1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Getting something from another computer

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by ShadowFold, Jul 12, 2008.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I have my old HDD in my moms new rig. I have my backup folder on there with all my stuff(music, game saves etc) and I dont have any dvd burners or large flash drives so I need a way to get it over my router. Ok pretty much what im asking is is there a way to get it off her drive and put it on mine through my router cause we are both hooked up to it.
  2. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Yea, if they are on the same network and running XP or vista, then right click on the drive or folder. Go to properties, then share tab. Check on share, then make sure her firewall is temporarily off (you dont have to, but I think it makes it less of a hassle that way).

    If you go under network places on your comp, then go under her comp name, you should see the shared drive/folder right there.

    EDIT: Network PLACES, not network CONNECTIONS... dur.
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2008
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    One thing to add ShogoXT . .. .

    [​IMG]
    Make sure both PC's are on the same Workgroup name. Have fun Shadowfold!:)
  4. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Thats true, but in XP and vista like I was recommending before, its not required anymore like it used to be for Win98 and such. Tested myself a few days ago when I was transferring file and then noticed "oh snap I knew i forgot something, i didnt change the workgroup!"

    It was working fine though.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yeah, just extra precautions so he doesnt rack his brain over something kind of simple. :p

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page