1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte Announces GA-890GPA-UD3H Motherboard, Packs AMD 890GX Chipset

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,864 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    GIGABYTE TECHNOLOGY Co., Ltd, a leading manufacturer of motherboards, graphics cards and other computing hardware solutions today proudly launched their latest AMD AM3 Socket GA-890GPA-UD3H motherboard, delivering loads of performance enhancing bandwidth for applications such as high end gaming and high speed data transfer on systems featuring new AMD 6 core CPUs.

    The first motherboard featuring the AMD 890GX chipset paired with the all new SB850 South Bridge, the GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H offers the industry's first native support for Serial ATA 6Gbps for up to 6 devices. The AMD SB850 also offers the industry’s first Serial ATA 6 Gbps RAID support, allowing users to configure RAID 0,1,5 and 10 for maximum data performance or enhanced data backup. Also equipped with GIGABYTE 3x USB Power Boost and USB 3.0 support by utilizing the industry-leading NEC controller, the GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H ensures users are ready to take advantage the next wave of high speed data transfer and storage technologies.

    [​IMG]

    "Giving users power over their high definition content is really at the heart of what the GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H is all about," commented Tim Handley, Deputy Director of Motherboard Marketing at GIGABYTE Technology Co. Ltd. "Not only does the GA-890GPA-UD3H deliver the industry's highest performing integrated graphics solution with flawless HD video playback, but enabling SATA 6 Gbps with RAID functionality, USB 3.0 support and GIGABYTE 3x Power Boost means that users are able to spend less time waiting for their content to transfer, and more time to actually enjoy it."

    The GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H also features the integrated ATI Radeon HD 4290 IGP (Integrated Graphics Processor) with DirectX 10.1 support and 128M DDR3 sideport memory, allowing for easy overclock of the default 700MHz GPU clock up to 1150MHz for a 3DMark06 score of 3300 or above, which is 18% higher than the previous generation AMD 790GX chipset and higher than any other IGP platform. The graphics potential of the board is further extended with the addition of two PCI-E 2.0 x16 graphics slots, allowing users to run ATI CrossFireX (running at x8,x8), or a single card at x16 including the next generation DirectX 11 graphics cards for some ATI Hybrid CrossFireX action, providing an enhanced level of gaming performance, productivity and platform power efficiency.

    For more information, please visit this page.
     
    Kei and TIGR say thanks.
  2. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    SATA 6Gbps aside, is the RAID performance likely to be any better with SB850 (just thinking AMD RAID in general and wondering if they've made any improvements).
     
  3. runnin17

    runnin17 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    386 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Hmmm, might have to seriously look into AMD for a new server build
     
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Im loving the new 890GX parts. I may have to grab one of these and an 890FX when it comes (oh the irony)
     
  5. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,454 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I really hope so. SB750 RAID-5 arrays on my 790GX boards were way behind in performance compared to my Intel boards with ICH9R and ICH10R.

    With the FIS-based port multiplier support the SB8xx are rumored to have, along with the 6Gb/s support we know they have, I'd build a storage server based on it if the performance is decent. (though if it isn't, but does have port multiplier support, software RAID is an option I'd entertain).
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2010
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    marketing crap aside, i likey. my next system is likely to be AM3, and this fits the bill nicely.
     
  7. zub New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    GA_890GPA-UD3H not very happy

    I just got the GA_890GPA-UD3H to replace an Asus M4a78t-e, I didn't do a reinstall of xp sp3 just installed the drivers that came with it had a lot of issues, winamp was struggling to play an mp3, boot time was dismal, I then downloaded the latest Catalyst drivers from AMD and its a bit better, its pretty stable but performance is not good at present, my config is PHenom 955, 2 x 2gb Patriot DDR3 1600mhz running at 1333mhz, super flower 550watt power supply, it doesn't have the 8 pin aux power connector but works with the 4 pin, Compro T300 TV tuner and SB audigy 1tb seagate and 750gb samsung, bios all set to auto, if anyone can make recomendation on bios setting would really appreciate it. Hoping Gigabyte will release a new a new bios soon. Maybe I should get a new power supply and do a fresh install.

    PS: I have a HIS 4890 but I don't use it, it get to hot and is pretty noisey
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    try installing all the drivers, not just for the video card - and seriously, get off XP.
     
  9. zub New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I did a full install of the drivers, just don't understand why winamp is struggling, Do you thing a clean install will make a difference, I think a new bios is needed urgently. I have to admit in Win7 its is a bit better but still struggling, I'll see how Linux handles it.
    I was thinking maybe it the power management, it throttles between 800mhz and 3.2ghz so I turned it off and was running 3.2ghz but still the same.
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    a BIOS flash rarely affects performance.

    by clean install... you didnt move your hard drive between PC's and re-use the OS did you?
     
    zub says thanks.
  11. zub New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Like I said in the original post I took the asus board out and put the new gigabyte board in then went in in safe mode got rid of what I could then rebooted, inserted the driver disk and did a full install or the drivers, then went to the amd site and got the latest drivers. No I didn't do a fresh install of the OS, BTW thanks for your reply.
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    fresh install.


    never re-use an OS install.
     
  13. zub New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK I will do it and report back tomorrow, thanks again.
     
  14. zub New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Did a fresh install of XP sp3 on a 320gb disk I had lying around, installed all driver, but the problem is still there, some serious problems processing mp3s, might have to put the Asus board back in, what a stuff up I'm pissed of. I tried fiddling with the bios ram voltages and timings also upped the cpu voltage a bit but the problem is still there, no matter whether its running at 800mhz or 3.2ghz still the same, I have to admit it was really snappy with the new install, but audio is stuffed, I removed the SB audigy and tried to run with the realtek onboard sound still same problems, have to admit the SB audigy has great sound, even the sound coming out of the TV tuner is clipping, I wait and see what gigabyte come back with before putting the asus board back in, do you think it could be the power supply.
     
  15. ZuneNinja! New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If you aren't using your 4890, can I have it? I'm running on an old VisionTek 3870 board.

    PS: I just bought this motherboard too and am having problems with the Hybrid Crossfire. So I don't know what is up with this mobo...
     
  16. zub New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    did u do a clean install and how is it play mp3s any problems?
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    you mention a 3870 and hybrid crossfire... you arent trying to run those together are you?
     
  18. zub New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Mussles still having problems with this crappy board, I went and got a new power supply but the problem persists maybe I have a faulty unit, I must be a sucker for punishment...... anyway gigabyte came back and suggested taking the battery out for 10 mins didn't help, I think they need a new bios, its something to do with chipset timings.
     
  19. Non-Euclidean New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ack. I read about something very similar a couple days ago, and someone said the issue
    was undervoltage. The memory, I think. Confirm your voltage settings.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page