1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ghetto Mods

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by Nitro-Max, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,516 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    756
    I sense a little sarcasm here so i'll explain again why i did this mod... the amp cuts off at random when you increase the volume (therefor the load on the amp) due to an overheating issue. I found out that its probably due to a cap or two leaking. adding the heatsinks has helped a little but it still cuts off at higher volume. Probably time to just get a new setup really.

    nice to see such sarcasm after spending a couple weeks in the hospital /sarcasm
     
  2. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    974 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Location:
    Canada

    That the face I don't want to see over my shoulder when I'm watching p_orn....creepy bastard! :p
     
    Misaki says thanks.
  3. JUSTIN1982

    JUSTIN1982

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  4. JUSTIN1982

    JUSTIN1982

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/3742827620.png could u look at that and tell me what i need to do to get my ping down to your ping please
     
  5. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,307 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    Czech republic
  6. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,022 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,165
    Location:
    Pune
    less chatter more mods.
     
  7. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,868 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,672
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    not really ghetto, since my old mouse sensor turn off and on again and again and again
    i decide to make it as emergency lamp
    just remove the case and wrap it with clear plastic to prevent any short circuit and done
    i use cable from old utp cable too:D:D
    Untitled-11.jpg Untitled-1.jpg
    so far it works pretty well
     
  8. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,868 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,672
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Untitled-1.jpg
    i forgot to show you, this is how i hold those cables
    yeah i use old ribbon, if you say its yellow and doesnt match at all its ok for me as long as it works well

    and if you take a look closer there many many that DIY made :D:D:D
     
  9. mon74

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    174 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Ensenada, Mexico
    The stock fan of my old zalman VF-700 died, couldn't find a proper replacement, so some hacking and cutting later, a shiny black P4 fan with epoxic glue fit the bill :D, it now flows downguard, but the little 4670 stays cool.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,868 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,672
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    using utp cables to hold it
    and just tie it to electric cable
    Untitled-1.jpg
     
  11. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,675 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,433
    Doesn't that cause interference from the AC lines?
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  12. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,022 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,165
    Location:
    Pune
    i think it does. i moved mine away from some and it gives quite a better range.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  13. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,868 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,672
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i guess yeah but its just for a room about 6 x 9 m, so it wouldnt affect much
     
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  14. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,119 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    579
    You'll surprised at what it affects being that close to an source of interference it wont just be the wireless either
     
  15. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,868 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,672
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i just think to move it to other position, but now i use that position
     
  16. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    974 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Location:
    Canada
    Use a wave amplifier of 1.8 gigawatts !!
     
  17. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,868 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,672
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    ooh yeah, my new internet cable (actually not new, i just connect 2 old utp cables, wrap it by using brochure and some clear tape and done
    it workkss....
    Untitled-1.jpg
     
    Norton and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  18. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,144 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    I used a small square cut from a sheet of roof flashing (sheet metal) and thermal paste on both sides. It works pretty well for this if you need to try something better. Worked better than thermal tape for me.
     
  19. FIXED I.T.

    FIXED I.T.

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Melbourne , Australia
    Sorry ,but I have to disagree with you . I know your argument is valid in some circumstances , but when it comes to laptop problems with ball grid array (bga) then I have to say something . The problem with bga talking from personal experience is that laptops flex too much and that is what works the chips off the boards .
    It is well known that the t40 - t51 ibm thinkpads had a big problem with the gpu chip lifting off the mb .
    The testing proved 100% it was flexing in the chassis of the laptop that caused the problem .
    Testing was done at the same time on other makes , and you named all of them ,plus there are some more .
    Google is your friend .
     
  20. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,334 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Location:
    Rochester area
    nope its the PCB that's flexing from the thermal stress not the chassis it may be the way the board is mounted to the chassis that`s a contributing factor but the PCB is whats doing the flexing not the chassis and the GPU isn't lifting so much as the solder is failing
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  21. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,022 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,165
    Location:
    Pune
    you dont need google if you have real knowledge.
    its always thermal flexing not a laptop flexing. seriously, have you even tried to bend a laptop? their chassis have ribs to prevent any flexing.
    one moar is right on this one.
     
    FIXED I.T. says thanks.
  22. FIXED I.T.

    FIXED I.T.

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Melbourne , Australia
    You are 100% correct , you do have to have real knowledge .
    Having made and tested parts for NASA and other Space
    agencies , and the RAAF , and 30 years of playing around
    with computers ,and 50 years with electronics including
    valve radio , plus teaching ,you are correct .
    By the way , laptop chassis still flex with ribs in them , even under
    their own weight . It might not be much but they still flex .
    My job at the Uni was testing to destruction and fault finding
    and seriously , yes I'm serious .
     
  23. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,334 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Location:
    Rochester area
    don't care you are still wrong the thermal stress is what causes the problem particularly on early lead-free -solder early types of lead-free solder where prone to cracking and simply bad joints this was exasperated by the higher temps present on high-end laptops of that era particularly nforce chipsets circa 2006 to 2008 witch at that point the industry shifted to a better form of lead free solder Which lessened occurrences of the problem
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2014
    FIXED I.T. says thanks.
  24. FIXED I.T.

    FIXED I.T.

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Melbourne , Australia
    Yes you are exactly right , and I do care that you are right .
    Annoying isn't it , having to be right . You have missed the point
    We are both right , and , I retract what I said about being wrong .
    You were right , and so was I .
    Having to be right all the time isn't what forums are about .
     
  25. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,022 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,165
    Location:
    Pune
    last time i checked, laptops were not made from polyethylene...

    what ever the flex there is, it negligible enough to be ignored.

    btw, working for nasa, or 50years in electronics doesnt mean shit. unless you worked as a laptop repairer, your experience is as useful as that of a historian.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page