1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

gigabyte 7970oc fps drop

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by rhc1690, Mar 30, 2013.

  1. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have a few games fc3, ac3, crysis 3 and now bioshock 3 where i can pretty much max out games at 60fps however every now and then the frames drop to mid 30s and climb back up to 60 which gets annoying after a while.

    anyone have any idea what may be causing this???
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    Vsync. Turn it off.
  3. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,613 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    +1 for vsync off and use catalyst 13.3 beta 3 it improves performance quite alot for bioshock infinite.
  4. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i installed 13.3 yesterday also i get the same problem with vsync on or off
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Is the card throttling?


    I suspect this, can be fixed by slightly increasing the Power Tune limits in CCC, assuming you've left them alone.
  6. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    dont think so i reduced the core to 1100 and mem to 1500 with the +20 power thing
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I'd leave GPU-Z running in the background for a while, and the next time you notice the problem, check to see if anything unusual is happening there. If everything seems fine, try a different driver.

    Shouldn't need to touch Power Tune until you see throttle, try setting it to 0 %. You should only set it just as high as needed, too, setting too high has it's own problems.
  8. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    when i have gpu z running what should i be looking for when the frames drop??? does it log things like that
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    Do your FPS ever go above 60?
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    There is a checkbox at the bottom of the GPU-Z sensor page to have it update when it's in the background. You can also have it log to a file, but I don't think that's needed for this sort of testing.

    Clocks should stay even, temperatures and voltages at reasonable levels too...when you notice the drops in performance, assuming it's not something that is performance-related, and not hardware related, then you can look at software(which is most likely).

    It could be other software you have running in the background, too, open browser windows, other apps, etc.
  11. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes when i have v-sync off. in bioshock i get 140-150fps as 99%gpu usage however i normally put vsync on to save stressing the card at full usage and hopefully prolong life of the card
  12. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    gpu temp never goes above 42c and both gpu vrms stay at 39-40 so dont think its temp problem.
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    If V-sync is enabled, anything that makes the FPS drop below 60 will make it go down to 30 FPS, and then back up to 60 FPS only when the performance allows 60FPS+.

    THat's the point they're trying to make with mentioning v-sync.



    Temps aren't an issue, but clocks and voltages can be. You can measure throttle as a function of lower temperatures as well, it will still hit a point and then the issue will start. Or, it could simply be a thing with poor TIM spread that is not noticed by those sensors. That's why the other information provided, clocks and voltages when it happens, matters. There are many different VRM bits, but only one or two reported temperatures...so even VRM temperatures just reports a rather useless number in some aspects.
  14. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    right got u so basically if i have vsync on then any drop below 59 will automatically drop it down to 30fps untill it recovers enough to go back upto 60???

    my card is at stock volts do u think i should set everyting back to stock and see if i have the same problems??? should rule out ( or in ) voltage problems
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    No, if you have V-sync enabled, then try without V-sync, and you'll not get those drops. 7970 is capable of playing pretty much any title right now with very reasonable FPS. You shouldn't need to worry about the card itself, if it's going to have an issue, it's got a warranty that covers that, since that's what these cards are built to do.
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    Unless they're running at a very high resolution or multi-monitor, but we don't know since no system specs are posted. :ohwell:
  17. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok running an fx 8350-sabertooth 990fx R1-8gb g skill 1600 ram- all ran on a 26" hdtv
  18. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    also i dont think there is anything wrong with the card as it plays all my other games fine with no drops in fps, i assumed that it was probably needing a driver update however games like fc3 i aint played for months after completing them and not went back to check if they now run smoother than when i was actually playing them

    so basically when playing games play with v-sync off should hopefully eliminate fps drops
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    Perhaps it is happening when your HDD is accessed? What kind of hard drive are you using?
  20. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    at this moment im using a samsung 7200rpm sata hd i initially though that it may well be the hard drive running slow and an ssd is my next buy after i have sorted out the psu and got my compression fittings
  21. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,029 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Are you sure those temps are right? As stated use gpu-z to log or just have a look at the gpu usage throughout. Possibly where it dips you see the gpu usage drop etc. It is worth a try.



    GPU Temperature Comparison
    Idle Load
    HIS HD 7970 X Turbo 34°C 68°C
    ASUS HD 7970 Matrix 39°C 70°C
    Sapphire HD 7970 Toxic 36°C 71°C
    Gigabyte HD 7970 SOC 46°C 85°C
    MSI HD 7970 Lightning 39°C 76°C
    AMD HD 7970 GHz 40°C 83°C
  22. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah temps r def right i use the osd to monitor them all the time
  23. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,029 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Use gpu-z to measure gpu usage. When the gpu isnt being fully utilised the temps are very low, such as this case...
  24. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my gpu usage with v sync of is anywhere between 86% and 99% ingame constantly never drops below that

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page