1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Getting errors with formatting Atom Cedar netbook.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by de.das.dude, Sep 4, 2012.

  1. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,586 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,977
    My friend recently bought the ASUS 1225C netbook which comes with the new ATom dual cores and no OS.

    i used diskpart to make a bootable win7 pendrive and then booted from it, but after clicking on install from the setup it shows some error showing required drivers are not found. even transferring the contents of the driver CD to the usb drive doesnt help.

    so i tried using a Novicorp WintoFlash thingy to make a bootable XP usb disk.
    that works fine on my comp but when i goto install it on the netbook, it doesnt list the HDD or any of the partitions there in the drives list. note that he had installed ubuntu by himself and created a couple of partitions there.


    help :(
  2. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,069 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    692
    Location:
    Rochester area
    lack of chipset drivers would be my guss xp is way old
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,586 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,977
    yes thats my guess to. but whats up with the win 7 installation! man i told him to go for the E-350 one. those are awesome!
  4. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,069 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    692
    Location:
    Rochester area
    try changing the bios hdd controller setting from ACHI mode to native-ide
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,586 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,977
    ok will do later.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,555 (10.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,070
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    With windows XP you need to find the chipset drivers and use Nlite to split stream them into the installation portion of XP. This will allow it to see the HDD when installing.
    de.das.dude says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,586 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,977
    ahci didnt suffice. cant even make the thing recognise the chipset drivers.
    updated bios too.

    this is the error
    [​IMG]
  8. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,376 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    996
    Are you using a USB3 slot? If so, try a USB2 slot.
  9. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,586 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,977
    thanks brandon! it worked!!!

    she liveess.. well atleast i can see the hdd now.
    nifty tool that one is.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page