1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gaming Pc build... is it good?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Asus7950DCII, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Cpu: Intel Core i5 4570 Haswell 3.2Ghz 6MB L3 Cache s1150 - Box
    Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-H87M-D3H LGA1150, Intel H87, DDR3 1600, 2xPCI-E, VGA, DVI, HDMI
    Ram:G.Skill 2x4GB DDR3 1600Mhz SNIPER Edition Dual Channel CL9-9-9-24 (Low Voltage)
    Gpu: Asus GTX760 2GB GDDR5 DX11 2xDVI HDMI DP PCI-E (Seems awesome)
    Hdd: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA III WD1002FAEX
    Optical Drive:LG DVD±RW GH24NS x24 Black SATA OEM (X2)
    PSU: (I need Help Choosing)
    Case: NZXT Phantom 410
    Monitor: Dell E2213H 21.5'' Monitor With LED
    OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional Multilanguage OEM

    So tell me what you think. how will it handle games such as Battlefield 3,4 a Crysis 1,2,3 Etc..

    Also again about the Power supply i need help choosing
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    Asus7950DCII says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    well i think ill change GPU for the MSI 760 twin frozr. ive always loved MSI as for Psu thanks though i dont mind prices
     
  4. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    For no overclocking, looks fine to me too (you do not have a K CPU, and eventually that platform will not be able to overclock non K CPUs).

    Can you afford an SSD? Get one. Seriously.

    I would also up your GPU to a 770. 760 is a solid card, however you are looking to play future games well... the 770 would be my choice there.

    650W is a bit much for his system even if he could overclock the CPU to the moon (same with GPU), but the deal on it is the same as the one I would suggest anyway... (a quality 500W PSU would EASILY do the job on that sytem, even overclocked).
     
  5. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    alright then. im aware that the CPU cant be overclocked besides the motherboard im choosing isnt exactly overclock material
     
  6. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    is this SSD good? Crucial m4 CT064M4SSD2 64GB SSD MLC SATA III not for all stuff just OS and MABYE another thing
     
  7. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    WE know that... but you asked the question so we answered it in case you did not know.
     
  8. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    yeah lol. one last thing, you mentiond 500W is enough so how about Antec Earth watts 550W Platinum? it seems good to me..
     
    HD64G says thanks.
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,196 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    As long as it has the required plugs sure
     
  10. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    Well that doesn't mean you need to spend more than you actually have too. Like Earthdog said, 500 watts would be plenty for that build, but that PSU at $50 is a awesome deal that will give you years of reliable use.
     
    HD64G says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    lol why wouldnt it
     
  12. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    personally, I'd take the XFX I suggested purely because of it's single 12v rail compared to the Antec's four 12v rails.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    i have no idea what you just said about the 12v rails but ok, sure.
    I am not what they call a specialist at most of these things
     
  14. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,750 (5.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    if you get an xfx PSU theres a diagram on the box explaining the single rail lol and theyre brilliant quality power supplies.

    and i would recommend a 770 over the 760.

    also an SSD paired with a decent cpu is pure speed magic!
     
    springs113 says thanks.
  15. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    a PSU's amperage is delivered by it's 12 volt rails. The more rails a PSU has, the more it's amperage is split between the rails. When you use a PSU with multiple rails, as your hooking up it's connections, which are split up between the different rails, you need to insure you you don't connect too much to one rail while not having enough connected to another rail. Especially with 4 rails in a 550 watt PSU and limited connections, it can be difficult to do. Honestly, I don't think I've ever heard of a "quality" 550 watt PSU having 4 rails before. But with a single 12 volt rail PSU, you don't have that issue.


    Taken from TPU's PSU guide-

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39758
     
    springs113 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    awesome, if this were possible i would do this. (if 400W was enough)
    Seasonic fanless Platinum X 400w lol
    but im thinking of SLI in the future so this kinda changes things. if i want to add another 760 how many Watts do i need? im guessing over 650.

    Edit___~~~
    im also thinking of downgrading CPU for budget reasons ive noticed something fishy.
    would 3570 be ok or 4430?
     
  17. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,432 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    3570
    750W Bronze PSU minimum for SLI (check for 4 x 6pin PCI-E power), 850w recommended
    Samsung 840 Basic or Crucial M4 SSD
    760 owns price performance, though 770's are reasonably priced right now if you can afford it.
     
  18. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    if you plan on doing SLI in the future, I'd suggest getting atleast a 750 watt model. Personally, I'd get the same PSU I currently have in my 2600k system for $78 after mail-in rebate- http://us.ncix.com/products/?usaffi...vpn=P1-750X-XXB9&manufacture=XFX&promoid=1275

    The 3570 is about 10% slower than the 4670, and is still a very good and fast CPU. You'll need a socket 1155 motherboard for the 3570 though. I'd suggest the AsRock Z77 Extreme3 for $91 from newegg- ASRock Z77 Extreme3 ATX Intel Motherboard - Newegg...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    A Z77? isnt the Z series for overclocking ? or is it just plainly awesome.
     
  20. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    A quality 650W PSU is plenty for a 2x 660ti's and your CPU overclocked.

    THe 660ti is 170W, + 10% more for overclocking = 368W for the GPUs overclocked to the max. That leaves 200+ watts for the CPU/mobo/etc. PLENTY.

    Let me put this in perspective... with a 4GHz 3770K and 2 7970's, I pulled 535W at the wall while running 3DMark 11 (peak value).

    Z77 can overclock, yes.

    If you are building new... go Haswell. no reason to build on a dead platform.
     
    springs113 says thanks.
  21. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    i wrote it twice?! dang.. anyways.
    a Seasonic 660W X series Gold is good for 2X 760's? Great!
     
  22. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,432 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Z87 is also a dead platform. No more processors apart from the low end, so it is just as dead as Z77

    Yes Z77 is for overclocking, but the VRM's and board quality is arguably better, and you're more likely to get sli/xfire support on a Z77 board.
    650w would work for sli/xfire, but I dont recommend it. You might not draw the full PSU's load, but you should not aim to fully load a PSU, its just killing your power efficiency. 750w minimum.
    Between a 4670 and a 3570, you will notice ZERO difference in games except in RTS like Total War Shogun. Even then, the difference is negligible.
    The only difference people will inevitably argue with is with benchmarks. Yes the 4670 is better in benchmarks, but nothing more. OP isnt benchmarking.
     
    springs113 and BarbaricSoul say thanks.
  23. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    Unless it will allow the OP to have a faster computer for less money. Socket 1150 Z87 is just as dead as socket 1155 Z77. I have heard no plans of anything faster than the 4770 being planned for Z87. A 3570 is still considered a very fast CPU. If a 3570 can be had for $100 less than a haswell system, and is only 10% slower, why wouldn't the OP opt for Z77? I would.

    The Asrock Z77 Extreme3 is just a good budget minded motherboard that is capable of OCíng. That doesn't mean you have to OC with it, but you would have the option in the future. The 3570 may not be a unlocked CPU meant for OCíng, but it can still be OCéd with BLK OCíng.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    There will be a haswell refresh on s1150. ;)
     
    springs113 says thanks.
  25. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,432 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    And what difference is that going to make to my manshoot games? Is it going to give me 20 extra FPS? No. A better GPU is.
    Like i said, OP is gaming, not benchmarking. Haswell is only better in RTS and benchmarking.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page