1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD7 Top-Tier Socket AM3+ Motherboard Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 23, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,230 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    After displays of socket AM3+ motherboards based on AMD 990FX chipset, by ASUS, and MSI were pictured by various tech sites, it's quite expected of Gigabyte's offering to somehow make it to the web. Gigabyte is going full guns with its top AM3+ motherboard, with the GA-990FXA-UD7. Based on the same Black+Graphite+Gold color scheme as the socket LGA1155 "UD7" models based on Intel P67 and Z68, the GA-990FXA-UD7 comes with zesty dimensions that almost make it an EATX form-factor board, although it's not. The AM3+ socket is powered by a 10-phase VRM that is cooled by a long heatsink that appears to be contiguous with the northbridge heatsink, which in turn shares heat with the southbridge over a heat pipe. The socket is wired to four DDR3 DIMM slots supporting DDR3 frequencies in excess of 1866 MHz.

    Gigabyte utilized each of the seven expansion slots, packing in six PCI-Express 2.0 x16 neatly spaced out to support NVIDIA 4-way SLI and AMD 4-way CrossFireX; two out of six slots two are electrical x4, wired to the southbridge. A legacy PCI slot is thrown in, just in case you hate to throw away that expensive PCI sound card that still sounds great. Storage connectivity includes eight internal SATA 6 Gb/s ports, six from the SB850 southbridge, and two from a third-party controller. There are two eSATA ports, of which one appears to be power-eSATA.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Other connectivity features include 8+2 channel HD audio driven by Realtek ALC889 high-SNR CODEC with optical and coaxial SPDIF outputs, four USB 3.0 ports driven by EtronTech-made controllers (two ports internal, by headers), gigabit Ethernet, and FireWire. While Gigabyte retains its Award Software-made BIOS with DualBIOS technology, the BIOS is loaded with EFI extensions that let it boot from volumes greater than 3 TB in size. Gigabyte calls this HybridEFI. Expect the GA-990FXA-UD7 to be out in mid-June.

    Source: Hermitage Akihabara
    Last edited: May 23, 2011
    H82LUZ73 says thanks.
  2. jalex3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    187 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    nomnom best slot layout iv seen, but I wish gigabyte had uefi bios. i hope the ud5 does not take away to many features. old plastic again tsk tsk
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,230 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It does have EFI, it will support booting from 3+ TB volumes. If it's a graphical setup program you're asking for, then Gigabyte has a program called TouchBIOS, which is Windows-based, but has the same functions as graphical UEFI setup programs.
  4. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    929 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    That's a misconception I'm sorry to say, Gigabyte is so far still using BIOS, BUT they've added the major functions of UEFI, such as GPT boot and support for 2.2TB+ drives, but it's a hack using Award BIOS (which by the way is no more). Their BIOS engineering team is lead by an ex Award guy and this is part of the reason why Gigabyte has been slow at adopting UEFI. On top of that, it's a big shift in knowledge, as UEFI is using a high-level programming language (I think it was C++) while BIOS is assembler code, so it's not like it's a quick an easy transition for the BIOS engineers.
  5. afw

    afw New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    642 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Why is it still ATi cross-fire ... shouldn't it be AMD crossfire now ... ??? :confused: ... or am i missing somthing here

    BTW ... nice to have SLI on AMD ... :)
  6. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    You still have ATi in your sig...why don't you change yours? :p

    Looks like a nice feature-packed board, and I'm glad to see Gigabyte's new color scheme trickling over to AMD.
  7. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Looks like the best looking of the 990FX boards so far, and so many x16 lanes.
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    If Bulldozer does in fact trump Intel, this would be the board I would look to grab.
  9. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,438 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,531
    Agree. Love the "dark" layout:)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. afw

    afw New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    642 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Thats cos I had an ATi card back then ... :laugh: ... and yeah the board sure does look nice ... :D
  11. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    It's very nice to get to see all these boards we have recently but i really wish the bulldozer CPU's were out already as i find it hard to consider a board for a CPU I'm not even sure i want to buy yet :laugh:
    Not that I'm complaining, I'm looking forward to more board news from more company's.
  12. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,585 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yep it looks better than blue scheme. its nice, i like the yellow
  13. nemesis.ie

    nemesis.ie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    191 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Only one LAN port? Seems odd unless they plan an even higher spec one? UD9?
  14. nemesis.ie

    nemesis.ie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    191 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Looking at the back of the board, it looks like if you have just 2 graphics cards you lose the PCI if you want them both in x16 slots. Very odd. Maybe this is just a prototype shot and they will swap a couple of slots to fix that.
  15. jalex3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    187 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9

    there is nothing that can be done unless they make the second 4x a 16x otherwise you lose the air cap for duel cards and the layout would not not work for 4way. im sure this is the final product (note v1.0 on the board).
  16. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    Very desireable indeed.
    This board is like the MSI 990FXA + ... 2!! :nutkick:

    I was hoping we'd get to see the boards in advance so as to decide on the board first, then if the CPU is what it's supposed to be, pull the trigger.:)
  17. N3M3515

    N3M3515

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    429 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Why is the socket is different than the ECS?
    Last edited: May 23, 2011
  18. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Best chose for AMD and Nvidia fun people.
  19. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Yeah, Gigabyte doesn't seem to be interested in modifying their socket retention module to match the AM3+ standard like Asus and AsRock. But big whoop...

    The angled SATA power connector on the side I assume is used to supply additional power to the PCIe slots? Beats the hell out of a random molex/PCIe power connector in an uncomfortable to reach (and hide wires) location on the board.

    Looking forward to the UD5 model myself; who the hell needs this much stuff?

    Contiguous, maybe? :laugh:
    btarunr says thanks.
  20. scazbala86

    scazbala86

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    50 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Looks like Gigabyte didn't get the memo about the split cpu cooler bracket.
  21. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    It seems weird to me, but these high-end mobos designs were used only by intel side
    This means only that amd this time will battle intel for sure
  22. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,743 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    putting eSATA on the rear without using a bracket is so stupid
    they should included a dual powered eSATA>SATA Adapter instead
    why? that way you can use all the 10 SATA or 8 SATA + 2 eSATA, you can choose
  23. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    This is the type of board that you sleep with for the 1st night before installing the next day.
  24. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Shouldn't you be worried about catching an ESD?
  25. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    I'll wear an anti-static wrist band for protection :D
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page