1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

General question about integrated video

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by MohawkAngel, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    On my old ECS P6STMT mobo there is an onboard video first...second I want to know whats the difference between those 2 things.

    BIOS

    In ADVANCED CHIPSET FEATURES I can choose the AGP aperture size up to 256megs and in INTEGRATED PERIPHERALS I can choose a system shared memory size up to 64megs. What is the difference between those two?

    I don have any slots for AGP vid cards on this mobo so i suppose it has nothing to do with it.

    Thank you
     
  2. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    the onboard sis card is technically an agp2x on your board, just no physical slot, its wired directly to the chip. however, since it shares onboard memory it'll never be as fast. the shared memory size is how much of your system ram gets reserved for graphics memory. the AGP Aperture size is kinda like virtual ram for the agp, see this article

    http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/43

    edit: you'll want to make sure that old rig has pc133 ram for best graphics performance. I'm not sure if the cpu bus affects the speed or not. i know they had an overclocking utility in the win98 driver suite. dont know about for xp or linux.

    xp drivers - http://www.sis.com/download/download_step2.php?id=155826&country=USA&Image791.x=55&Image791.y=13
    it's 42mb so i'm guessing it has the overclocking utility for the gpu. You'll probably only be able to clock the core and not the ram. i'd recommend a better chipset cooler (or fan) though.

    they have a linux driver too but its only 1mb so i doubt there's anything fancy in it.
    http://www.sis.com/download/download_step2.php?id=38066&country=&Image791.x=73&Image791.y=11
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2011
    95Viper and MohawkAngel say thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  3. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    I was wondering why i could booth from agp or pci since i wasnt knowing about the agp one :p Yes i have 640megs of pc133. but the celeron is 100mhz but i oc'ed it at 117mhz in the bios so im now having a celeron 1.34gig 117mhz fsb 256k. Trying to find a cheap 370 pentium because in bios i can overclock the 100 to 117 and the 133 to 166.

    http://www.motherboard.cz/mb/amptron/P6STMT.htm
     
  4. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,417 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    That MB uses a SIS 630ET chipset which supplied Ultra AGP 2.0 compliant integrated video.
    That is why there is an agp aperture size there.

    Edit:

    Sorry, I type slow. And, messing with another system.
     
  5. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Yup he sent the same link but thank you hehe
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  6. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Since I have 640megs I could put it to 256megs agp aperture size and 64megs shared memory without problems ?
     
  7. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    it has the option for choosing pci in case you put in an add-in pci card. When I give grandmother this rig you can have her geforce FX5200 (which actually plays older games fairly well, and is actually faster than a FX5500ultra) if you're in the usa lol

    you should be able to push the celly to 133fsb

    edit, yea you could do that but most older games wont need it... in theory if you do set it that way your gfx could use up to 320mb system ram. set it at 64 (both settings), any games that chip could actually run won't need that much memory (dx7 games, and some dx8 games that will disable shaders, like halo or HL2)

    another edit, if you put in a dedicated pci card you MUST set it to pci in bios or it will continue to use the onboard video, then plug in the pci card and turn the comp on and it should automatically disable shared memory since the on board won't be used. a pci card would actually be faster than the Sis630
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2011
    More than 25k PPD
  8. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    I tried Half Life Blue shift already. Going well. Nah im in Canada folks.
     
  9. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    that's not too bad i guess, i could stick it in a flat rate box lol. Oh btw... you'll want to check this out if you're playing the steam version of blue shift

    http://store.steampowered.com/news/438/

    This is the HiDef pack that was released with the retail version of blue shift. it'll update all the weapon models and character models to higher res, higher poly models and better chrome effects. your video chip should handle it fine, comparison...

    [​IMG]

    edit, and its an official pack, not a mod.

    also, if you do have the retal half life, it you put the Half Life 1 disc (orange one) in a cd player it'll play the game's sound track

    edit2, flat rate is 14usd so i could send it to ya no prob (fx5200) when i get my tax returns
     
    More than 25k PPD
  10. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    I already have the hi-def package on the cd itself :) Thx For the card but I have no credit card, no paypal neither to do the shipping payment :p
     
  11. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    don't worry about it, i'll be getting a pretty decent amount on my tax returns... could be a while before i get that tho
     
    More than 25k PPD
  12. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    It's not about the money its about practical payment method. I hate using paypal with bank account because paypal charges you fees for transfering, fees for converting the currency, the bank charges fees for transfering the money and when yyou get the money transfered into you banck account they charges you fes because ofthe withdraw from paypal.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page