1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gaming Pc build... is it good?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Asus7950DCII, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Can this Rig play Battlefield 4 MAXED OUT
    ??? and ram
    changed to Kingston Hyper X KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX
     
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,429 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,364
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    according to the recommended specs, yes

     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,957 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    999
    A 760 is right on the edge of 'maxing out' with acceptable FPS, at least from the early alpha benchmarks...I will assume some performance optimzations will happen, but I wouldn't expect miracles.

    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=735147

    No 760 in there, but it is around/slightly slower than a 680 IIRC.

    Like I mentioned earlier... 770 if you can/want to afford it. :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2013
  4. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    oooo 1 more question. instead of the DELL monitor coz i dont think i can afford all that how about using the TV lol?
     
  5. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,314 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,451
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Terrible idea, probably 1080i and not 1080p, response time is usually awful, but I heard HDMI port 2 has better ms than port 1. Also interpolation - the thing that makes gaming on certain TV's with this sh*t impossible.
     
  6. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,957 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    999
    If the tv is remotely modern, it should be 1080p. I haven't seen a 1080i tv in a looooong long time...do we know the exact model of his tv?
     
  7. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    well ill go with the U2123hm i guess :) that specific tv does Go to 1080i though
    but can someone explain the difference between i and P
     
  8. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,957 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    999
  9. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,314 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,451
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Always assume people have 1080i personally. My partners dad bought a 50" TV because it was on sale, obviously being an average consumer he saw the HD Ready sticker and bought it up and took it home.
    I pick up the TV remote, change it to HDMI Port 2, see the 1080i resolution window pop up in the corner, then laugh my ass off at his expense.
    Seriously, 1080i on 50" looks so damn bad xD
     
  10. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,765 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,295
    thats not fair i have a 50'' and 1080.... looks good compared to eyefinity on triple 21s or a single 1600*900 :laugh:
     
  11. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,314 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,451
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    1080i or 1080p?
    50" is fine if you're 20 feet away from the TV, but for 3 feet away and gaming, its going to look mighty blocky.
     
  12. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    i changed the hard drive to seagat 1tb st1000dm003
     
  13. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    892 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    LCD TVs can be used with computers just fine, but many of them has high input lag (40ms and more), so online gaming might be more problematic. Some old HD-Ready TVs (not 1080p Full-HD) could only do 1080i (interlaced, which is a term what you can easily Google), but even those are good to use in 720p. Just don't forget that online fps gaming on a TV is usually a very uncomfortable experience from the living room, expect if you use a gamepad or if you are able to put a table and a chair front of the TV and use keyboard and a mouse.


    "2123hm" I don't know, but if you meant the U2312HM, that's not a bad one as I mentioned earlier. Nothing special tho, but it has a very good price/performance ratio, and I think it's worth to save up to something like that (note: I saw it on sale for as low as $145 once).
     
  14. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    No oc planned then fine...I recommend either corsair hx series/gamer or seasonic x/s series psu
     
  15. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Seasonic 660W gold X series it is
     
  16. Maleko

    Maleko

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    60 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Good case choice :p
     
  17. Asus7950DCII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    love that case
     
  18. BigBoi

    BigBoi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    95 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Hi guys.
    Sorry to butt-in but i think that motherboard isnt compatible with haswell cpu's.. Im just a noob, though, so take it easy on me if im wrong :)
     
  19. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,429 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,364
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia

    Gigabyte GA-H87M-D3H LGA1150, Intel H87, DDR3 1600, 2xPCI-E, VGA, DVI, HDMI


    The bolded print part is only compatible with Haswell CPUs. Only Haswell CPUs use socket 1150 and the H87 and Z87 chipsets are for socket 1150.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. BigBoi

    BigBoi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    95 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    hhmmm,, i see.. thanks for the info :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page