1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

getting rid of my CRT!!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Nemesis881, Jul 26, 2009.

  1. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    692 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
    Its finally time to go LCD and stop destroying my eyes with my old monitor!
    My budget is $110~.

    I've been looking on newegg and I can't decide between a 19" widescreen or a 17" fullscreen.
    The problem I have with the widescreen is the weird resolution. 1440x900?? Do most games support that?

    Also the 17" will be bigger than the CRT I have now, but I don't wanna regret not getting the widescreen later on. Any thoughts? :toast:
     
  2. joshiers8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
  3. Feizy

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
  4. joshiers8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    i think that is just for the privacy filter, if i am not mistaking
    as far as the games go, they will set their own resolution, or what you choose in the game options :)
    1 more thing, that monitor is $20 cheaper on tigerdirect.com, compared to newegg.com
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2009
  5. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    692 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
  6. joshiers8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    you can turn the resolution to what ya had before in the settings, although u r right, it might not look good, but hey, always room for a video card upgrade later on down the road, hehe :toast:
     
  7. Feizy

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
  8. joshiers8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    that tigerdirect monitor is what i am using right as we speak, love that thing, but I just use onboard video *barfs*, so I can't comment on gaming really
     
  9. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    395 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    If you dont think your card can cope with 1680x1050 drop the res in the game to 1440x900 same aspect but less taxing for your card.
     
  10. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    your 8600GTS won't perform very well at all with a 1680x1050 monitor, but I know bestbuy sells another acer monitor that looks exactly like that one for about 100 dollars but it has a res of 1600x900 which is only tad bit more intensive than 1280x1024 and is like I think 21 inches

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=9183297&st=acer&type=product&id=1218049005548


    the max you should aim for is 1600x900 with that card, preferably 1440x900 and you need to decide before you buy if you want an lcd with integrated speakers also
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2009
  11. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    692 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
  12. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,613 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,413
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  13. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    yes it does, it just dosen't come with the cable
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  14. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    stinger608 says thanks.
  15. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    692 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,407 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,425
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  17. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,613 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,413
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  18. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
  19. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,140 (5.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,167
    Location:
    Ohio
    1440x900 is a fine resolution, most games support it
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Tampa FL
  21. joshiers8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
  22. dcboron New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan
  23. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    692 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
    I'm used to a 17" CRT. The 19" LCD is gonna be a nice upgrade for me.

    oh and i ended up buying this one overr the Hanns-g because it comes with a DVI cable.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824236064

    Thanks for all the suggestions though. :rockout:
     
  24. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
  25. joshiers8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    if it is already equipped with DVI on the monitor, it should automatically come with the DVI cable (mine did, hehe). the same goes for the VGA connection
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page