1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GigaByte DS3/Ds4/DQ6 CPU Fan Control

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Sasqui, Nov 11, 2006.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I know this is a long shot, but I now have a DQ6 and E6600. I'm raising my FSB 10Mhz at a time, and now up to 370 (3.33 Ghz) w/o a hiccup.

    I'm running Prime95 and SuperPi (32M) concurrently (till SuperPi completes) for each stress level.

    My CPU is just starting to creep into the 60s at 370 with stock HS anf fan under that load. Chipset is fine at 30c. The Gigabyte S/W fan control is disabled (for some reason!), and the fan is only running at 1800 RPM max - I think the 100% is around 2400 RPM.

    Tried Speedfan, no luck there.

    So the question is - why would the Gigbyte fan control be disabled? I have the fan control method set to Auto/Auto in BIOS. I'd like it to run at full thottle above 60c.

    Any insights? I have BIOS F5 (not quite the latest). And BTW, I LOVE THIS BOARD (so far).
  2. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Bump (the only one) - has anyone used the CPU Fan control software on the DS or DQ series?

    I'm putting the CPU under water in the next few days, so I guess by then, it won't matter anyway :)
  3. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    check hardware monitor in the bios... you may have to do some configurations there.
  4. b1lk1

    b1lk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    688 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You have to set it in bios to run 100%. It is under health monitoring section. You won't get much better temps with the stock HSF though. You really need to upgrade it for overclocking.
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Damn if I could find anything, other than the Fan speed control method, and Fan speed monitoring method (both set to Auto).
  6. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    what other option is available other than "auto" in fan speed?
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Thanks - how are you liking your DQ6? It'll all be in a Koolance case within a week... (I'm moving my old system out first)

    I was actually impressed with the stock HS, solid copper core and face, well lapped bottom, just scraping 60s with that kind of load and OC I thought wasn't bad. Stayed around 50c at stock speed.
  8. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Now it makes sense - I guess I should read the manual :rolleyes:

    I wonder if the software will allow control, if I set it to "Legacy"???

    FAN Speed Control Method:
    Auto BIOS sets the optimal fan speed automatically. (Default value)
    Intel(R) QST Control the fan speed with IntelĀ® QST (IntelĀ® Quiet System Technology).
    Legacy CPU fan runs at different speed depending on CPU temperature.
    Disable CPU fan runs at full speed.

    FAN Speed Control Mode:
    Auto BIOS autodetects the type of CPU fan you installed and sets the optimal fan
    speed control mode for it. (Default value)
    Voltage Set to Voltage when you use a CPU fan with a 3-pin fan power cable.
    PWM Set to PWM when you use a CPU fan with a 4-pin fan power cable.
    Note: In fact, the Voltage option can be used for CPU fans with 3-pin or 4-pin power cables.
    However, some 4-pin CPU fan power cables are not designed following Intel 4-Wire fans PWM
    control specifications. With such CPU fans, selecting PWM will not effectively reduce the fan
    speed.
  9. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    my guessing is that if you do legacy, you can use speed fan then.
  10. Don__1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    94 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK, Near the middle..............
    DS4 and CPU fan speed.

    Noticed that the CPU fan only runs at 50% if the bios fan control is set to anything other than disabled.

    If Easytune is configured to run the fan at full speed in the Smart Fan page then the fan still only runs at 50% on boot up until Easytune is first run.

    Speedfan when set to 100% for the CPU fan speed only runs the fan at 50% of it's full speed.

    Setting Legacy and PWM in the bios runs the fan at 50%.

    Either turning off the fan speed control in bios or setting Easytune Smart Fan feature to 100% at all temps(or your desired temp) and actually running Easytune at bootup seems to be the only way to get a true 100% fan speed.

    100% fan speed on my Intel stock fan is 1685.
  11. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    plzdo a bios update either downgrade to a version where fan speed is working or upgrade to a version where fan speed is working

    atm iam on f4 due to the fact that only in this version my fans are setup rightly

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page