1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Getting constant corrupt downloads

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Ubuntusario, Oct 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ubuntusario

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    208 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    UT,US
    I don't know if my voltages on my NB cpu and NB is causing this but in any case here they are

    NB cpu voltage [1.125]
    NB voltage [1.18]

    are they safe? is this overheating or low? I remember I got my computer stable after I up both of them from 1.1v but I'm guessing the corrupt downloads are due to they still not being totally stable. :confused:
     
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,832 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Why, have you increased those voltages? Put them back to default and see if the problem goes away.

    Corrupt downloads can be caused by many things and this isn't the most likely of them. Also, if your NB was malfunctioning, your PC would likely crash anyway.
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    dude just stop trying to tweak and overclock youre not getting anywhere with this build, especially if you are unstable. take it in a shop and have them fix it.
     
  4. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,317 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    Run pingtest see your packet loss
     
  5. pigulici

    pigulici

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    438 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Romania
    Check the memory with Memtest for errors and scan hdd(with software from manufacturer) for bad cluster...
     
  6. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Many causes. Including.
    Bad router or network adapter
    Bad downloader software.
    Bad cable or Wifi signal or interference whatever you're using.
    Bad ISP.

    Doubt RAM or NB voltages if everything is stable.

    Saw the another thread. Clear CMOS all default and do the BIOS settings provided by cdawall & others again.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2012
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    So what is this thread 10 now go reread the other thread I gave you all of the information and voltages you need. Since you still haven't listened to that how about you stop asking questions.
     
    Aquinus, manofthem, Norton and 2 others say thanks.
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    I swear this kid doesn't listen
     
    manofthem, trickson and qubit say thanks.
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    You know I may not agree with you all the time but this time I DO!!! Man STOP Over Clocking your shit if you do not know what you are doing and do not listen to others.
     
    eidairaman1 and qubit say thanks.
  10. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    @Ubuntusario

    Clear CMOS or reset BIOS to default.
    Do not touch anything in BIOS after that. Or at least do NOT overclock.
    If it does work fine, then you may begin to overclock following guides out there, though I wouldn't advice you to do so in that motherboard (which is similar in price to mine, but I don't overclock).
    If it still fails, you have a defective component, you may need to run memtest or prime95 to narrow down the defective component. Maybe you would need to update BIOS, to improve support or stability for your hardware.

    Before Overclocking you need to make sure all components are fine running them stock, otherwise you could get a bad mess :(
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2012
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    He has tons of issues memory isn't on the QVL cheap mobo and a stock hsf. It's a mute point he does what he wants because he knows best.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  12. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    I have more or less the same (60$ mobo, my memory isn't on the QVL or can't find it, and stock HSF), except I run everything at stock and didn't tinker anything on BIOS. He should do the same to know if anything is defective/incompatible.
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Huge differently being he has AMD and you have Intel.
     
  14. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    and? I had a cheap AMD box before with a cheaper mobo (40-50$) and cheaper HSF, and overclocked it.
     
  15. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,114 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,935
    OP's threads have become rather funny to read. I'm looking forward to when he starts trying to overclock his GPU :laugh: no offense OP ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Was it a 125w chip on a board barely able to hold them stock?
     
  17. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    No it was a 89W CPU (Athlon 64 X2 90nm don't remember more) in a board with a very worse VRM than his one without solid caps and old thorus ferrite chokes and 500W generic PSU.

    Anyway I think he has some defective stuff, that's why I state to try at stock. Or maybe some hardly overclockable stuff.
     
  18. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,832 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    This is the sort of logic that makes people trying to help you bang their heads against the wall in frustration.

    - It's irrelevant how much money you paid for the modules as you're TROUBLESHOOTING a problem. If it's prudent to lower the clock speed/timings etc to see if the problem goes away, then you bloody well do that!

    - One of the first things that one does when troubleshooting is to put everything back to stock speeds or perhaps lower, as it's a prime source of problems. Therefore, if someone tells you to do it, you just do it.

    - You've said yourself that you don't know much about this stuff. That means listening and doing the things that the experienced people ask you to and then hopefully you'll eventually learn something as well as fixing the problem. Your own "opinion" doesn't mean jack schitt, because you don't know anything!

    I bet this didn't get through to you, did it? :rolleyes: You sound like my mother when I try to help her out with the computer: ignorant and stupidly argumentative.
     
    eidairaman1, Norton and dude12564 say thanks.
  19. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I would have looked towards RAM for the data issues.
    Running memtest 86+ from USB would be a good idea.

    Could be bad RAM.

    Last time I had bad downloads I ended up having bad RAM.
     
  20. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Last time i had bad downloads was due to my hardrive failing.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    What's sad is you just listen I bet that ram can run 1800 and that cpu can run 3.6-3.8 on that cooler...stable :shadedshu
     
  22. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    pingtest.net
     
  23. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    I am CRYING with laughter. sorry. love reading you guys.
     
  24. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,467 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I think a moderator needs to lock this topic and the other 10 topics associated with this one.

    I'm getting tired of seeing the same thing coming up again and again, giving the same recommendations, then being ignored. Don't post if you're not going to listen and don't ask for our help if you're not going to take our advice.
     
    dude12564 and qubit say thanks.
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,808 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,190
    I wouldn't normally close a thread due to people who don't know how to behave but since the OP has started other similar threads, it will be done.

    In the future, if you find a thread/post problematic, report it. It's no use adding to the off topic conversation.

    An eye will be kept on those who made utterly useless posts in this thread (spamming smileys, argumentative, etc.) If you cannot control your posts, we'll do it for you and take away your privilege to post here.
     
    95Viper and Aquinus say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page