1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ghetto Mods

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by Nitro-Max, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    405 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    286
    Location:
    Bahrain
    So far i noticed a 2-4 C drop in temps (depends on room temp) but overall its better than before and airflow did improve
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,564 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    [​IMG]
    is that ghetto enough, i run out of zip ties and all i can find just it so just tie the cable and done
  3. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    480
    yeah that's ghetto enough to be in here.... well atleast you didn't think it'd be a good idea to use twistie ties on an power cable you know the ones with wire in the middle they tend to turn into small but very effective transformers and can cause nice little fires to happen
  4. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    they can turn into transformers only when there is a alternating voltage And if the circuit is closed. :p
  5. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    480
    Fark de you know what i meant I just couldn't think of the right word :p

    the thin wire picks up the electrical field generated by the wires in the molex and because the case is grounded it sets up an current draw the thin wire in the twistie tie gets hot and causes the plastic around it to catch fire.... trust me I've seen it happen about 4yrs ago a customer bought in a pc that had the exact same scenario all be it the PC was deader than a door knob
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Maybe he his PSU wires were crappy because I use twisty ties a lot and have no fire damage :laugh:
  7. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,294 (8.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,385
    I agree.... I use them once in awhile with no issues. one or two wraps over a properly insulated wire and a coated tie may produce a small inductive current but it would be in the millivolt range if it produces anything at all.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    480

    most likely they were it was if I remember correctly an crappy Compaq box with pretty cheapo parts in it, still I'd never use or recommend twistie ties when zip ties are cheap as
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,564 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i do that just to make those cable as tight as possible since i cant find any hole to tie that, and thas fine. ive calculated it and make sure the cable is pretty safe to tie, and so far it looks good :toast:
  10. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    testing atm don't think i can game on it for too long.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
  11. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
  12. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,775 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,304
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    catnipkiller says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    it works^^

    [​IMG]
  14. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    it's kinda surprising how many people use old psu's for 12 volt equipment,

    i have one for powering my window fans and cupboard lights,
    i use a Round Pin Plug and socket (5AMP)
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    on my equipment, as it keeps others from blowing my stuff up :laugh:
    plus i can use the center pin for 5 volt bits n pieces:D
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    double post :p
    dr emulator (madmax) says thanks.
  16. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    yep sorted, it was probably because of the fact i couldn't post the pics of the plug and socket :wtf:
  17. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    you find that suprising, especially you Dr. Emulator? :D
    i use an old two old 250w and 350w PSU from some broken rigs, to power both my Radfans (which you should know if you dont live halfside by the moon, and have ever watercooled + read the natural aspired PC Watercooling or Sexy Hardware, i have the biggest rad on the forums stil, epeen, lol:laugh:)

    i also tend to use he 250w PSU as a way of charging my lithium polymer cellpacks for my airsofts and my electric boxmag for my m4 airsoft,and using the 5v supply for testing the durability and workings of the gun and/or the magazine... if anyone is interested into Airsoft, just give a call, i like to know/think about tech and ways to make it what you want it to do, and as we know, you americas are pretty good in that, as your wepons law regards them as "Toys" (here in Germany, they are regared as free weapons, like pepper pistols/guns, air rifles, crossbows and bows, and stuff like that... its true!

    In Germany its easier to own a crossbow than anything shooting real bullets, no matter if its small caliber or not (even tho, with a weapon card, the small calibers and single/double shotguns are kinda cheap at a price under 50€, just for the gun itself... Ammo is never really that cheap tho aquireable, with friends or in the shop....big caliber hunting rifles?

    Well,you need to have a (very expensive, very difficult to aquire) hunters license, and even then you have a limit to the amount of guns you can buy,whether it are first weapons or rifles... you can have more guns i thnk when youre are just in a shooting club (which to get into is easy as long as you never had a noticeable criminal incident in your record, is pretty easy, even tho you still need to shoot at least 1-2 years in that Club to be allowed to purchase your own guns (Guns are very heftility controlled here,harder than anywhere else in the World, but we, and especiallly the southern Germans (Bavarians and wannabe Germans like that ( Not Switzerland, because is its own country, they just do their stuff,are not even a member of the "Euro-Zone" and have much looser laws on weaponry, especially for inhabitants (the Soldiers are allowed and encouraged to take their Steyr Aug Assault Rifles home with them, and put it beneath the bed sometimes, even worser than Americans.) :D:laugh: i also heard, that Fullauto is by far not that problematic as it is in literally every country i know and have played in, besides Denmark, where the Laws are like they are supposed to be, people tune themselves mad, and really know whats going on in a Gearbox, unlike in Germany, where most people wont even touch their GB because they fear to break something.

    / Rant over,again open for exclusive and intelligent useful ghetto mods :D

    btw dr emulator nice golden bullet connectors ( i guess thats what is meant) are they 10 mm? still have a couple of this size i think
  18. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    it's a plug and socket :p but they are great for 12 volt equipment, we used to use them in britain for many years before they changed the electric mains 240volt sockets and plugs
    to a standard type (pictured) ae235.jpg

    before that apparently you had to use many types of adaptors to plug different things in such as radios (they needed 2 adaptors to work :wtf:) why ? well because they were 2amps they needed plugging into a 5 amp adaptor then the 5 amp needed plugging into a 13 amp:twitch: one bad thing about these 5 amp plugs is they Don't have fuses,so you have to put an in-line fuse in place

    anyways here's my ghetto mod :shadedshu


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    yes i have a few external drives :laugh::D
    Velvet Wafer and de.das.dude say thanks.
  19. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    480
    That looks far too professional to be ghetto :p good job :toast:
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  20. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    not ghetto enuf!!!!!!!!
  21. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,838 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,124
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    :shadedshu:banghead:
  22. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    de.das.dude and [Ion] say thanks.
  23. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    [​IMG]
    The fan blowing on the GPUs is attached with a twisty-tie from a bag of bread, and I have a PCI slot fan without the metal bracket sitting on the top card blowing air over the motherboard :toast:
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,564 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    is that pretty safe for pci fan sitting there? im kinda afraid it would short circuit something on your vga card
  25. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I think it's OK. I removed the metal bracket, and other than that it's just plastic. I can't see how it would harm anything :confused:
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page