1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

General Discussion for the GPU-Z languages features

Discussion in 'GPU-Z Translations' started by W1zzard, Nov 27, 2009.

  1. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    IMO, the whole should to be in English in real life too as well as on the pc's, i hate it when something on the PC is in my native language.

    But for the sake of it, i'll help translate into my language if needed
  2. Nautilus

    Nautilus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Turkey
    yeah i've done the turkish one. the thing is, i don't think there's any possible way to translate some terms like Raster Operators or shaders so they are going to stay the same. Most people dealing with IT already knows what these terms mean right? So it's no big deal if you ask me.
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,381
    as stated before, it will take 2 or 3 clicks to switch it to english
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,381
    it's fine if you use whatever technical publications use in your langauge
  5. rising151 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    China
    The defaut should be selected by OS language and you can change it manually.That's my view.
  6. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Wizzard, should i start working on it and send it to you? If so, where should i send it to and with what should i make it
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,381
    make a new thread in this forum, like the other languages did, post your stuff there
    FilipM says thanks.
  8. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Half way done, a little rest now :)
  9. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    823 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    W1zzard, will there be a full support for other languages? I mean, totally translated GPU-Z, not just help boxes.
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,381
    not soon. i'm worried that different languages in screenshots might make it difficult to spread them around internationally.
  11. Dark_Webster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    This because of pre-release screenshots and stuff, if it is in their main language (that normally is chinese), we wouldn't understand a thing right?

    I think that for now the tooltips are enough. And guess what, GPU-Z is getting alot of people helping to translate the tooltips to their mother language :D.
  12. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,233 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Translation for the UI is not needed. If say a Chinese guy wants a technical explaination on what each box (field) means, he just has to move the pointer over it for the infotip in his language.
  13. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    823 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    I see, thanks for answer :)
  14. TKY New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I perfer let the user to choose the language at first run, then provide the option to change the language in menu.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page