1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Get Your Modded P5Q Pro BIOS Here!

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Ketxxx, Jul 10, 2008.

  1. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    This post is being edited entirely so hopefully I won't have to keep answering repetitive PMs and questions that just keep coming up, so anymore of those, link em right to this post!

    What these BIOSes do

    These mBIOSes are not magical pixies injected into your P5Q series board, despite the massive praise people give them. The aim of these BIOSes is threefold;

    1. Enhance memory compatibility
    2. Enhance CPU support
    3. Just because I can, put a half-decent boot logo in :p:

    Reported additional fixes

    These are things that were not intending to be fixed, but in due course of changing things got fixed.

    1. Pull-ins. Apparently these pull-ins never worked, my changind of the EBB fixed them, apparently.
    2. Better voltage regulation. Many report being able to OC further on less voltage as these mBIOSes have matured, this again is down to the replacement of the EBB. Typically the EBB I use is from the P5Q Premium, which uses 16 phase CPU voltage regulation. Clearly, asus undertook extensive tuning for the Premium. Using the EBB from the P5Q Premium allows users of the P5Q / Pro / -E (I think, forget if this is 16 phase or not) allows for the 8 phase designs to benefit from some of the additional tuning.
    3. I think theres a few smaller things, but I forget what they are.

    User experiences

    This is naturally far too broad of a subject to cover fully so heres some bullet points of them main ones

    * Better CPU clocking
    * Better stability
    * Increased FSB limits

    My PC won't boot, what do I do?

    Sometimes happens. The risk in using any of these mBIOSes is the same as flashing to a new official version. So heres some basic steps to take;

    1. Set your system back to stock prior to flashing

    If your system does not POST on restart;

    2. Clear CMOS by removing battery and power cord, remember to set CMOS jumper to "clear" as well.

    Tried those, my system still will not POST

    Chances are the flash went wrong. Grab a floppy disk (doesn't need to be bootable) and put a known "good" BIOS on the floppy. Rename the BIOS file to AMIBOOT.ROM, hit the reset button and the system will read the floppy disk and automatically restore the BIOS with the one on the floppy disk. The system will restart a few times and before you know it you will be looking at the POST screen again.

    What mBIOS do you recommend?

    Its all subjective, no system behaves exactly the same. Look through the thread for anyone who uses similar hardware to you, and try the mBIOS they tried, or drop them a PM if you need more specifics. My brain may seem like a BORG collective, and to a degree thats correct, but your always better off talking to people with similar hardware to yours.

    Enough talk, wheres the mBIOSes?

    Here they are, I may soon upload the entire collection of P5Q series BIOS files in one package with various little snippets of BIOS files I use as well as a simple tool to inject various modules.

    Heres the new BIOS pack. Within this pack are updated BIOS files for the P5Q, P5Q Pro, P5Q-E, P5Q Deluxe and P5Q Premium. The BIOS files have been updated with the memory table from the Maximus 2 Formula.

    DL Linky
    ^ Grab this pack for P5Q-E 1901 mBIOS

    P5Q Series 200x mBIOSes

    New BIOS pack. This pack also includes a mBIOS for the P5Q Turbo, P5Q Pro Turbo, P5Q SE, and P5Q SE Plus

    DL Linky

    I have finished a mega mBIOS pack. This pack contains mBIOSes for ALL DDR2 P5Q series boards. You can get info and find the download link HERE
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2009
    SabreWulf69, d3fct, samboudi and 30 others say thanks.
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    First off welcome back Ket.

    Second, just because my curiosity strikes me, would this work on a P5Q-E?
     
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    what is ket back?
     
  4. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    1. Nope this BIOS won't work on a P5Q-E, thers a few hardware differences.
    2. Yes Ket is back! Just when you thought the world was doomed :D
    3. Ta for the welcomes
     
  5. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Small update. I've just flashed to my modded BIOS now I got a chance and all is well. Can't comment on OCing the RAM yet, but I can say if your a P5Q Pro owner looking for the CPU support and memory compatibility of the P5Q Deluxe (ie; not cut down) then this mod BIOS is for you.
     
  6. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I'm working on BIOS 8002 people. The biggest change for this BIOS is I'm looking over the QVL list for all the P5Q DDR2 boards and will be combining the memory tables into one memory table. Very, very strangely each P5Q model has different modules listed as compatible. ONe example is the P5Q Deluxe vs. the P5Q WS. The Deluxe has 35 DDR800 modules listed in the QVL list, the WS has 50 :eek: What the hell are Asus thinking splitting memory like this for each version of a board? Flaming clowns. Should just have one big memory table used for each board. One last example is the Pro vs the E. Pro supports 14 PC8500 modules, the E supports over 35.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2008
  7. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    New BIOSes! :D

    BIOSes removed.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2008
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    mBIOS 08003 abailable!

    Changes:
    - Updated P6 microcode (CPU count now 39, +8 over official P5Q Pro BIOS 0703, +2 over ANY other board including the ROG series!)
    - Injected Maximus II Formula memory table

    BIOS removed
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2008
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Another nice mod from Ket. Keep em coming.
     
  10. Richieb0y

    Richieb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    471 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands Almere
    i have a asus p5q pro rev1.03 i will try it later .

    i have some troubles when i put my ohter gskill 2x1gb in this mobo it doesnt post anymore should this bios solve it

    thx
     
  11. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I can't say about your G.Skill for certain. All I can say is that out of these different flavour BIOSes, one of them should at least improve memory compatibility for you. mBIOS 08004 is also planned, but not set in stone. I have to figure out how to combine 6 memory tables into 1. At least it also gives Asus chance to release a more updated BIOS (lol) for me to base a newer mBIOS on. Let us know how 08003 goes for you Richieb0y. If in doubt, check the Maximus II Formula QVL list for your memory, if its in the list, it'll work! Even if the memory isnt in the QVL list, still might be worth a punt for some.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2008
    Richieb0y says thanks.
  12. Richieb0y

    Richieb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    471 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands Almere
    thx for the info this week i send it back i they dont have any problems whit the mem i wil sure us ur bios thx for the help and i wil report back
     
  13. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Been doing some sniffing around and I found this website has A LOT of beta BIOSes for a lot of motherboards. Those wondering, yes the P5Q Pro is among them, latest beta version is 1004 :eek: talk about a massive upgrade!
     
  14. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Here you go guys, my modded mBIOS based on 1004 beta for the P5Q Pro. Please be sure to read the Readme file.

    old rev of mBIOS1004, removed.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2008
  15. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    New mBIOS. Based on 1004 beta still but been reworked a little for even better memory compatibility and overclocking. I also added a awsome boot logo. Your gonna wanna actually look at this one ;) Check readme in zip file for the full details.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Anyway you can make my own boot image for my DFI :)
     
  17. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    You mean boot logo? If its an AMI BIOS probably yeah. Dont have many AWARD BIOS tools.
     
  18. zero1970 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Any mBios for the P5Q??
     
  19. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I assume your talking the straight P5Q, no. But I could whip one up in a jiffy if people want one.
     
  20. zero1970 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah, That would be great!! Thanks!!!
     
  21. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Alright, Gimme 5-10 mins.
     
  22. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Alright here you go P5Q non-pro people. This mBIOS is especially from me to you. This mBIOS essentially makes the same changes as my mBIOS for the P5Q Pro. Do note this mBIOS is based on 0901 beta for the P5Q, there should not be any problems however. Just flash as you normally would.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Warbucks New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  24. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I could, but theres little point. From what I hear the P5Q-E boards and up don't have rubbish memory tables.
     
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    hey ket did you have a chance to fix that ECS BIOS yet?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page