1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte Announces Support for Upcoming 45nm AMD AM3/AM2+ Processors

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,410 (11.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    GIGABYTE, a leading manufacturer of motherboards and graphics cards today is pleased to announce support for the soon-to-be-released AMD 45nm processors including socket AM3 and AM2+ on a full range of current platforms including the AMD 790FX, 790GX, 790X, 770, 780G, 740G as well as the NVIDIA nForce 750a SLI and GeForce 8200.

    With a simple BIOS upgrade, GIGABYTE delivers an easy upgrade path for users wanting to take advantage of AMD's latest 45nm process technology enhancements including higher core clocks with greater energy efficiency over past generations, integrated DDR2/DDR3 memory controller (DDR3 memory support for AM3 processors and AM3 designed motherboards only), HyperTransport 3.0 and C1E enhanced power savings.

    [​IMG]

    GIGABYTE has tested and verified the following products support AMD AM3 /AM2+ 45nm CPUs by upgrading to the BIOS version listed. To download the latest BIOS version for your board, please visit this page.

    [​IMG]


    Source: Gigabyte
  2. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,109 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    806
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Damn it. Biostar Please please......

    God please get into Biostar's Bios coders brain and help them release an update to take 45nm AMD CPUs. I will offer you a bribe:D

    Good news tho to Gigabyte board owners.
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2008
  3. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    unlike the a**holes at Asus Giga actually delivers support for Am3/Deneb on all their AM2+ boards. Glad to see it.
  4. wolf2009 Guest

    mee too !
  5. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,234 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Yay my motherboard will still work! i cant wait to get the new quads :)
  6. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Woohoo! I'll be looking at the Phenom II X3 black edition when it comes out early next year!
  7. vagxtr

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    180 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    wtf. should we be happy that we have to watch that amd (once again) in reality dropped release am2+ 45nm cpus just cause they have 2-in-1 mch on die and they sell us once again "useres should all migrate to YET ANOTHER CRAPPY SOCKET (am3) just to finance our (amd) money embezzlement so that they could become the ultimate :pimp:Mob, Inc.:pimp:"

    They're full of promises for people that eagerly spent too soon to much on never realized dreams, and yet there's never enough spice to keep that management pools on track with customers.:nutkick:

    I wanna see the REAL support of 45nm am2+ cpus from damn not just a few spuun offs that couldnt fulfill all the specs required for SF Opterons, and yet another bullshit that ddr3 migration is really needed and actually subventioned by damn's politics toward the end user :mad::mad::mad:
  8. Torg

    Torg New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    lol... that was just silly.
  9. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple

    i understand that you are upset about this and you do have a point but it seems to me that AMD are not the only ones to blame here. Originally we were promised that AM2 boards will support AM2+/AM3 CPUs with BIOS update. In case of AM3 they said DDR2 could be used. they never promised that AM2/AM2+ boards will support AM3 CPUs + DDR3 due to them having a different memory controller. However, when AM2+ Phenoms were launched only some AM2 boards offered Phenom support. This is the fault of the mobo manufacturers, IMO. I was screwed myself because i own a Gigabyte nforce590 and this was one of the few nforce Giga boards not supporting Phenom. Naturally i was pissed, Giga told me that it was impossible for this board to support the Phenom which i find difficult to beleive since their nforce570 works just fine and the fact that they didnt offer Phenom support for this high-end enthusiast board is simply outrageuos.

    So now comes AM2+ 45nm (Deneb)/AM3 and again end users are screwed by mobo manufacturers. There are no AM2 boards on the lists presented by Asus and Giga, which again goes counter to what AMD promised. Moreover, Asus totally f****d the owners of most of AM2+ boards, including their flagship M3A32-MVP Deluxe, by not offering support for Deneb/AM3. In fact only a handful of boards are supported, none of the SB600 boards are there also. This is why i gave props to Giga, even though they screwed me in the past, now at least the offer support for the new CPUs on all their AM2+ boards. So bottom line is, both AMD and their Taiwanese buddies are to blame here.
    suraswami says thanks.
  10. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,109 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    806
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Thats absolutely true. I guess the mobo manufacturers scrwed AMD over by not preparing the boards properly to give a proper update.

    Actually Gigabyte and Asus are fore runners is giving bios updates on most of their models to support new cpus. Others just release new boards based on the same chipset, I guess its easier to build a new product than to write a bios update especially ECS, famous for those retarted Bios writers they have, they fu...g scrwed me on their stupid black edition board, u update the new bios they take away CPU voltage adjustments, then what good is that Black board for?
  11. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    yes, they are usually good, i'm hoping that Asus will correct this oversight, otherwise there will be a lot of pissed off people out there. If Giga can do it so can they.
  12. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    thats what i was thinking :p
  13. chaotic_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    685 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    gigabyte need to update their site , the newest it says my mobo supports is the athlon 6500 on f7f bios . no mention of the newer cpu's/phenom II
  14. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    See even Gigabyte is going to give SLi support.

    ASUS they must be holding out for a bigger press release day.....
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,126 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    nice. my new media board is on that list.
  16. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    agree 100% with you my friend im so happy for this , cuz you don't need to change cpu and ram cuz you want to change you mobo , hey intel see this what amd doing to still support old product's
  17. Disruptor4

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    227 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Isn't the 790FX meant to be better than the 790GX? Also isn't the 790FX meant to have SB750 or at least SB700?

    Also, will they be releasing new boards for these CPU's?
  18. vagxtr

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    180 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    im not upset i'm furious cause damn create so much bullshit that even reCyco plants Gen.9 (now we're on G4 afaik) wouldnt have enough capacity to clean that up :D

    Unfortunately i know what am3 stands for "yet another mobo model that now supports ddr3" :nutkick: so in fact the all new socket since s462 should be abbreviated this way "YAMMtnsD3".

    The problem doesn't lie under chipset itself (well in the case nF4/nf5/nf(quasi)6 it does) cause nVidia couldn't and didnt want to predict the way the cpu will be developed, but as we saw since 130nm-90nm-65nm transitions mostly the blame didnt lie in chipsets cause they all could support the new features xept nf3/4 doesnt support AMD Pacifica (aka HyperV). But as we all could see amd690g and new nf 520/560 series could support new K8L aka Phenoms w/o problems except separate power planes and newely HT rate (well most of them support HT 3200 thru OCing eve nF4 could reach that and then again nf550/nf570 have some serious issues, maybe caused by the manufaturers flawkyness :confused:).

    Back to am3/2+ ... OMG i cant believe that some hw freaks still doesnt know well that's been suspected even before PII that on 45nm is easily reachable to have 4ch memory controller (thru Bulldozer slides that should see the light of the dawn @45nm) so they can easily manage on what market they'll place their so expected cpus. But as damn become producer of their own chipsets, since they crunched ATi bone, and wanna make some market cap, like intel was doing the whole 5 yrs back since they didn't have integrated mch on cpu die, and now thru ugly licencing scheme of their holly CSI (crime scene reinvented). Well it's lucrative business unfortunately. So we in the end will be screwed once again since amd wanna sel more boards and whats best for early adopters than amd's chipsets since nvidia needs to figure out whats new (if any in this cpu revision)

    So in the end i'm whooping about is that they dont have sence to utilise their 45nm cores on both markets since it's all the same and all cores have 2ch ddr2 + 2ch ddr3 capable of gangbang and unganged mode. So all they should have a reason to place chips on both market emerging ddr3 and not so lucrative ddr2 but that will still pull some profit especialy if they place same chips under same price.

    In the end story goes that f*cking damn want to double up their crappy chipset bussines and place as many 890fx/850g chipsets all under the mask that they want to make seamless transfor to Bulldozer core. OMG that's totaly different architecture and guess again the new chipstes will be needed no matter that it'll work with ddr3 also. Yeah maybe they'll be somwhat compatible like core2 on 945 chipsets but that's crap and anyone who knows that from first hand wouldnt repeat it with amd once again. anywhay whenewer bulldozer came if any of those fancy last year's slides were true it will be a major jump not just HT & power planes enhancement like Phenoms and they try to sell us a fake beliefs that we need am3 to eary adopt Bully-core.

    Reasons for am3:
    1. populate market with as many chipsets as they could
    2. cut down chips from Shangai servers chips w/ L3 to cheap (not to buyers cheap to produce :p) rana (it mean wound :eek:) & heka
    3. cut down htpc mobo cost removing sideport memory that now it's needed for integrated gaming :laugh: and of coure enabling costly chipset to populate that differece
    4. sell more chipsets year after

    well if they offer cut down 50% in cost when i bring back my old mobo i might close up one ye but this is ludacris except considering the fact that in the next 12month we could coose good system w/ 4gb of ultra expensive ddr3 or extremely valuable system w/ 16gb of ddr2-800 for the same money that we need for only 4gb ... ultimate gaming??? well afaik games and whol system works better on much more lower latency ram than on quarter of high latency ram that hardly goes up to ddr3-2000MHz w/ cl9 while cl5 ddr2-1000MHz is reachable with most valuable rams w/ 4 sticks populated (well not in intels world but hank god yes in amds)
  19. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Looks like Gigabyte has just released the new BIOSes for us with SB600. Here is the one for the 790fx-ds5. They've also added the "AM3 CPU Ready" sticker seen on the OP to the motherboard page on their site. Go Gigabyte!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page