1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gaming system: 4GB CL7 v/s 8GB CL9

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by xbonez, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    RAM Solution 1: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 ...
    2 x 2 GB, timings 7-7-7-24 @ 1.6V

    RAM Solution 2: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 ...
    4 x 2 GB, timings 9-9-9-24-2N @ 1.5V

    I currently have Sol. 1 in my system. Will switching to solution 2 be an upgrade, sidegrade or downgrade?

    Solution 2 has more RAM, but slower timings.
    Also, Solution 2 runs at lower voltage so maybe overvolting and tightening the timings can get it to CL8 ?

    Current System Specs:

    AMD Phenom II x4 965BE @ 4.0 ghz
    Corsair H50 Water Cooling
    MSI 790-FX GD70 motherboard
    Corsair 850TX 850W PSU
    Asus GTX 470
    2 x Samsung Spinpoint F3 500Gb (Raid 0)
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,943 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,064
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I've been using 8GB is WIn7 for quite some time now.


    It was a wasted purchase. 4GB is fine.

    you should be able to get 4gb of 1600CAS8 for $75 or so. You don't really need more than that.
     
    xbonez says thanks.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,045
    Keep what you have, it's much quicker and lower tighter timings is best for an AMD system. What do you use your computer for? Most likely you don't need the extra 4gb. I can't even tell a difference between 4 and 8 in my system.
     
    xbonez says thanks.
  4. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    I use my system solely for gaming. The occasional movie and net surfing, but apart from that just tons of gaming.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,045
    Definitely keep what you have then, it's very good ram. :toast:
     
    xbonez says thanks.
  6. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I'd be proud of a system like that xbonez - you should fill in your System Specifications so that people can see your specs in whatever thread you post in.

    :p
     
  7. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Done :toast:
     
  8. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    WOOO!

    :rockout:
     
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,788 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    if you use 32bit os it will kinda not effective coz 32bit only utilize bout 3,2 gig, except you run on 64bit
    For memory i prefer small cl, cl is like how fast you empty the memory then loading with new data, so little time would be better
     
  10. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    @micropage: Good point. I am aware of it though, and thus use a 64-bit OS.
     
  11. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,788 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Yeah, 64 bit maybe thats our future, but at this time if you looking for any apps or game its clear that 64bit version kinda limited number than 32bit that wide spread so you can find anywhere
     
  12. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Thank god for backward compatibility.
     
  13. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,138 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Won't matter and you won't notice either over the other.
     
  14. FuBaReD New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I recently built an i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz +/ and used corair vengance Red C7 1600mhz 8GB Memory - all tweaked and overclocked. I usually prefer xms3 or dominator GT because the the higher voltages.

    Using DPC Latency checker the timings are soo much sweeter compared to standard CL9 modules - no matter the mhz speed.

    I tried this CL7 Red in my gaming system and it ran better than the XMS3 Corair 2000mhz CL8. Also provided a windows 7 score or 7.9!!

    Have also tested this with an i5, 2500K with a Z68 Chip and runs like a dream!! (4.8ghz)

    Not saying C7 is best for everyone- Really depends the quality of the mainboard and what type of chipset it uses.
     
  15. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,355 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    i have noticed from many of my friends who upgraded from 4gb memory to 6 and 8gb that some of their games load faster with 6 and 8gb memory than they did with 4gb but other than that, nuth else.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page