1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GFWL consistently broken

Discussion in 'General Software' started by AngryMerchant, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. AngryMerchant

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    263 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I've been dealing with this for something like 9 months, because Microsoft can't be bothered to fix their precious "future of PC gaming."

    Basically, I can only run on a stable version from about a year ago. It prompts me to update, but I don't, because that doesn't work. It will update in-game, exit, run a windows installer, fill up a bar, and then exit. Nothing happens. If I try installing the update through the client, that's where it gets really bad. It crashes everything, Street Fighter IV, Arkham Asylum, and Fallout 3, all every time, without exception. The only way to fix it is system restoring to the previous version. I've tried uninstalling the Redistributable, the client, and deleting everything from Program Files that says "Games For Windows Live," then reinstalling. Nothing works there either, exactly the same crash. It's as though MS has spent the entire last year releasing faulty, broken clients.

    I know GFWL is garbage. So don't try telling me that, because I'm not going to disagree. I just need ideas to fix this.
  2. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    UK
    i updated GFWL through windows updates and that worked, try the same and it might work for you
    AngryMerchant says thanks.
  3. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,477 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,181
    I have no clue what your os is. Whatever ...

    Uninstall games for windows
    Clean registry
    Disable windows updates
    Clean softwaredistribution folder
    Enable windows updates
    Make sure visual c++ and .net framework (if you have any) are all up to date
    Install games for windows
    Run updates
  4. AngryMerchant

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    263 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Windows Update didn't update it for me, but the update worked after the Windows update.
  5. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah it really truly sucks ass--makes you jump through a ton of hoops and reboots and then still often doesn't work. Cause of that BS I can't load my Batman:AA saves since a reformat and gave up on the game. Will probably not buy the next one cause of GFWL too.
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    I couldn't start any game that uses GFWL. To fix it, I had to install GFWL marketplace and start it before I start any game that uses GFWL.
  7. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    What I recall is that GFWL would always start in Dirt 2. But when they updated GFWL you need to have the process already running or else you get problems. So that means you have to open up 'Services' select Windows Live ID Sign-In Assistant and start the process. That should take care of those games that need it without having to start up GFWL live 1st. But the downside is that process is always there. Something I don't recall when I got Dirt 2 when that came out.

    As for the problems of GFWL live itself it's best to keep track of their forums for any tips. Looks like they've changed it around from when I last visited. But you want this section.
  8. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    There's a plan to merge GFWL with XBOX.com so who knows maybe more fun the horizon for the people who are having issues with GFWL.
  9. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Never have any issues with GFWL. PC's really are a strange thing, so many possibilities of different driver clashes and different configs. Then again, I get stutter in Mafia II when most people can play it flawlessly so ?? :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page