1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gateway Owners, C51GU01 Motherboard

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Xerphon, May 1, 2007.

  1. Xerphon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    I have a Gateway GT5032. This model has a Foxconn C51GU01 motherboard, which as any other prebuilt system bios has all options locked out. I read on the internet that this board, the C51GU01 was a 6100K8MA-RS with Gateways options on it. Well, I took the plunge. I used Winflash to flash my C51GU01 with the latest 6100K8MA-RS bios, voila! All options are now unlocked and my system is performing faster with no problems at all... Anyway, don't risk what you can't afford to lose...but I've had nothing but success by doing this. Currently my stock X2 64 4200+ 2.2Ghz chip is running at 2.5Ghz stable, 230FSB with even more agressive memory timings than the Gateway bios had previously allowed. All in all, it's worked out great for me. I hope someone else out there can find this information useful... If anyone is unlucky enough to have bought a pre-built to begin with lol...
     
  2. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Thanks for that information, I thought it was impossible to unlock Gateway BIOS options :).
     
  3. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    yes and no...

    Most of the these PC manufactures use almost a 1 to 1 replica of a board you can buy off the shelves...therefore you can sometimes force a bios of the store bought on these...

    But word of warning is that some times the do have a little specialty on the PC manufactures boards...

    Such as HP as a special bios chip to hold Tattoo information (for the security for the recovery cds) and to hold the software for recovery...
     
  4. Xerphon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Yeah, Like I said I'm just stating it for this particular board and bios. The information may be invalid for any other combination out there. It's also not 100% definite this will work for you, but it has for me, and I haven't done anything special.
     
  5. Squiffy New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Don't Do This!!!

    Well, I downloaded the bios update from Foxconn, got a copy of WinFlash, ran it and now my motherboard is deader than heck. :cry: I think I got punked! All it does is beep like its in pain or something. Anyone out there with a dead C51GU01 mb that would like to send me the CMOS chip? TIA! :respect:
     
  6. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    You can try 'hot-flashing' the cmos chip on another working PC.

    As long as the bios chip is the same size i'm pretty sure it can be done.
     
  7. Squiffy New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hot Flash

    Thanks for the suggestion! I had never heard of that technique before so I had to Google it. Here is an article for anyone else not familiar with it.
    http://www.techarp.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=62&pgno=0
    Now all I have to do is con my buddy into letting me use his computer to try it! ;)
     
  8. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Yep, just be careful with the screwdriver when you're prising his bios chip out! :rolleyes:
     
  9. Xerphon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    That sucks, I'm very sorry to hear that. What model computer do you have?
     
  10. Xerphon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Are you referring to me AthlonX2? I certainly hope not.
     
  11. Xerphon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    I'm going to assume you are referring to me since this thread was started by me. Anyway, what have I stolen to be called a theif? Also, what exactly have I done here?

    I would not have thought about flashing my motherboard with that BIOS had I not read your thread stating that there was a hacked BIOS out there for this motherboard. I asked you if you had the file, you didn't. I asked the person you referred me to, he said he had about 10 different files for it and wasn't sure what worked and what didn't. I went ahead and read around online that this particular motherboard is a revision of the 6100K8MA-RS motherboard. I took the next logical step, I went ahead and flashed it with that BIOS.

    Luckily, I had success with the flash. I took that information and posted it here for others who were having the same problem as me. I also told people not to risk doing it if they couldn't afford to have something go wrong, I just said that it worked for me and I could not assure anyone it would work for them.

    Now you're coming here calling me a thief and making it sound like I've done something wrong? I personally don't appreciate that at all. I never said I made this motherboard, or BIOS files, or anything. All I did was share my results with a community that is here for this very purpose. Once again, I really hope I'm wrong and I hope you're not referring to me with your post.
     
  12. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    wtf Athlon... I don't know what to say to you at this moment, but it wouldn't be nice. That was completely uncalled for abuse, and to make it worse, it was directed at a new member who came here to help others.


    Don't listen Xerphon, you've done nothing wrong. And Squiffy will get his computer back up and running when he re-flashes the original bios.
     
  13. Xerphon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Thanks Infared, I'm just kind of lost. I don't know where this is coming from at all, or even why.
     
  14. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    yeah um that was random :p
     
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,621 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
  16. Xerphon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Sept. of 06, I still don't see your point. All I did was share my results, look a few threads up... I said that thread was the reason I started looking for a way to do this in the first place, and I even contacted AthlonX2 and Namlas about it. Neither of them was able to supply me with the 'hacked' bios file. I did some more reading online and found out the motherboard was a revision of another and I used that bios to unlock my computer. It worked, and I posted exactly that. So to be called a thief and be told I've done something wrong... Why? What exactly have I done wrong?
     
  17. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Lay off the beer:slap: and read the thread
     
  18. Squiffy New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey, I Prolly Did Something Wrong

    I think I might have indirectly implied that Xerphon intentionally posted something so people would blow up their computers. My apologies. I have received enough feedback to know that there are actually several alternate bios flashes that I might try. I never used WinFlash before and probably did something wrong. My system is the same as Xerphon's, a Gateway GT5032. I am going to try that hot flash thing and I am sure my system will be up and running this weekend. Hey, I'm a big boy. I knew it was risky but what the heck! No guts, no glory! :toast:
     
  19. Xerphon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Hmm... If you have the same model number the motherboard should be the same. Exactly the same. The only thing I can think of, I updated my bios with gateway's bios update right after I bought my computer, it was the fix for Cool' N Quiet I think... If you didn't have the same BIOS software I had maybe that could have been the problem, I don't see how though since it's the same BIOS, just a bit more recent than what it shipped with. Anyway, have you tried clearing the CMOS jumper after you flashed? It's an option in Winflash, maybe you didn't have it selcted when flashing?
     
  20. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    It is quite possable that two of the same Gateway model computers do not have the same BIOS or even the same components. Between the three GT5056's I know of here on TPU they each had a diff BIOS version and Diff memory, and diff PCI cards installed from the factory. Most likley the error happened while using WinFlash, as its easy to do.
     
  21. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    AthlonX2 is crazy like that, one minute he's a great person, the next, a 12 year old brat.
     
  22. Xerphon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    I didn't even know there were different variations of the same models. But, regardless of components, the motherboard would still be the same, no? If it's based off the 6100K8MA-RS, which it HAS to be since it worked for me, wouldn't that default bios work? I don't know, just seems a bit wierd, but I'm pretty sure there was an error made with Winflash which as you said is easy to do...
     
  23. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Should always check to make sure the mobo is the same before flashing BIOS, But, yes the memory could be different as well as the CPU etc. Of course none of that realy matters much as far as the BIOS is concerned, Unless you got a single core CPU verses a Double core CPU. And then you could probably just change that in BIOS options (enable/disable Duel core support).
    Yes, most likley an error with using WinFlash.
     
  24. Squiffy New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So which bios to try?

    I am hearing that there are several possible bios files to choose from. Any recommendations on which one to try first? The only one I have a download for so far is the Foxconn one that Xerphon had success with. Maybe I will try it again with the hot flash technique. Also, any idea how I might have screwed up the flash? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
     
  25. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page