1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabit Switch dead? /w video

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by bpgt64, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Could be the adapter. Get out your multimeter.
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  3. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    You mean the power adapter?
     
  4. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,454 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Yup, check the power adapter. Was the problem for me once with a cable modem.

    If it doesn't void warranty can also open 'er up and check if any of the caps are bulging.
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  5. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I found a similar adapter, well its not a traditional Dlink adapter but one I used for an external HD with the same end plug...But the original was only a 5V--2A, this one is 12V--2.5A...is that gonna burn up the device? It's working now with the new adapter...btw.
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,483 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    you can go to higher amperage, but you cannot use a different voltage. do not use that power adaptor.
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  7. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Wuts gonna happen...its working right now..? lol...I think i have a spare Dlink adapter around here somewhere with the right settings...just gotta find one.
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,483 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    it will likely burn out. possibility of fire.
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  9. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    The stupid thing is I have several adapters that fit and work, but there 12V adapters.
     
  10. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Timetravel and world dominitation. If my knownodegde is requireded ask me tomorrow.
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  11. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    So I am thinking I need to replace it then...
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,483 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    yup. you know the device works, so dont risk it with a 'bad' power brick.
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  13. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Thinking I am gonna use it for now, worst it could do is burn out the device, which I am already going to have to replace tomorrow morning.
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,483 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    worst it could do is burn out the device, burn out all network devices connected to it (power surge through the ethernet cables) and start a fire while you're asleep.
     
  15. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    ok, so I won't leave it plugged in?
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,483 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    that, is a good plan
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  17. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Actually I have a POS trend-net wireless router I use as a access point for my pfsense box...I have our main computers tapped into that...looks like I am heading to Microcenter in the morning...or Frys..
     
  18. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,483 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    5v to 7.5v is borderline acceptable - its within the margin of error, so it'd work fine. These things arent that precise with voltage (and a little higher is better than a little lower)


    5v to 12v however, is over double... it'd run, but it'd run very very hot
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  20. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    interesting...
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,483 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    i tested various power packs in years gone by with a multimeter, and while most of them were fairly close, lots werent. They'd say they were 5V, but they'd output 6V (and it'd drop under load on the device) - so obviously there is some leniency built in.

    I had a powerpack with a switch that let me change what voltage it output (3v upto 12V) and most devices ran on voltages higher than what they were designed, but rarely lower. However, i did notice they'd get hotter and hotter with higher voltages (eventually leading them to burn out, if left on 12V)
     
  22. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Makes sense...I have every port tapped on my 8 port gigabit switch, might be time to invest in a 16 port....
     
  23. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page