1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gateway Intros 30-inch XHD3000 Quad HD LCD Display

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Oct 4, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Following in the footsteps of Apple, Dell and Samsung, Gateway is finally introducing the new Gateway XHD3000 30-inch Extreme HD Display, the world’s first "Quad-HD" display, delivering more than four times the resolution of standard 720p high definition format. The XHD3000 screen does utilize the Silicon Optix Realta HQV video processor, and it also offers 2560x1600 resolution, 1000:1 contrast ratio, 400 cd/m2 brightness, a six-millisecond gray to gray refresh rate and 176-degree viewing angles. Moreover, buyers will find HDMI, VGA, DVI, two component inputs, composite, S-Video, six USB 2.0 sockets and a variety of audio connections. The new Gateway XHD3000 30-inch Extreme HD Display will be available via Gateway’s Direct channels, as well as technology and electronics retailers that sell Gateway products. It is priced at $1,699.99.

    [​IMG]

    Source: Business Wire
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2007
  2. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Wow I want one of these.

    That's some crazy high resolution.
  3. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Indeed!
    "1600p ExtremeHD" sounds pretty nice, esp. at 6ms
  4. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    ooooooh baby...
  5. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    And not a bad price either

    I love you Gateway :respect::respect::respect::respect:

    Laughing aside this thing while decently priced is still too costly compared to normal LCD's though its nice to see Gateway put in some competition
  6. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Wow....now where's the 60" versions?
  7. xylomn

    xylomn New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    661 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, England, United Kingdom
    lovely resolution but gaming at that res would be impossible
  8. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    It really isn't, you just can't expect to run new games at max settings even with dual 8800 ultras or 2900xt's. This right here is the reason for crossfire/sli, not 400fps in oblivion.
  9. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,434 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    and a complete lack of any system that could play any newer games at that resolution reasonably.

    i thought that that display port 2 or whatever was supposed to be coming out whats the res on that and why dont this monitor support it. :confused:
  10. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Triple-SLI 8800 Ultra might be able to handle it. Not worth the price though.
  11. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Yeah but imagine how awesome desktop will be.
    I can sit and admire it for days.
    :roll:
  12. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    A resolution of 2560x1600?

    A single 8800 GTS can handle any game at that resolution. A GTX will with at least 2xAA.

    Why is everyone so excited about something that has been out for over a year?
  13. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Would you really? Or would it be too big?
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Really?

    http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/display/diamond-viper-hd2900xt-1024mb_9.html

    Doesn't seem to be handling Call of Juarez too well at that res. In fact, no single card is handling it all that great. And that's with AA turned off.


    Back on topic: I wonder if this monitor uses the same panel as the Apple display.
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2007
  15. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Wait, 4x's the hd of 720p? Wouldnt that be like 2880p?

    Or am I reading the resolutions backwards or some such?
  16. spy2520 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    you are reading it backwards. 720p is only the horizontal size. 2560x1600 is like (1368x720) x4. not (1368x4)x(720x4). think of it this way, with smaller numbers, if resolution is 4x4. 4 times the resolution would be 8x8. 720p to 2880p is more like from 4x4 to 16x16.
  17. Lame New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    These other manufacturers (and HP) already have displays that are Quad HD, it might be an first for gateway, but it has been around for an while, with Dell (and most likely Apple) readying 8MP+ SHD displays. ChiMei (CMV parent company) paneled 56inch SHD displays were to be out last year, but plant delays have delayed them, but, they also had QHD. I think Canon showed off an 10Mp+ an few years back.
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    That's why the post starts with "following in the footsteps of...".

    But regardless, it's still a good thing. Another competitor in the market will bring competition, and may help to drive down prices.
  19. Lame New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes, you are right, it is an good thing, I just wish CMV would do it, they are an cheap maker (there parent company supplies something like 40% of the HDTV panels).

    I knew that the article was claiming two contradictory things (well, actually it reads like the other brands may have had non QHD 30 inch displays before, but now Gateway not only has their 30inch displays they are QHD instead). I virtually never strike this problem on websites, in the last 14 years I have been on the web.
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2007
  20. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    You seem to forget that Nvidea released Quad SLI for the 7950s.

    That might not be Direct X10 but hey there are 4 of them:roll::roll::roll:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page