1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ghetto Mods

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by Nitro-Max, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,399 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,093
    Another old trick is pantyhose.
  2. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,582 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    but pantyhose will trap some dust on that, i just want to make it clean from outside and no need to take off or clean regularly
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,501 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    i have found the best trick to get an industrial blower. and leave everything alone XD
  4. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,825 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    [​IMG]

    Speaker wire brassiere for sagging GPU
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  5. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,582 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    duh.. looks pretty tight
    is that ok?
  6. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,825 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888

    Yeah when the case is horizontal they exert no pull. I have it carefully set up. I put a level on it it and its pretty much horizontal, its not pulling it vertically, just hanging it where it should be. The photo was taken to show the ram in the slots, so the angle makes it look like I'm torquing out my PCIE slot. I used Zip ties inside the open load bearing/grounded holes of the GPU's leading edge then the speaker wire is double half hitched with a zip tie on the end. They go through some holes in the case roof and are tied together above.

    I tried twine, zip tie loops, fishing line, etc. Overall, this is the best solution I've found because the wire is in an insulator so its all the strength of a metal solution without any conductivity that could damage the graphics card. I can't prop up the card with a pencil etc because the gigabyte windforce cooler doesn't have any area where I could safely do so, its very contoured and has lots of spinning fan thingies ;)




    I've used aluminum foil plus blue painters tape to block off the bottom of cases where I don't run downfiring power supplies etc. Also used acrylic sheets to block fan holes. Thats not very ghetto though.
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2013
    micropage7 says thanks.
  7. LaMokona

    LaMokona

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    40 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    20130402203140.jpg 20130402203213.jpg
    Needed a case for the living room but didn't have any money. I did however, have boxes. The living room PC now sits in an actual case but I kept this just in case.
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  8. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,582 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    looks good with wood and cardboard
  9. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    So my Asus GTX460 got really loud the last few months, way louder than the R9 290 and it realllly got my nerves then today the fan failed and I couldn't find a replacement so came up with this

    [​IMG]
    superglued the fans together then tied them to the heatsink, had to glue 2 more pieces of plastic on the sides because there were 2 gaps on the side of the heatsink.

    temps dropped 10C vs stock fan at 100% at 1.2V and is nearly silent.:pimp:

    still need to rewire the fans to use the gpu fan header though.
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2013
    jgunning, Norton, SaiZo and 1 other person say thanks.
  10. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,379 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Would them fans draw more then the stock gpu and cause some damage? Got a similar set up on my stock 4850 and wanted to do the same with the stock header. But never did for that reason.
  11. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    didn't rewire them yet, I tested it though and it worked from the header fine for both but am still using molex, damage, not sure, the stock fan pulls .38A max and the 2 new fans pull .15A max each
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2013
    Vario and xvi say thanks.
  12. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Broke the fans on my 7870 Tahiti. Used one of those 2x80mm fan Vantec pci slot fans I had laying around and zip tied it. Took off the pci bracket. Works far better than stock. I just wish the heatsink was bigger. All together is 2.5slots.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Chevalr1c, xvi, KainXS and 1 other person say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,582 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    wow nice and the fan size match perfectly
    and glad it works nicely
    james888 says thanks.
  14. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,582 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    my wireless adapter got pretty hot, and i put a coin as heatsink
    it just worked for several days before its dead

    Attached Files:

  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,501 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    thats weird, i use one and mine does not get hot at all.
  16. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,582 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah i dunno, first i guess it lack of fresh air since its really hot. hotter than my board chipset
    adding the coin and it worked for couple days before it refused to connect at all
  17. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,501 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    [​IMG]

    this is my wifi mod. increases range but not penetration depth. 4 walls of reinforced concrete is too much lol.
    Chevalr1c, james888 and micropage7 say thanks.
  18. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,582 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    cool, spring antenna
    and glad it works well
  19. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,501 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    it not a spring antenna, its a normal antenna, if u dissect ythe ones you get you will find the same thing.
  20. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,582 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i think you put wire from somewhere and make it spring then attach to your wireless
  21. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,501 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    no this is proper antenna wire. this wire is used to make antennas for radios, since my dad was into making radios, there is a lot of this stuff left.
    the wire itself is more than 20years older than me :) but copper is copper :)

    if you look closely you will see that the wire is insulated by cotton threads since at that time plastic insulation was not good and flexible enough. :D

    and its not just any spring. Had to turn it by exactly 7 coils.
    for wifi it should be multiples of 3.5.

    for radio its multiples of 2.5 :)
    _JP_ and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  22. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,683 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,835
    Location:
    Oregon
    When making antennas the length on the wire is related to the frequency which is related to what channel your on. There is probably a Wiki about it. So if you got it exactly the correct length it would improve the performance over stock antenna as they are made for a range of frequencies
  23. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,501 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    true. i followed a tutorial.
    Jetster says thanks.
  24. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,399 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,093
    A bit anal here, but it's the number of turns, and not the lenght as such. Well lenght too as the turns can't be too big, but still.
  25. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg 4.jpg 5.jpg 6.jpg

    Ok, so remember when I asked how to create my own 2 molex to a 6 pin PCI-E cable?
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t...lex-to-6-pin-pci-e-cable.193587/#post-3008019

    Well, this is what it was for. This is a system running dual power supply units, built it for my stepson..
    The first picture shows the PSU that is running the graphics card (GTS 250, my old card), the second picture shows both the first and secondary PSU - secondary for graphics.

    The third picture shows where all the wires go, I had to use my Dremel to make a hole on the top of the case for the cables, soldered correct cables to my own home made adaptor (female and male molex plugs), so if I ever need to do something - I can always disconnect the secondary PSU from the entire system.

    The fourth picture is showing the cables from secondary PSU that are needed to start it at the same time as the primary PSU (green and black cables). Used a shrink tube to keep them safe.

    The fifth picture, a bit dark and can't see much - shows the GTS 250 in all its glory connected to the PCI-E cable that is soldered to secondary PSUs cables, the sixth picture shows the cables.

    And it works..

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page