1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gecube launches "fastest" AGP card, announces DX10 boards to come

Discussion in 'News' started by D_o_S, Mar 16, 2007.

  1. D_o_S

    D_o_S Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    At CeBIT, GECUBE demonstrated what it claims to be the fastest AGP board to date, the GC-HX195XTGA3-D3.

    This board is based on a fully-fledged R580+ GPU, marketed as the Radeon X1950XT. However, the GPU clock has been changed from the default 625MHz to 648MHz. ATI Overdrive is supported, and this option in the Catalyst driver will increase clock all the way to 675MHz. The card uses 256MB of GDDR3 memory. Product manager Jeff Fu said the firm "will not abandon AGP users".

    GECUBE also proudly announced what will make many AGP users very happy: AGP DX10.
    [​IMG]

    Source: The Inq
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 16, 2007
  2. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    AGP R600 or die
     
  3. Frederik S Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,175 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    363
    GIVE IT TO ME !! PLZ !!
    That's awesome but I can't think of any CPU that ain't going to be a bottleneck in an AGP system with that card in. :banghead:
     
  4. NympH New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    38 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Upgrade motherboard or die ;)
     
  5. spectre440 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    948 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Israel
    ooo....
    nifty...

    but come on now... it'll probably cost as much as a new cpu, board, and card would cost you...
     
  6. TXcharger

    TXcharger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    431 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    SAN ANTONE, TX
    the Prescott series can run DX10 without bottleneck...well it better be able to lol this is great, now ill have to get a new power supply...
     
  7. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Very nice, i know a dx10 agp card is bound to come...

    ATI just makes the chips, GECUBE, saphire, his...etc makes the pcb, which result can make the pcb for any interface.

    But all in all, i might just buy a 100 buck pci-e 939 board.
     
  8. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Wow. Nice GPU. And I was just about to order an AGP 1950 Pro. Better hold back a month until all these new products hit retail.
     
  9. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Lol omg, Gecube better be picking up on worldwide profit and not just trying to make a profit in the US. Cause with top end agp cards like this they could pick up on a market that strives a lot better around the world.
     
  10. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Prescotts bottleneck like a shit. They can't run X1950PROs in crossfire... only 5%~10% performance gain is acquired.
     
  11. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    seconded, my old athlon xp-m whups most prescotts (at least up to 3.4)
     
  12. dsdsdk New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    76 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    TXcharger, the dx10 libraries are optimized, true.. but nothing more than a couple percent. Pressys will bottleneck the system, just like they always did..
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,190
    It's too bad ATi's parent company AMD is essentially not supporting AGP since they stopped making socet 939 products.
     
  14. TXcharger

    TXcharger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    431 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    SAN ANTONE, TX
    lol i was kidding i have no idea what a bottleneck feels like but i do know my system even o/c does have some lag issues occasionally

    How are u running a crossfire set with a 478 socket? i didnt think they had mobo's with dual agp or 478 mobo's with dual pci-x
     
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    I think that would be bottlenecked by the agp bus :/
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    797 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    not really, bottleneck would be at the CPU. This is all depending on the game.
     
  17. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    On AGP, the cpu shouldnt ever be a bottleneck, not with todays cpus and not none from a year or two ago either. I doubt it will be as expensive as everyone thinks. Companies know they cant charge for an old technology, more than they would a new technology. Otherwise, if they did that, they wouldnt have a customer base and be spinning their wheels, as it were.

    On another note, that cooler is awesome looking. Is that a version of the TEC cooler for GPUS?
     
  18. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    797 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35

    Most systems made in the past year or two are PCI-E not AGP, so the bottlenecking concern is not for those systems. They(the new agp cards) are more expensive than PCI-E because they all use a PCI-E to AGP bridge (extra cost) plus they(the companies) know they can get more out of consumers who do not want to upgrade a motherboard. So yes they can charge more, and they have been with all agp vs PCI-E cards for the last generation.
     
  19. acousticlemur

    acousticlemur New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    675 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    bottleneck or not i want one.!! :D
     
  20. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    hes talking about skt775 presscots.
     
  21. TXcharger

    TXcharger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    431 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    SAN ANTONE, TX
    ok well that would make sense i thought they only had the prescott on the 478 lol
     
  22. Schmuv New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Me luv u long time AGP DX 10! sucki sucki
     
  23. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    well intel stopped making AGP products too.


    hmm.

    Just. let. it. die.

    sheesh :laugh: AGP's on life-support, and they just tossed some steroids in it!
     
  24. TXcharger

    TXcharger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    431 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    SAN ANTONE, TX
    ill love my agp until they take FULL advantage of pci-express X16 lanes but then they'll have AGP-Express X64 lanes YOU'LL NEVER KILL IT MUAHAHAHA!! lol
     
  25. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Well, I have to agree it's time to move on from AGP... BUT if you have an AGP system... including high performance DDR RAM... then an upgrade path to your existing workstation monster is helpful.


    BTW PCIe v1.0 is dead. Next Q releases PCIe v2.0 which has double the bandwidth + external connector features. I'd hate to buy a new PCIe mb today... knowing it's already out of date. Better just hang on a few weeks for PCIe2. Imagine... and external HDD... or external GPU... operating at PCIe v2.0 speeds.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page