1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 5, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,416 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    At the ongoing CeBIT event, Gigabyte showed off its latest offer of motherboards including an interesting one based on AMD's upcoming 890FX chipset. Made for socket AM3 processors from AMD, the GA-890FXA-UD5 is based on the AMD 890FX chipset with SB850 southbridge. It expands a little on the chipset's features. The CPU is powered by a 10-phase VRM. It is wired to four DDR3 memory slots that are powered by a 2-phase VRM. The AMD 890FX drives four PCI-Express 2.0 x16 slots (electrical x8 when all are populated, x16 on alternate slots otherwise). There are two PCI-E x1 and one PCI. All six of the SATA 6 Gb/s ports from the southbridge are internal, while an additional GSATA2 controller gives out two SATA 3 Gb/s ports, and drives the IDE connector. Connectivity options include 8+2 channel audio with Dolby Home Theater, two gigabit Ethernet interfaces, FireWire, and two USB 3.0 ports, apart from a number of USB 2.0 ports. The board is expected to release later next month.

    [​IMG]

    Source: PC Watch
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2010
  2. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,824 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    i still hate the memory lay out should go blue, white, blue, white for those rams that are to big to by each other
  3. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    I like it...especially the dual lan, but I think my next board will be a Crosshair IV instead.
  4. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,744 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    woot they should have put a Marvell SATA 6Gbps controller instead of a JMicron SATA 3Gbps Controller ;)

    why? who would like 8x SATA 6Gbps ports instead of 6x SATA 6Gbps + 2x SATA 3Gbps :p
  5. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    did I see a floppy connector?
  6. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    I didn't even notice that. I guess some people still use them, but who uses a floppy and buys a 890FX board. Enthusiast use flash drives. No floppy for me.

    Still makes me laugh though. :laugh:

    EDIT: 500th post woohoo!!
  7. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I guess those ports are good for Optical Drivers.
    Not really a big deal yet, but why not do it anyways Gigabyte :shadedshu
  8. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    needs more sata ports :(

    still looking for a 10-12 port board from gigabyte.
  9. Paintface

    Paintface New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    389 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    so besides the dual lan and "better" crossfire possibilities there isnt much different from the 890gx? Waiting for the 890x myself.
  10. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland
    Urgh ... the PCI-E x1 slots are useless. :banghead:

    Top one blocked by heatsink, lower one blocked by dual-slot GPU.

    :(

    PS Floppy Drive FTW! I still have one!
  11. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Off Topic: What do you use it for??
  12. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,922 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,445
    When AMD came out with the xxxGX line, they set the computer world on it's ear. Until then, integrated graphics were for office apps and web browsing. Finally, real graphics built in. Not only that, but the boards had a rich feature set and were overclock ready. 890x is the GX without the "G". May as well get the GX so that if you have a failure of your dedicated GFX card, you can fall back on the integrated GFX.


    It was logical that this board was coming. What surprised me was when they released the GA-790FXTA-UD5, which has the same feature set. I sure hope some reviewer compares the two. (I know that the 890's will be the best going forward, I was just surprised that Gigabyte took the 790FX and made a "890FX version" with SATA6 and USB3.)
  13. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    ^^ The 890GX has integrated graphics and Dual Crossfire runs at 8x/8x...The 890FX does not have integrated graphics and allows Dual Crossfire to run at 16x/16x...This also applies to the 790GX/FX chipsets.
  14. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    TV tuner card
  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,416 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    What does TV Tuner have to do with FDD?
  16. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    :confused::wtf::confused:
  17. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    ah, my bad - was thinking of the x1 slot...
  18. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    cool finaly lets see that ud7 i know u got it lol:roll:

    yeah formulas looking like a better setup right now needa see that ud7 tho cause u know they have it thats hiding too they seem to want to be last to show everything havent seen asrock 890FX too only GX

    yeah u should wait to see that in UD6 and UD7 for PCB style ver up to the left like the others. im sure it will be in either one. since they have 3 high ends ( 5 6 7 ). Im not so suprised
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2010
  19. mjkmike

    mjkmike

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,495
    Location:
    Alberta,Canada
    I see a led post error screen on this. Is this the first gigabyte to have one?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Vagike New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    89 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    the X58A-UD3R, UD5, UD7 i think have 10 sata port; a combination of 3 & 6 Gbps.
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I wonder what the MSRP of this would be at time of release. I like it ALOT! After switching over to Gigabyte from MSI & DFI, I am pleased with my decision.
  22. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,154 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I was squirming like a little girl during computer science...
  23. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,109 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    806
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    lol, now I forgot what I was supposed to comment on :laugh:

    Damn it, that temporary storage area on my brain is erased, can't remember what it is :D
  24. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland
    It has a card-reader (CF, SD, etc) integrated into it. I plug the Floppy in for shits and giggles. And to hear the floppy power up - takes me back to the old days of my family's Amiga 500. :)
  25. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Totally understandable for the nostalgia. I have an old 486 that still runs, and I still have some of the GIANT floppies for it too, so I understand the nostalgia aspect.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page