1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Get Your Modded P5Q Pro BIOS Here!

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Ketxxx, Jul 10, 2008.

  1. hema New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    why I canot bitch at you like that
    you always talk angry to every one in this site when ask you for help or any request for your moodded bios and when you make afault in your bios you go away from it and say using these bios's is totally at the users own risk
    hi man wake up
     
  2. Zehnsucht

    Zehnsucht New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    439 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    I object to your complete lack of punctuation.
     
  3. vazovskiiii New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    haloo everybody for firs sorry for my english i m georgian not from usa from that georgia wich is under atack from russia
    now i need some help
    1st is that the bios 1004 moded and stock is not working corectly it shows temp of central processor 16 and it's imposible because in the room is 34 :)
    2st i cant upgrade the bios 0901 it's writen there than error in boot block so i've deside do not do this :(
    Now i wont to ask you can you do the bios for my P5Q non pro i want to have good bios because i dont know why but any stock bios don;t whant to overclock my system ood enough i have cell shock 8500 ram and i have tested it for 3 hours and no errors in memtest but they do not whant to overclock good enough only 1134 mhz, i have test on my system teem group 8000 and it's overclocked 1224 with 459 fsb and mushkin 8500 blue it's overclocked to 1184 but this cellshocks do not what to overclock good enough only 1134 maximum
    so i think it's bios problem i have tested on 1104 and 0703 and 1004 best from this bioses is 0703 because this bios shows everithing corecct
    so please do 0703 bios for p5q non pro maximaly extreem for overclock.
    or is possible to mod rampage formulas bios for p5q or some other extreem motherboard bios for good options on my p5q non pro?
     
  4. vazovskiiii New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    or 1104 i like this bios:nutkick:
     
  5. hema New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I want to know
    even 1104 have the same temp of central processor prob. or not
     
  6. higherdestiny New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    May have found the cause.

    Apparently ASUS update corrupts the BIOS when run under 64bit operating systems.
    As I updated my BIOS with the modified one under a 64bit operating system, this may have bricked my board. A pity Asus Update software doesn't warn the user. Will investigate more.
     
  7. OldBloke New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Motherboard makers really should use removable ROM chips. I remember from many years ago CPM machines had them. Then if there is a disaster so the PC won't even boot a floppy (so you can't flash a different BIOS version) you could just remove and mail the ROM chip for reflashing instead of having to remove the whole motherboard.

    Two conclusions:
    1: Don't flash the BIOS from inside Windows. Use a bootable floppy or USB stick with Asus's DOS based flashing program, or use the BIOS's own flashing feature. Uninstall "Asus Update"!

    2: Don't use any of Ketxxx's modded BIOSs which are based on a beta or non official BIOS. Wait until he uploads one which he has modded from an official final release of a new BIOS version, such as his modded 1104.
     
  8. higherdestiny New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    SOLVED!

    I fixed my dead board - here's how:

    Step 1: Find a friend with the same board as you (P5Q Pro).
    Step 2: Download and burn to CD the modded P5Q bios.
    Step 3: Boot your friends computer and enter BIOS.
    Step 4: Launch the Asus EZ Flash tool from within your friends BIOS.
    Step 5: Locate and select the BIOS from your CD drive and proceed until the tool says "are you sure you wish to continue?".
    Step 6: Before pressing "y", CAREFULLY locate and REMOVE the bios chip from your friends motherboard. Then do the same on your board and insert your "dead" bios chip into the running computer - because sure to keep the chip facing the correct way.
    Step 7: Press "y" and flash the bios.
    Step 8: Reboot and ensure BIOS is operating correctly.
    Step 9: Shut down and swap both BIOS chips back.

    done!

    Additional note - I used the latest "final" release of ketxxx's bios and it works wonders :) ALWAYS flash through DOS or BIOS tool. :) My system is now more stable than ever! Big thanks to Ketxxx.

    It may be worth just updating the first post to warn users of updating in windows :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2008
    Zehnsucht says thanks.
  9. vazovskiiii New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have official 1104 bios it's ok with temps and all things but there is another 2 problems stays
    1, my system don't whant to overclock the memory over the 1134 (i have cell shock 8500)
    2. after i willl unplug from electricy and pluging than beck in 20 seconds and i press power it is doing restart just like wrong settings in bios and after restart it's ok turningo on and working well and same settings wich i have write in settings i dont know why :(

    oh buy tha way what is the cpu margin this option does not persists in 0703
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2008
  10. hema New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    how did you solve the temp. central reading error
    in 1104 bios
    with that bios on my P5Q my Q6600 central temp. reading lower by 10 degree in last one 0703
    any help
     
  11. Lillebror New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    720 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Denmark
    Im getting my p5q-pro on monday - is there any kind of problems with the 1104 bios on the frontpage? just curious :)

    And do i have to update the bios trough dos? cause on my gigabyte, i always update trough windows.
     
  12. ascstinger

    ascstinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    544 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    In a house
    just curious if anyone had memory clocking problems on this bios, my ocz's constantly fail memtest on it, and they didnt on my p35 at 900mhz

    other than that little issue, this is an excellent addon to my budget board
     
  13. vazovskiiii New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes 6600 on 1104 bios is lower temp then on 0703 an it's right :) so you can flash with 1104 with any problem this is good bios
     
  14. drf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have the same problems too 1. cpu temp 2. same as your problem unplug from electric...

    is the temp problem only exists with q6600 (my idea) does any other cpu users other than 6600 have same prob?
     
  15. vazovskiiii New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    cpu tems is not problem anymore:) eith bios 1104
    and about electric this is not problem of cpu this is about memory for example i have cell shock 8500 and stock mhz is 1066 and when im indicating in bios that 1066 dram freq thats were starting this problems with electric when im inticating auto on dram freq i'ts ok with electric but auto meens that my memorys working on 800mhz so im sure that it's not poblem of cpu it's problem meybe
    1. motherboard has some problems with 1066 mhz settings in bios
    2. thera are som memorys wich do not whant to work this motherboard
    because before i had mushkin blue 8500 and it was ok with 1066 settings so my ide is that motherboard do not like all of memories :(
     
  16. drf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    tx for reply
    i use latest official bios (1104) my ram modules are adata 1066+ vitesta extreme
    it sounds true that going back to default settings may occur with ram manual adjust (mine also works 800mhz 4-4-4-12 on autoi i manually adjusted to 1066 5-5-5-15 memtest ok after this adjustment my bios get loading default settings after unplugging)

    but about temp issue i dont have the same idea with u please read mine and hema's posts we dont have problem with cores temps i our problem is with winbond sensor detected cpu central temp (for ex. cores 40-40-39-38 cpu :23) kett said its a new calculation method sorry kett i dont believe it. hema u?
    but last night i noticed my cpu fan suddenly begin working faster my cpu temp seems 100 C!!!! i checked everything hsf , cables etc cpu temp 100, core temps 40 40 39 38, but asus qfan reads cpu temps and sends order to cpu hsf to work max
    so i mean still temp problems exist with 1104 bios............
     
  17. vazovskiiii New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i'm very sorry ebout it but i guess u have not only problems with temps my bios is not settings default after unplug just doing restart when i'm pluging it back my comp doing restart but this is not chainging settings to default its workin exactely like i set in bios so nothings chaingin just doing restar 1 time and after it its working as i write in bios and my temp of cpu is 27 central and 39-38 cores it's in 1104 bios and i think it's correct thats what i have temps ok and bios to ok just 1 restart if cable was unpluged and i whant to indicate that after restart i'm not doing anything it's is working exactely like i did in bios nothing chainging
     
  18. vazovskiiii New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so my dear friends i d like to aks bios moders can you da bios for p5q non pro with maximaly overclocking features in many options and everything for overclock is it possible?
    from bios 1104 plz
     
  19. hema New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am not sure about this new method of calculation
    so me to i dont believe it
    in any board from asus or gigabyte or any other company the same reading of cpu central temp and core temp.
    if any one can find any similar situation on any other board tell me untill that I am still using 0703 bios
    the greatest one
     
  20. vazovskiiii New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no my friend belive the best and correct is 1104 bios
    i belive you ket:)
    can u mod 1104 for me? plz i want this bios with maximum overclock functions and features

    and 1 more question is it possible to mod rampage formula-s bios for P5Q non pro?
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2008
  21. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,033
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    This is a very common issue with the new p45 chipset. Cpu's clock like crazy, but memory seems to struggle.
     
    Zehnsucht says thanks.
  22. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    That's what I've heard too.
     
  23. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,364 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Does this help with FSB problems? I am going to give it a shot and see, but I was just wondering in advance
     
  24. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,364 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Answered my own question, yep, it does. Fixed my lock at 410, going to try for higher.
     
  25. vazovskiiii New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hallo where is the mr modder? :)
    plz can you do for me that i have allrady write up?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page