1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ghz ?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Desert Eagle, Feb 11, 2012.

1. Desert Eagle

Desert Eagle New Member

Thanks Received:
    I've looked around a bit here and I may have missed it, but why are we so locked down on GPU GHZ? I know from the overclockers that heat is the enemy and depending on how far you want to up the GHZ it can get very expensive to dissipate that heat away. I know also that with a die shrink you can count on improved efficiency and less heat for the same performance as the last generation.
    My question is this. Would it be possible to die shrink a GPU and keep the same number of transistors but spread them out over the size of the last generation GPU to offer a greater area of heat dissipation?
    I'm not an engineer and I'm sure that my simple idea has been passed over for good reason but I wonder about this.
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

Thanks Received:
    OR they could work on efficiency and with efficiency crank the clockspeed at the same time.
  3. _JP_

_JP_

Thanks Received:
    Well, it has already been done. Not exactly how you said it. The best example is the G92 core. Decreasing the photolithography process but keeping die size doesn't help/improve heat dissipation that much. Also die shrinks means less die space (obviously), thus more chips can be made out of the same wafer, thus keeping a balance in manufacturing costs.
    I'm sure I'm missing some key points here, but I guess it's covered.
  4. slyfox2151

slyfox2151

Thanks Received:
    wouldn't that incress latency?
  5. Desert Eagle

Desert Eagle New Member

Thanks Received: