1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GeForce GTX 680 Specifications Sheet Leaked

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,230 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Chinese media site PCOnline.com.cn released what it claims to be an except from the press-deck of NVIDIA's GeForce GTX 680 launch, reportedly scheduled for March 22. The specs sheet is in tune with a lot of information that we already came across on the internet, when preparing our older reports. To begin with the GeForce GTX 680 features clock speeds of 1006 MHz (base), and 1058 MHz (boost). The memory is clocked at a stellar 6.00 GHz (1500 MHz actual), with a memory bus width of 256-bit, it should churn out memory bandwidth of 192 GB/s. 2 GB is the standard memory amount.

    For the umpteenth time, this GPU does feature 1,536 CUDA cores. The card draws power from two 6-pin PCIe power connectors. The GPU's TDP is rated at 195W. Display outputs include two DVI, and one each of HDMI and DisplayPort. Like with the new-generation GPUs from AMD, it supports PCI-Express 3.0 x16 bus interface, which could particularly benefit Ivy Bridge and Sandy Bridge-E systems, in cases where the link width is reduced to PCI-Express 3.0 x8 when there are multiple graphics cards installed.

    [​IMG]

    Source: PCOnline.com.cn
    AthlonX2 says thanks.
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Amazing! Radeon better watch out nvidia is about to release a monster.:)
  3. tilldeath New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    200 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    meh, from what I've seen I'm guessing the power consumption and heat will be way up there. I also doubt OC headroom will be as high as AMD's. So as with everything price will be key and I guess we just have to wait.
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2012
  4. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Other reports said base/core clock of 705 now it's 1006MHz that's not bad at all, but my big question is it GK104 or will it turn out to be GK100 after all,....
  5. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    This will be the "Gigahertz + 6 Edition"?
  6. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    This seems to be the real thing.

    Was expecting high clocks and no... hotclocks. The boost is somehow... small?
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,230 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The way NVIDIA is handling clock-domains on GK104 looks bound to confuse the living shit out of enthusiasts. We'll try to clear this up in our review if neccessary.
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 13, 2012
  8. sanadanosa

    sanadanosa

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Semarang, Indonesia
    It's very very good news that GTX 680 only use a pair of 6 pins
  9. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    If it's just a 5% boost then overclocking the card should not be too much trouble. Hopefully there will be a way to disable boost for those wanting the highest OC possible.
  10. .Tk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    1,536 CUDA cores on an 195w thermal envelope? Sounds fake to me.

    I'm aware that the new 28nm process brings several benefits to the table, but I really doubt that the new process plus tweaks on NVIDIA's architecture would make viable for them to get roughly three times as much CUDA cores to work at ~1GHz.

    Let's just wait for official numbers.
  11. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,403 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,339
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    ^^^ I have to agree with you there, with that 195W Thermal envelope it's difficult to beleive that they can squeeze 1000mhz+ out of it (although they may easily prove me wrong), maybe thats why the origional info suggested 705mhz..... having said that, to be honest, if the performance is there then probably most will buy it who can afford it and those that are not enthusiasts won't even know it's power draw.
  12. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    lol same comment gen after gen after gen. Not saying it isn't true even just that it's funny how you always hear the exact same shit every time (whether it is true or not).
    AthlonX2 says thanks.
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    That'd be awesome, as I generally have a good understanding of hardware, but this stuff blows my mind.:laugh:

    Funny how it needs to be repeated. Personally, because i don't get what's going on with these card, I reserve all judgement until after I get to read W1zz's review, which i guess is incoming at some point.



    I'm still laughing at the fact that the "chocolate" was in fact a cookie. That mis-conception alone, based on appearances, says quite a bit.
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,630 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    well since the Cuda cores have been simplified and less complex and smaller it makes sense. I love when people claim things are fake, but then get proven wrong when the thing releases. I never judge anything till i see Wizz's review, I only remain optimistic.
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  15. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    so amd is making theirs more advanced and nvidia simplify...

    anyways, 1536 with 1000 mhz on 195W tdp is abit hard on my brain, not saying it's impossible.
    either they are giving up tesla or making a diffrent gpu tree for that if it's true is my guess then.
  16. .Tk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Well, I have the right to claim it's fake since the source is unofficial and 'cause the numbers seem a lil' bit absurd.
    Nevertheless, I'd be really impressed if NVIDIA would actually get along with the numbers shown on that spec. sheet, but what I really can't understand (considering that leaked slide to be authentic) is why would NVIDIA favour a lower TDP when they could just crank up some more CUDA cores or even clocks to extend their possible performance leadership?
  17. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Maybe it's already cranked up?
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,444 (10.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Its all hyped up on mountain dew?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    plus a few red bulls
  20. Vulpesveritas

    Vulpesveritas

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    383 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    USA
    Toss in a few bottles of five hour energy perhaps as well.
  21. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    Well I don't know if fake or not, but they are not so hard to believe if you think about what is really going on. I bet you are thinking 1536 @ ~1000 Mhz vs 512 @ ~800 Mhz, but that is not the case. It's 1536 @ ~1000 Mhz (not all the time, dynamic clocks) vs 512 @ ~1600 Mhz. Needing to clock only to 1000+ Mhz instead of 1600++ Mhz posibly allows for much smaller, simpler and cooler SPs.

    I always use the same example and I know it's not about SPs, but it's one of the most clear ones I can find in recent history, and everything applies to electronics to some extent:

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/3987/...renewing-competition-in-the-midrange-market/2

    "By reducing their desired shader speeds from 1.6 Ghz to 1 Ghz, Nvidia was able to reduce the size of their shader processors by nearly 50%" sounds alien in the light of the above fact? Not to me at least and with (active) die size reduction comes a hefty power reduction too, not to mention the inherent lower power consumption derived from being run at 1 Ghz instead of 1.6 Ghz, remember exponential power curves.
  22. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    mhz and die size have nothing in common....
  23. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    lol of course they do.
  24. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    heat and die size have a relation -> heat and mhz have, not mhz and die size directly.
  25. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    Yes it does. If you want an electronic device to clock higher you have to shorten the path between input and output and that means going parallel with (duplicating at transistor level) a lot of things that would otherwise be serial and means you have to invest much more transistors on it. That takes up much more space and transistors and that also means more complicated control & logic, which once again means more transistors. Which once again means more active transistors for the same job, which means higher TDP, which means higher temps, which actually means higher TDP, which actually means lower posible clocks, which actually means you have to invest even more transistors in order to achieve a certain clock, which means higher TDP and the process keeps going on and on and on.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page