1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Getting dual 9800GTX's need advice

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Solaris17, Jul 22, 2008.

  1. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,257 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Florida
    hey guys im tired of my 9600's failing so im getting dual 9800GTX's sometime this week i was wondering im also getting an e7200 sometime soon and planning on hitting ~4Ghz so do you think that my OCZ 700w Gamer X stream will handle this? i think it will but i want to be sure. it has 4x 18A +12v rails for a total of 72amps
     
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I think so...what's it's 12v specs?

    That's a decent PSU, it may run a little warmer, but I think it's up to the task! :toast:

    Though I don't SLI or CF...so I'm not your best bet at answering this question either...
     
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,257 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Florida
    ok i thought so thank you i edited op for the 12v specs my psu also has the ability to pool the amps and deliver were needed.
     
  4. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    why 9800's sol?

    good deal?

    check the OEM for that PSU using pancho's PSU guide either him or i posted a link in there...

    :toast:
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  5. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Hmm.. 72A should be plenty sufficient IMO..I don't think you'll have to worry! :toast:
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,257 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Florida
    GF works at BB return both my 9600's grab 2 9800's off the shelf use her discount i pay a diff of $20 cant beat that.
     
  7. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    hellz NO!

    can't wait to see what you conjure up with those bad boy's :rockout:

    let the pixel's fly sol!

    :toast:
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  8. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    The 9800gtx's require 2x6pins a piece, and the psu only has 2 6pins, so unless there is a way around that........
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,257 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Florida
    o my friend i will and let me tell you you'll be the first to know!
     
    intel igent says thanks.
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,257 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Florida
    1 psu 6pin per card then for the other 6 pin i will use 1 dual molex to 6pin converter and use my free rail
     
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    My system in my specs with a single 9800GTX only consumes 400w, 700w should be just fine for you.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  12. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I didn't know you could convert a molex to 6-pin. I thought there might be some way around it though, good stuff. :toast:
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,257 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Florida
    ;)

    [​IMG]
     
    farlex85 says thanks.
  14. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    A lot of cards for years have come with dual molex to PCI-e converter plugs...you absolutely have to use the 2 seperate molex connectors though, so it's more motivation to get the PSU you should have imo...but if the PSU you have is plenty rated and you don't mind routing more cable that way, then more power to ya...it annoys me though..I have a whole stash of them from over the years if different PCI-e cards...NV 7900s, ATI 1950s, I think even an old 6600gt I stuck in a rig I built last fall on a small budget for a friend had one in it. It's handy to have if you don't have enough connectors for sure!

    :toast:
     
  15. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    doubt i'll be the first to know but thnx for the thought :toast:

    i'd still check the PSU to be on the safe side, i'm shure it will take you no more than 10-15min for the added piece of mind.

    just my $0.02
     
  16. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    See I guess that's my noobishness, my 8800gts is the first card I've owned that required a psu connection. Now I know though, if I ever need it. :)
     
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,257 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Florida
    well i think of it this way...my psu in theory should be able to handle the load....and though their dual 6pin cards...for a diff of $20 its an upgrade i cant pass up....little messy? well ill try my hardest so it isnt so...but imo it will be worth it :)
     
  18. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,257 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Florida
    were is the link?
     
  19. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yeah, well I can say I've been an unprepared noob! I've had to use em' before, and was VERY thankful to have them! I actually made a couple for a friend once when I couldn't find mine...took some extra connectors from an old and dead modular PSU, just google Molex to PCI-E...all sorts of pics, threads and guides.

    I still HATE using them...needless to say the got the job done, but I sure as hell got a PSU that would suit my connections and power needs!

    :toast:
     
  20. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I"m running 3 cards on my PSU with a Quad.

    I think yours could handle it just fine.


    I also have to use 2 those adaptors in use..

    I just mixed it up to handle the load better. So I only have one of those adaptors on one card and the other on another card.
     
  21. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  22. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I think your PSU can handle it! I dunno if it's modular or not, but if it is, maybe you could snag a couple extra PCI-E cables? If not a dedicated Molex line for converting should be just fine man..with the power and amperage backing you up I'm sure you'll be fine. And I know you don't wanna blow up two brand new 9800GTX's at least in the first hour right? :D
     
  23. wolf2009 Guest

    i have to find a gf at CC or BB . i'll start scouting there tomm for hot deals . :laugh::laugh:
     
  24. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    They will just start cutting out most likly if it cant handle the peel loads.
     
  25. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,257 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Florida

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page