1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gateway launches overclocked, multi-GPU computers

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Nov 1, 2006.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Being one of the few major OEMS to not be currently merged with a gaming PC OEM like Alienware, Gateway has decided to launch it's own line of gaming PC's. The FX530XG, FX530XT and FX530XL all run off the Intel 975X chipset. The FX530XG will run on a Core 2 Duo X6700, while the other two will run on a Core 2 Extreme X6800. Gateway will ship the computers with the processor overclocked. This means Gateway will clock the chip as high as it will go, and still cover it under warranty. The three systems will ship with 2GB of DDR2 667, except the XL which ships with 4GB. The three systems all incorporate an 8x dual-layer DVD multi-writer and a Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi card, as well as dual X1900XT's in CrossFire. The XG and XT ship with two 10,000rpm 150GB 1.5Gbps SATA hard drives, while the XL has two 750GB, 7,200rpm 3Gbps SATA drives. All systems are Intel ViiV certified and are Windows Vista Premium ready. Available shortly, the FX530XG, XT and XL will retail in the USA for $2,500, $4,000 and $5,000, respectively.
    [​IMG]

    Source: The Register
     
  2. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Not bad I guess, it would be better if they used a better case though instead of their stock one...
     
  3. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    I'm curious if the clockspeeds will be a standard i.e. 2.8ghz, or whatever the chip does.. Its excellent to see someone as big as gateway get into something like this though.
     
  4. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I have to say GateWay isn't that bad for a pre-built computer. Their great for media centers IMO.
     
  5. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Interests, very, Ive never thought of gateway like this, but voodoo was bought by them so...
     
  6. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Ive owned 3 different gateway computer and I must say they put some quality into their pc's.
     
  7. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    I'm pretty sure that was HP.
     
  8. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,466 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    Ahhh ggod old gateway. They were the Dell back when I was in high school.
     
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    wow but its already been done by powerspec same setup exactly plus wd 150gb raptors in raid 0
     
  10. .:{KC}:.

    .:{KC}:. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    sawmills NC
    Well, I am sure if ya did'nt have a clue or the Time Then it's good.

    Does anyone Remember the Thrill of ordering your stuff for your new gaming monster ?
    You can't buy the thrill of building your own rig & solving problems even if you have to look no futher than here or google.

    I grew up with mucle car's & drag racing . I race what i build same as for my PC's
    I owe you all a lot of thanks for your info but nothing to these prodution line heartless boxes.

    LOL...Really i am not that serious, Hey let's just take it as a compiment :)
     
  11. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    800 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    That tower reminds me of the old gateway cow boxes. Don't know why, but it does.

    Big companies are trying to buy into high end computer companies because consumers trust them for their quality. Maybe they should have tried to create quality in the first place.
     
  12. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    In the automotive performance field we call that a sleeper :D
    you know you pull up next to what looks like a stock 6 cly mustang only to get your doors blown off cus it has a lincon markIIIV engine

    picture it you go to a lan party and everyone laughs at your gateway and when the dust settles nobodys laughing :laugh: cept you
     
  13. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Yep. I have a monster inside of a generic beige case..

    That, and I plan on putting a porsche V6 in my escort GT assuming it lives long enough :laugh:
     
  14. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Yeah, my cousin's friend, who races, has a Misubishi Lanver Evo, and it was mostly Carbon Fiber (Doors, Trunk, and Hood) and it had a Turbo-Charged Engine w/ Nitrous Oxide). The guy he was racing had a tricked out Civic, which had looks, and decent power, but barely any go. Well, they raced, and you guessed it, the Lancer Evo obviously won, and he didn't even had to use the Nitrous Oxide.

    My cousin races too, he has a Subaru WRX STi, and it's a great car, but since he's been caught racing illegally, he's stopped.

    But anyways, it would still be a nice addition to have a better case, since those are the same cases as the "base" models and all.
     
  15. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    yeah, vtec ftw... :laugh: stupid civic drivers... OMG MY LEET SPOILER! YAY!! :laugh:
     
  16. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    wow....... i think ill now go build something thats equally as fast for half the price, have a nice day [​IMG]
     
  17. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,697 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    1) I like to build. read my specs.
    2) Toyota Celica 6gen 94 1.8L soon to be turboed. 1800Lbs with some lighter parts. 100ish HP at the wheels stock. + turbo and upgrades 180-190 at the wheels.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  18. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    thats it? :confused: My 4cyl 1.8 pumps out 127hp stock!
     
  19. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes beige is sleeper :D
    porsche makes a W6 and a Flat6 both pricey drop a 5.0 cammer ford think blue oval its only 14,000
     
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    lol i have a 90 civic ~120ish stocker on the 4-banger going to upgrade to a real car soon though :D stupid rice mobile
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page