1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Get on the internet through Bluetooth

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by hellrazor, Feb 22, 2011.

  1. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,586 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    So my little bro got a phone that has Bluetooth, but not wi-fi. How could I get the phone on the internet through Bluetooth (using my PC as a gateway)?
     
  2. adcx64 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    106 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    I don't think that is possible, since phone Internet browsers do not support Bluetooth. Also, BT isn't a normally supported protocol for Internet.
     
  3. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    What OS is on the phone?

    BT is just the physical layer. I know WM makes some DUN device by default and creates some virtual COM ports. You can use those to access the internet.
     
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    pdanet supports bluetooth sync for internet but thats on android OS
     
  5. adcx64 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    106 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Most Win Phones include wifi, so I just thought he was talking about a basic phone, but still, I doubt he will be able to use BT for Internet....
     
  6. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,586 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    I think the phone is on Nucleus RTOS. Probably chinese or some crap, that's where he got the phone.
     
  7. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,311 (3.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,014
    On my previous Touch Pro Diamond (WinMo) all I did was connect through Active Sync Bluetooth and I got internet access on my phone through my PC.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. adcx64 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    106 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Is there anything in the phones settings about Internet over BT?
     
  9. twilyth Guest

    Bluetooth is, as you probably know, very short range - I think 30ft max. If that's not a problem, go for it.

    I've seen bluetooth adapters for pc. Don't recall specifically, but think they're pretty cheap.

    Here's what's at newegg - just as an example. Note: there's no separate category for bt-pc adapters, so some other shit is mixed in with that search.
     
  10. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,586 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    He already has a Bluetooth thing for the PC (again, probably chinese or some crap), I just can't figure out how to get Windows to let him go through Bluetooth, then go through my wireless card.
     
  11. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,936 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I think you need a 3G Wireless Card router to do what your thinking about Like This
    The wireless card will only work with one device, so a router would be absolutely necessary to get the connection to multiple devices....... any connection via BT is file sharing only
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page