1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Getting RMA would Asus P5Q Pro be a good replacement?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by alexp999, Jun 13, 2008.

  1. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Would a P45 Mobo be a good replacement for my RMA?

    Hi,
    I'm trying to sort out an RMA for my board. it double posts raising the FSB by even 1Mhz.
    And I cant get it stable above stock for love nor money. Voltages seem to make no difference. just when I think that it is stable and has passed memtest/ 3hrs orthos. A few weeks down the line it fails to post and boots from the SPi (backup) BIOS. :confused:

    So I'm looking at possibly RMAing and getting a P45 based mobo. As it is the only chipset available closest to the original price of my mobo with dual 8x Xfire or higher.

    What do you guys think?

    The place I'm getting the RMA only does Asus P45's so i was looking at this one, an Asus P5Q-E:

    http://uk.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=709&l4=0&model=2267&modelmenu=1

    Or if I end up getting it from someone else, would there be a better board to get. What do people think of the P45? (dunno how long it has been out :confused: )

    Cheers!
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2008
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Anyone??? :(

    How about the P45 chipset or Asus in general??

    Thanks!
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    N E 1 ??? :(
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    No-one got any ideas?? There is usually some one with an opinion. :p
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    alexp999 says thanks.
  6. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Yeah, that gigabyte looks great. The asus looks good to. 8x-8x cf w/ a p45 chipset is quite a nice deal indeed for the price they are at. I would prefer the gigabyte as it doesn't have that useless third pcix16 slot and instead an extra expansion. 2 less sata ports than the asus if that is more important.
    alexp999 says thanks.
  7. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I think its a good replacement, someone on XS tested a better version of that board and got it up to 625+ FSB (thanks to DD for that info) out of the box.
    alexp999 says thanks.
  8. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I was looking at the Gigabyte ones as well, but if i end up having to get the new board from the same place I am RMAing all they have are P5Q's from the P45's.

    I am going to try and get a P5q Deluxe, cus I prefer the idea of the SB being connected to the north via a heatpipe. I dont like the idea of a ICH10R being covered up by two 3870's with no good cooling.

    I am right in thinking that is pretty much the only difference other than the 16 phase power. Or should I stick clear of it. Is it better than the 8 phase on the P5Q-E??

    Cheers!!
  9. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Also how do I change the title of my thread? I have tried PMing the mods but have had no replies :(
  10. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    826 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    They had a thread vote on this. Right now its not possible to change the thread titles once you posted. But in time, I think they are going to allow it. But for now, not possible. Hehe I have had typos in my titles before, hated not being able to fix it.
  11. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Okay I have no got it down to two boards based on what the place I am RMAing my old baord to has.

    MSI P45 Platinum

    or

    Asus P5Q- Deluxe

    Let me know what you think.

    Cheers!
  12. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Well, the P5Q deluxe is a DDR3 board, so that should only really be considered if your going for ddr3. Also, at that price I think perhaps an x38 w/ddr2 would be a better choice. The P5Q Pro is practically the same in features and such to the msi platinum, and it comes at a cheaper price. From my minor experience with either type of board, I have preferred asus's bios to MSI's, but really that's personal preference there.
  13. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    The title is wrong now, lol! But mods aren't replying to my PMs :( .

    It will either be an Asus P5Q-E or P5Q Deluxe.

    Probably the first as it is closer to the original price of my old RMA'd mobo. After doing a bit more reading the MSI doesnt have some of the stuff I want that the Asus ones have.

    The P5Q Deluxe is DDR2 it is the P5Q3 that is DDR3.

    The only differences I have seen between the P5Q-E and P5Q Deluxe are a heatpipe to the SB, a SSD for the onboard linux (instead of a HDD partition), 16 phase power vs 8 phase.

    Do you reckon I should fight for the deluxe or would the P5Q-E be good enough anyway?

    I suppose I could look at an X38, thanks for that I hadnt though of that, lol! But going on the fact that they will want as cheap an upgrade as possible, it will probably be the P5Q-E.

    So it comes down to would a P5Q-E be a good replacement mobo??

    Cheers!!!
  14. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Yeah i would think so new p45 chipset, if its anything like its older brother p35 should be a nice little oc'er and stable too i cant say out of personal experience but thats how it looks to me plus 100% all Japan-made Conductive Polymer Capacitors and ASUS 8-phase Power Design is always a good sign, ok its not 16 phase but still it has all the features ( from what i can tell ) you need.

    On another note have u got any pics of your dads rig with the commodore c-kin case :D, big eve fan here :toast:.

    Hope this helps.
    Gam
    alexp999 says thanks.
  15. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I'll PM you some pics later on today if you like.

    I also read on one review site that 16 phase is a bit overkill and makes only marginal differences over 8 phase. It also seems that the P5Q-E has a better bios than the P5Q deluxe atm.
    Only thing I cant find anything out about is the on board sound. I was using the Dolby Live feature on my old mobo, but I cant find any info about the asus chip. Just that it is made my soundmax and the number is AD2000B or something. But it is unique to asus and their are no specs of it. :(
  16. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,032 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    I would go for a x38 or x48 board instead the p45 has really nothing new to offer
  17. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    yeah but they are about £30 more than the asus p5q-e. and im getting it on RMA.
  18. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Yeah that would be great thanks:), all i dug up is that the AD2000B is the same audio codec thats present on the supreme FX X-Fi Audio Card but im not sure myself if that supports dolby live :confused:, But all in all P5Q-E looks to be a good board.

    Gam
    alexp999 says thanks.
  19. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Do you reckon I should just get the P5Q deluxe from the company I use now??

    Then just sell whatever comes back from RMA. I dont want to wait that long for a replacement. I really would like the deluxe cus of the SSD express gate and heatpipe to the SB. It could be here tomorrow. :D
  20. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    What is the difference between X38 and P45 anyway??

    Which would be better?? I like the Express gate thing cus my mum uses the comp and is so impatient, lol. All she wants is to be able to look at pics and Surf.
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yup, and point being the thing they do have to offer is lower cost. Hey more go for less dough .... :)

    Can't be too mad about that.

    Alex, stick with what your going for, IMO I think its the best route.:)
  22. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    P5Q all the way :), ive been looking at it myself with envious eyes :twitch: but im back in work next week and i need upgrades :rockout:.
    But yeah get the P5Q i don't think you'll go wrong there.

    Gam
  23. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    How do u mean. kinda confused me with ur post, lol. :eek: .

    I want it to support 45nm 1600FSb for future upgrade. And P45 was natively built for that right? Do X38's support 45nm 1600FSB??

    The only X38 in my price range are:

    DFI LanParty DKX38-T2R
    Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS4
    Abit iX38 Quad-GT
    Asus P5E
  24. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    1333 MHz for the DFI LanParty DKX38-T2R ddr2
    1600 mhz for the Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS4. ddr3
    1600 mhz for the Abit iX38 Quad-GT dd2
    1600 mhz for the Asus P5E3 Deluxe ddr3

    Not sure why the dfi's is only 1333 mhz though.
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ahhhhh, I got you now. Regarding the 1600fsb, it may be done in a bios revision but I beleive for now they only support up to native 1333 45nm's IIRC.

    I mean, they are "only" a P35 overhaul with major differences of better ddr3 support and addition of PCIe 2.0.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page