1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4 Thread

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by devguy, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. VI New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,
    Do anyone know how much power Gigabyte EP45-UD3R board consumed during the highest OC settings? I am planning to build my own system. Just want to know what is the best PSU rating that I need to buy to reach its 80% capacity at highest system performance.

    Thanks.
  2. punlo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have unlocked my X3 710. Feeling very lucky.:)
  3. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Dang. After installing my new hsf I keep trying to overlock my 720. The heat is not an issue (43c max on 100% load for 20mins).
    Well I had 18.5x200 which is 3.7Ghz at 1.504v, seemed working for 20mins under 100% CPU and memory stress testing, but my PC just reboots in most games (randomly, from 10min to 3hours of play).
    Same with 18x200 at 1.488-1.504v AND 19x200 at 1.504-1.530. Just reboots during gaming sessions.

    I tried higher vcore until PC refused to boot at around 1.58v.
    I just don't see what's standing inbetween me and a stable 3,7Ghz :/
    Is my PSU not enough?

    What should I try doing?
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2009
  4. mrfil13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    In my experiance you sometimes just hit the limit of the chip, i have a amd 8750 BE which gets to 3ghz very easily with just 1.3v but try an extra 100mhz and even up the voltage to 1.5 and it just reboots. Idle temps are mid 30s.

    For VI i have a gigabyte 550w Odin GT which allows you to view the amps on each rail and the wattage the system is using, admitidly it won't be 100% accurate but with my amd 8750 (not OCed) 4gb ram, at 4870 GC and the ma790x ud4 it never goes beyond 300watts, at idle its about 120 watts.

    Have a look on jonnygurus website, they have some very indepth reviews of PSUs and they show at what wattage the PSU hits a % efficancy.
  5. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I've lowered multiplier back to 3,3Ghz and started testing stability from +0v and kept raising it until that speed was stable, then raising the multiplier. This graphic will make sence of what I just said:

    [​IMG]


    So I'm at 18x200, 1.504v again... and 48hours stable.. if I ever reboot I'll up the vcore more.
  6. mrfil13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Any idea what the max safe vcore is for those chips?
  7. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    1.55v is usually top that a CPU will want. I've seen some crazy voltages like 1,68v but that's very rare to work.
  8. shaggeyman39 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Ozpa, Are you using ACC and changing them with voltage? If so what are your settings? I get best results with +4 in Hybrid mode. The newest bios lets you select Hybrid mode. F3 2009/06/03 Its newer than F3F that your specs say.
  9. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    No, I'm not using ACC. I just don't have enough info on it and I don't know how to use it OR if it helps at all.
    My BIOS is F3F, but I see it's removed from the Gigabyte download section. F3 is newer than the one I'm using. I'll try and update my BIOS when I get more free time in case something goes wrong.
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2009
  10. mrfil13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I haven't played with acc much, im on f3 bios, set it to normal and auto and thats how i hit 3ghz easily, without it i think the max was 2.8. Think the main idea is to find a point that its unstable like your 3.7 and increase the values on each core until its stable, problem is theres not enough info on it and what point is the % going abit too high.

    Its a damn shame that ACC does not work in Amd overdrive, makes things easier to tweek rather than reboot, change, reboot....

    Go back to the first page of this thread and goto near the bottom down to devguys post about ACC.
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2009
  11. mrfil13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Anyone still getting the cold boot issues?

    Im on the F3 bios, no ACC at the moment or OC, kingtson 1066 set at 2.2v (did the same at 800mhz 1.8v), ati 4870 This seems to startup, no post, restart and just loops like that. Managed to get it working by holding down restart button for a few seconds and then let go.

    By the way this happedned before with a different 4870 and another ud4 board (was replaced)

    I may try changing the pcie speed down to 100mhz from the auto 108 and see if that helps.
  12. Jickel New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I'll return with more info as soon as I have some spare time, just throwing out the question here in the meantime:

    Anyone else having problems starting (Debian-based, maybe) Linux live-CDs? I'm still on F3i, but I keep getting an incompatability error with the power scaling module. I can't remember the exact wording, but it's BIOS related and it keeps your Live-CD from booting, so you'll most certainly notice it.
  13. Shadowdust

    Shadowdust

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    341 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Martinez, CA
    Just wanted to say that I decided to try unlocking a Phenom II X2 550 and it was rather successful. Only had bump CPU voltage up to 1.39. Not only does it unlock to four cores but it overclocks to 3.6 GHz without any additional voltage thanks to the Hybrid ACC firmware. :D

    Attached Files:

  14. Queelis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I still do have the issue. Only I get over POST, up to Windows splash-screen, and then either black blank screen or lost signal with the VGA fan spinning up to 100%. Then reset one or more times, and eventually I get to boot.

    The F3 are newer than F3i, right? Since someone wrote there was a side-effect of F3i to fix the cold boot issue with a 4830 (which is what I have), maybe it would make sense rolling back? I don't plan to overclock, at least not yet, so I couldn't care less about BIOS options, I just want it to boot when I tell it so :)
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2009
  15. mrfil13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Normally random reboots are PSU related, what heatsink do you have? Someone i know had a problem where the heatsink unseated the CPU slightly, last night i held the heatsink down and the system booted fine until i let go at which point it froze.
  16. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    199 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    czech republic
    Hi, later il post some results....I can say, with this great board i have x4 955 at 3.88GHz stable with AIR cooling...
  17. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    199 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    czech republic
    whos better stable OC? We will see...

    first setings: CPU 3895MHz 2665MHz for NB, busspeed 205
    second setings: CPU 3857MHz 2842MHz for NB, busspeed 203

    I tried quickly some benchs and aplications

    Winrar bench

    CPU 3895MHz=2766KB/s
    [​IMG]

    CPU 3857MHz=2764KB/s

    [​IMG]

    Fritzchess bench

    CPU 3895MHz= 9473 score
    [​IMG]

    CPU 3857MHz= 9385 score
    [​IMG]

    Superpi 4M

    CPU 3895MHz= 1m 38.844s
    [​IMG]

    CPU 3857MHz= 1m 39.343s
    [​IMG]

    AVS video convertion

    CPU 3895MHz= 2m 16s
    [​IMG]

    CPU 3857MHz= 2m 17s
    [​IMG]

    X264 2.0 bench HD resolution

    CPU 3895MHz= average 86.565 FPS and 21.16 FPS , max temperatures, all cores 57 C

    Results for x264.exe v0.58.747
    encoded 1442 frames, 84.82 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 86.90 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 87.56 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 86.98 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 21.29 fps, 3952.94 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 21.12 fps, 3952.94 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 21.07 fps, 3952.94 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 21.16 fps, 3952.94 kb/s


    System Details
    --------------
    Name AMD Phenom
    Codename Deneb
    Specification AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor
    Core Stepping
    Technology 45 nm
    Core Speed 3895.2 MHz (19.0 x 205.0 MHz)



    CPU 3857MHz= average 85.8725FPS and 20.9475 FPS, max temperatures 3x56 C + 1x 57C

    Results for x264.exe v0.58.747
    encoded 1442 frames, 84.98 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 86.33 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 85.69 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 86.49 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 20.92 fps, 3952.95 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 20.93 fps, 3952.95 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 20.97 fps, 3952.94 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 20.97 fps, 3952.94 kb/s


    System Details
    --------------
    Name AMD Phenom
    Codename Deneb
    Specification AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor
    Core Stepping
    Technology 45 nm
    Core Speed 3857.1 MHz (19.0 x 203.0 MHz)


    I think, diferent is in this benchs very small, but it see, 3895MHz with 2665MHz for NB is a bit better.
  18. shaggeyman39 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Nice job Flank3r. I have been chosing between two overclocks myself 255Bus or 205Bus. Minimal difference also. I only have a chepo CPU. I stick around 3.4GHZ and 2500NB
  19. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    199 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    czech republic
  20. yonef

    yonef New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Has someone tested new BIOS F4 !?
  21. Queelis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Don't have the time now, but will do that first thing in the morning. Maybe the cold boot will be fixed! *crosses fingers*
  22. shaggeyman39 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Bios F4 Update. Only few items changed. Still supports Normal & Hybrid ACC Firmware. Sleep now works on my overclocked system with AMD cool&quiet enabled.

    Added option to enable amd C1E.
    Added Amd Overdrive Support.
    Better easy energy & easy tool support.
    Updated cpu code.
  23. Queelis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay, so about C1E - if I don't overclock, is it better to enable it to save power?
  24. Queelis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, the cold boot issue has gone nowhere.
  25. Zerobarat1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page