cables again and make it neater.

    But the thing is, I don't want to fuck anything up you know.. it's running now and working perfectly. The GPU temperature is really good. Same for my CPU cores, so I don't see the need to fix those cables right away..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page