1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

geforce fx 5200 and zalman vf700?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Boneface, Jul 10, 2006.

  1. Boneface

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    well i just put together the girlfriends computer using my extra parts and her old computer...only needed to buy a card and seeing as she isnt really unto gaming(the sims is all) i went bought her the 5200.I also had a zalman vf700 cooler from old card that fried so i decided to see if it would fit and it did along with some ocz ultra+5 paste and all the ram sinks for it to...want i wanted to know is what kinda OC do u think is possible with it...I did this cause i just wanted to see if it would work and what would happen...lol

    Thanks
    Boneface
     
  2. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Flash to 5500.
     
  3. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    your sure u can flash it to 5500?
     
  4. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    A VF-700Cu? Nice job! I'm guessing at least double the stock clocks lol...but there's a special trick to OCing Nvidia cards. There is no "NVtool", and the drivers don't usually support OCing, so you have to download rivatuner and let it unlock your card for overclocking. I forget the exact procedure, but oh well, it's pretty easy to find. Have fun :).
     
  5. rpg711

    rpg711 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    781 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    its called u download nvidia coolbits and u overclock from there
     
  6. Demon_82

    Demon_82

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    100 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    An FX5200 was 250/400, and on stock passive cooling I pushed the MSI one I had until 325/454, or somethign close, so with thr VF700 you should get much higher than that... at least the core. Usually the memory just don't gives much more in any conditions.
     
  7. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    i had flashed my Asus 128 bit with the Inno3d 5500 bios with success.
     
  8. Demon_82

    Demon_82

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    100 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I forgot to comment it, I flashed my old MSI FX5200 128MB 64bit with a Gainward FX5500 BIOS wich I found on the net.
     
  9. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,840 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,308
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Is it possible to flash a Chaintech FX5200 with any FX5500 BIOS?
    What would I gain from it? more pipelines or just higher clocks?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. rpg711

    rpg711 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    781 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    u would gain the clocks
     
  11. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,840 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,308
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    So, the results would be the same as using plain ol' OCing?
    My bro has an FX5200, I don't remember how high it can OC, but even at max clocks, Oblivion is practically unplayable.
    He used to have my old 9800Pro@XT, but he sold it to get an X800GTO that only lasted for about 5 hours before showing lots of artifacts and now he has to use the FX5200 while he finds a new card :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. rpg711

    rpg711 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    781 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    uhh u dont wanna play graphics intensive games with a crappy vid card... if u want oblivion try my card!!!
     
  13. Demon_82

    Demon_82

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    100 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I think the FX5500 BIOS ahd some option related to Intellisample activated wich the FX5200 bIOS didn't had, even being supported, but I didn't note it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2006
  14. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,840 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,308
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    He tried an unlocked Sapphire X800GTO, it was very fast, but unfortunately it also died very fast, so in the meantime he's using this old FX5200.
    If higher clocks is all he gains from flashing the card, I doubt even a flash with the FX5500 BIOS, would help with oblivion... Thanks for your help though :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. rpg711

    rpg711 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    781 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    my card hasnt died yet :) and its 650/650!!! 16 pipes unlocked i can play bf2 on all highest with 40-70 fps 40 being lowest where i see some lag
     
  16. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,840 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,308
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Whoa, lucky you, those clocks are higher than the X850XTPE's! :twitch:
    I guess with the X800GTO, it all depends on how lucky you are... :wtf:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    in which resolution?;)
     
  18. rpg711

    rpg711 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    781 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    highest my monitor can support... 1280*1024 ya my pcb is the x850xt pe so i will flash it to one for the name to sound cooler
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page