1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GeIL Launches a Wave of New 6-channel DDR3 Kits

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 5, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,958 (11.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    GeIL wants to be the first manufacturer touting the term "hexa-channel" (6-channel) DDR3 memory. While machine architectures using 6-channels (384-bit wide) memory interfaces don't exist, dual-Nehalem Xeon machines use two triple-channel memory arrays. It's a play of the word "6-channels" there. In any case, GeIL is now selling DDR3 memory in kits of six modules. Its lineup spans across three of its main memory product-lines: Value, Ultra, and Gaming series. The kits are available in a variety of configurations that include specified DRAM speeds, and timings, as listed by the table below. The kits come backed by the company's lifetime warranty.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Sources: TechConnect Magazine, GeIL
     
    MKmods says thanks.
  2. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    will hexa channel exist later though? :D
     
  3. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Lets hope so:D
    can't wait!!
     
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    anything on the prices?
     
  5. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Why is the "Value" a set of six sticks? Wouldn't a real value set consist of 3x1gb sticks? Tell me these arn't aimed at dual cpu setups only.
     
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Value means cheaper... like 6x2gb no heatsinks 1066 cl9 1.65V max OC 1068 cl 9 1.7V xD
     
  7. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Nice overclock there, :laugh:

    Oh and they do come with a heat spreader :p
     
  8. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I was just giving an example xD cheapo stuff basically = value cheapo can be better then highest quality though xD
     
  9. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    My generic ram can clock to 1000mhz :D
    but not more than the:(
     
  10. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    still a good OC IMO... So for dual Xeons you NEED 2 triple chan RAM?
     
  11. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,463 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    You'd WANT 6 sticks for dual Xeons.

    As far as needs go, I believe you can do 1 stick per CPU, though I'd have to check on that...
     
  12. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    ok I get it... How does a dual 1366 perform? :D Random question... but WTH is lga 771? just a variant of 775 for power servers or something?
     
  13. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    771 is used in skulltrail. But it's mostly used by servers:)
     
  14. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    skulltrail?
     
  15. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Ask CyberDruid:) he has one. (Skulltrail is a mobo)
     
  16. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Is that much RAM really that useful for servers?
     
  17. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    OMG hexa channel , but i need less latency
     
  18. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    If it wasnt' it wouldn't exist?

    Ofcourse it is useful , many large sites use huge recources. (Like Microsoft , ebay)

    also 771 = server socket , skulltrail motherboard = server motherboard
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2009
    n-ster says thanks.
  19. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Alot of stuff is useless but still exists... xD

    thxs for the infos though :)
     
  20. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,463 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Absolutely.

    With the introduction of multi-core processors, the amount of power a server can have is enormous. Servers with one or two processors used to mean that it only had one or two cores. You'd generally have it running a service or two and it's RAM needs were easily met. Today you can have 2, 4, 8, and soon 12 or 16 core servers with 16, 32, 64, or more gigabytes of RAM running a buku number of virtual machines.
     
    n-ster says thanks.
  21. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    Gainestown is already here...but I don't see that RAM aimed at the server market. It's like the BlackDragon 8 GB kit of DDR2 that they marketted as Quad Channel (Geil claimed certain motherboards like the P5K Deluxe would run Quad channel with their RAM). Which was nothing more than Dual Channel. It's RAM for i7 and probably i5 motherboards because of the 3 stick sets am I wrong?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page