1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ghostbusters PC Runs Terrible On AMD CPUs!!!

Discussion in 'Games' started by Robert-The-Rambler, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. Robert-The-Rambler

    Robert-The-Rambler

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    646 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Bay Shore NY
    Now I've tried some pretty good stuff and a Phenom II 920 @ 2.8ghz simply stutters like hell. That stuttering happens with 3 Radeon 4850 1 gig in triple crossfire. A Phenom 9600 also with 3 4850 512 meg stutters like hell with the TLB patch disabled. the game is obviously multi threaded. I'm using Vista 64 bit and 32 bit. It is exactly the same across platforms.

    My only setups capable of running the game at 60 frames per second are my I7 920 based rigs. One has a 4870 512 meg crossfired with 2 Radeon 4850 512 meg. The game seems to be optimized heavily for the I7 as the dumb I7 advertisement appears when the game starts but something doesn't seem right here. I don't have this problem in anything else. Sure the I7 920s are way faster than the AMD gear but I've never really run into unplayable performance due to the "slower" AMD hardware. I can play the game on the AMD setups if I lock the FPS at only 30fps. But to have to do that is a joke at 1920 * 1200 or 1080p with 3 gigaflop graphics capability.

    Any ideas? Is this just another poorly coded game that needs monster power to view the jaggy textures. Don't get me wrong. I love the game but it does not look as good as it performs.

    With one of my I7 920 rigs I can play with 4 3870s way faster than the Phenom II with 3 4850s in Ghostbusters. It just doesn't make sense. :mad:
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,138 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,586
    Wierd. I get no problems on my AMD rig, though I would narrow down the problems to some sort of memory configuration.
  3. Robert-The-Rambler

    Robert-The-Rambler

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    646 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Bay Shore NY
    I'm using DDR2 800 and DDR2 1066

    My 64 bit setup has 8 gigs of DDR2 800 RAM with the Phenom II 920 and the Phenom 9600 has 4 gigs of DDR 1066 RAM in Vista 32 bit.

    I really don't know what is happening. Smooth as butter on I7. Terrible on all my AMD stuff. I love having Steam. It makes it easier to test and troubleshoot this stuff but this one has me stumped. I wonder if it is a crossfire bug with AMD CPUS. That might explain the way the FPS go up and down all over the place just driving you insane. You turn to look around and watching FRAPS your FPS go up to 45 then down to 20 in an instant and you have major trouble aiming at the damn ghosts.
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,454 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    Runs good for me too. Maybe CF issue ?.
  5. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    That's my guess, OP try it with only 2 cards, or even a single card.

    This is stolen from [H] Forums
    Maybe give it a shot.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page