1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte GA-890XA-UD3...

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Goodman, Feb 18, 2011.

  1. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    I decided recently to go DDR3 since price are ridiculously low right now...

    So i decided to order the GA-890XA-UD3 at the store near my home , i went to get it today & when i looked at the box it was revision 1.0 & i wanted revision 2.0...
    So i got to call the guy back tomorrow & see if he can get the revision 2.0 if not i may have to take the revision 1 instead?

    Question is...
    What is the difference between revision 1.0 & 2.0?
    All i heard is revision 1.0 doesn't overclock well & can't go much over 250 fsb & that revision 2.0 overclock much better & have SATA raid driver preinstall for Vista/W7
    That is all i can find out about the difference of two revisions board & Gigabyte site was not helpful

    Anybody knows?
    Thx!

    BTW:I could wait for AM3+ & bulldozer but that won't be before the end of summer time & most lilkely not before next Autumn & i am not going to wait that long...;)
     
  2. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    sorry, are you able to provide a link to the motherboard? i can only find FX and GX models on the gigabyte website.


    EDIT,
    found it hiding under the 790 chipsets.... i blame the poor naming :p







    EDIT 2:

    im curious.... what is the price difference between that board and the GA-890GPA-UD3H or GA-890FX-UD5.
     
  3. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Here the 890FX-UD5 is at $199 +14% taxes :mad:($50 over my budget) & the 890GPA-UD3H is at $145 but it is only 4+1 phase so no way i am buying this board...
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2011
  4. Wyverex

    Wyverex

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    282 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Goodman says thanks.
  5. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal

    Thanks! for that but i did find one difference in the link you posted the Rev2.0 got 2x USB 2.0/1.1 headers while the Rev1.0 got 3x USB 2.0/1.1 headers but that is the only difference i see in the specs

    I wonder why they remove one USB header in revision 2.0...?
     
  6. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    perhaps to cut costs.... maybe that extra header cost them a lot more moneys.
     
  7. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    I doubt they would even save .20c on that & maybe less than .10c lol!
     
  8. Undead46

    Undead46 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    257 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA, Texas
    I would expect it to have an updated BIOS too, but honestly, you should be fine.
     
  9. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Yeah! the both (rev1 & rev2) have different Bios & that puzzle me
    Anyways i decided to give the rev1.0 a go ill try the board this week end hopefully i can get the same oc result as my current board 268x14 & possibly more...

    Worst case scenario ill return/exchange the board on Monday

    Ill update this thread this week end & tell you all how it goes
     
  10. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Well so far the board is good at overclock got 3.8Ghz stable at 1.525v while on my "old" board was getting max of 3.750Ghz for the same voltage

    The difference is the ram on my old board DDR2 was running at 900mhz with 2.0v , now on my current DDR3 i did lower my ram as much as i can to see how far ill go with my cpu anyway was running my ram at 1088mhz & cpu to 3.8Ghz

    My ram DDR3 is Kingston Hyperx KHX1600C9AD3K2/4G which is rated at 1.65v for 1600mhz
    now i read/heard that you shouldn't go over 1.65v for DDR3 but that is for people having 1.5v memory

    My question is...
    Since i always oc my PC & my Ram is rated @1.65v going up to 1.7v would be pretty safe i would guess... but would it be safe going over 1.7v like maybe up to 1.750-1.8v range? (if needed?)

    Thx!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page