1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gaming performance of 4ghz Bulldozer ES vs i7-990X

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by twilyth, Jun 30, 2011.

  1. twilyth Guest

  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
  3. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Lol, still slower than Nehalem.
     
  4. twilyth Guest

    I figured with all of the gamers here, it would get lost in one of the existing threads and this is what they really care about.

    But I'll leave it to any mods that come by if they want to merge it.
     
  5. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    And this is a ES sample that's buggy still, and no CPU-Z to prove what it is :laugh:
     
  6. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Thanks man , i needed a review like this!
     
  7. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    Saying "ES Sample" is like saying "DC Comics"
    Engineering Sample Sample? lol

    I suspect the Bulldozer ES in this is multiplier locked for testing purposes...

    so 2.8GHz vs 4.0GHz

    I say Bulldozer is winning?
     
  8. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,236 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,150
    Where you getting 2.8ghz vs 4ghz? Both the 990x and BD CPU were OC'ed to 4ghz. The 8 core BD gave less FPS than the 6 core Intel. How is that BD winning? Ivy Bridge is gonna shit all over BD from the looks of this, and Intel will remain in the lead(not trying to troll, I'm no fanboy, just stateing what I'm seeing).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Im assuming by what he said that each stick used was 2gb and not 2gb in total.

    So the 990X would have 2gb or 6gb or 12gb ram and the bulldozer would have 2gb or 4gb or 8gb?
     
  10. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    Bulldozer Engineering Samples have the possibility of being multiplier locked
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    OBR most likely has a

    ZD312051W8K44 ES

    ZD = Desktop
    3120 = 3.1GHz->4.1GHz
    51 = AM3+
    W = AM3+
    8 = 8 Cores
    K = 2MBx4 L2, 8MB L3
    44 = B0 Sample

    and if it is multiplier locked then even though it says it is running 4.0GHz it is still 3.1GHz

    I change my estimates....to the 3120...because 3020 looks like the 8110 to me

    but I can be dungoofin the clocks can be any of
    2.6 2.8.3.0 3.1 clocks
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2011
  11. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Wow, I forgot Bulldozer was 8 cores. That makes it even more fail.
     
  12. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    Well it depends on how you quantify that the BD can be multiplier locked and the dude dungoofin

    2.6 2.8 3.0 3.1GHz vs 4.0GHz looks pretty appetizing

    :toast:
     
  13. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Pretty good. This is a broken egineering sample and it still keeps up with the ultra high end i7.

    Just shows that BD is on par, even when broken :)

    Again, assuming this review is legit.
     
  14. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    If the article states both chips were OC'd to 4GHz, I generally believe them.
     
  15. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    The review is legit...he does well he did have a A1 ES but he sold that and received 2 B0s

    If it's multiplier locked....you can set the BIOs to say anything you want it to say in CPU-Z

    The guy believes he getting 4GHz but he isn't
     
  16. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,236 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,150
    You say the review is legit, yet you claim the guy is either lieing about the clocks of the BD chip, or doesn't know what he is doing and he only thinks he OC'ed the BD chip to 4ghz. That just doesn't make sense to me. If he claims he OC'ed the BD chip to 4ghz, I have to believe that if I'm gonna believe anything about the article.

    Don't matter though. I don't/won't believe any reviews until they are either released by TPU, ES, [Hard], or Guru3d, or is officailly endorsed by AMD.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    No, the idea is that

    the ES BDs don't overclock at all

    Only the production pilots/consumer ones do

    So, even though he says he gets 4GHz in reality it's not clocked at that, I'm not saying he is lying just that he didn't know about the glitch..
    THE GLITCH


    And If I am totally wrong...the benchmark is comparing a 2.0GHz CPU to a 4GHz CPU

    because that is the 2nd glitch...!
    THE 2nd GLITCH
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2011
  18. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
  19. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
  20. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Yep, but it's still the proper name, so you're comparing apples to oranges.
     
  21. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    It could be 34572 core CPU and it would be the same since the game doesn't utilize all the cores.
    And by the leaks of prices for BD please tell me how can a 8 core CPU at ~$320 vs 6 core at $1000 be a fail? They could use a 4 core BD in this case and probably get the same frame rates at even lower prices.
    And I can only wonder what will happen when all 8 cores are in use, will it be a fail then?

    Will it beat SB in singlethread? No it won't. WIll it beat it in multithread? Yes it will.

    By my estimates it will match Nehalem (maybe a bit over) in singlethread. And I don't think that's a fail (+ I'll be able to use it in my AM3 board, problem Intel?) if you look at AMD's chips now.
    People compare it only to Intel but fail to see the performance gains from current AMD chips. I think no one can pull a 100% improvement from the older gen of chips.
     
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  22. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    It doesn't help that Bulldozer was originally designed to compete with Nehalem. Since then, Intel have released Sandybridge (and even then, only their mainstream parts). With Socket 2011 and Ivybridge coming, AMD isn't going to have a hope in hell.
     
  23. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    You know what assume did don't you?

    Sorry but where are you getting this info from, i am not saying your wrong though some kind of proof to back up what your saying might go down better than the big glitch red font thing you did :wtf:
     
  24. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    So this means AMD should just give up and quit?
    People also said they won't have a chance against Nehalem but I see them doing just fine.
    It will be hard to compete with S2011 yes, but you are saying that like if BD will be at P4 performance levels and have no chance whatsoever. Don't forget AMD doesn't have so much cash to throw at R&D as Intel.
     
  25. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    If you jump off a cliff you will receive one million dollars, off you go :roll:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page