1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Sasqui, Nov 15, 2012.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,758 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    If you have a GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H and are interested in sharing tips, tricks and questions about the board, please post here!

    Many thanks to Cadaveca, for his review here: http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Gigabyte/Z77X-UD5H_WiFi/

    I recently picked up mine at Microcenter, along with a 3570K. This will be my second Gigabyte board out of a more that a dozen over 2 decades of PC building. It has not been powered up as of this first post, though I've gone through the manual while I was travelling. Hope to test and burn-in this weekend.

    Suggested topics:
    • Overclocking
    • Gigabyte Software
    • Hardware Compatibility
    • BIOS Versions
    • Cooling and Fan Controls
    Links to downloads through www.gigabyte.us:

    Manual (English): http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList/Manual/mb_manual_ga-z77x-ud5h_e.pdf
    Manual (English, Intel Rapid Start/Intel Smart Connect/Intel Smart Response manual ...support may vary by model...: http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList/Manual/mb_manual_intel-ui_e.pdf
    BIOS List: http://www.gigabyte.us/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4139#bios
    BIOS (latest F14): http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList/BIOS/mb_bios_ga-z77x-ud5h_f14.exe
    Drivers and Utilities: http://www.gigabyte.us/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4139#driver

    My first question is about "Smart Recovery 2", which allows you to backup your OS on a partition on the primary OS drive. Questions: Does it work? Can you restore the OS to a different drive?

    Second question is about the BIOS, any particular version that is good/bad?

    More to come. If you own the board, please subscribe and list the CPU, memory and GPU you are using (and BIOS version if you know it), I will compile a list here.

    So far:
    NeoCrisis: 3570k / 8GB Corsair Vengeance / GTX 670
    Jack1n: 3570k / 8GB Corsair Dominator Plat / Radeon HD7950
    mm67 : 3770k / ? Memory / Dual HD6870's
    Sasqui: 3570k / 16 GB G.Skill Sniper 2133 C9 / Intel 4000 HD (for now)
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2012
    cadaveca says thanks.
  2. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    I would have probably bought this one if the MSI one wasn't on sale for such an amazing deal.
     
    xxdozer322 says thanks.
  3. NeoCrisis

    NeoCrisis

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    385 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I'm loving my motherboard havent taken advantage of the mstata yet but soon
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  4. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Sign me up,using latest f12 bios.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,758 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    What version board? I got the v1.1, came with the f14 BIOS.
     
  6. mm67

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Finland
    I'm running a rev 1.0 board with an i7-3770K, bios F15d
     
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,758 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Your sys specs show a i7 2500K in a P67 motherboard. Did you buy yourself a christmas present?
     
  8. mm67

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Finland
    I have that Z68 system in sys specs and Asrock Z68 E3G3, Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H, Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H systems :)
     
  9. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    I meant to say F14 got mixed up,my board is version 1.0 is there a difference?
     
  10. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,758 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Nice... so you've got a 3770K and what video card in the UD5H? Going to add it to the list.

    I didn't even know they had a rev 1.1 until I took the motherboard out of the package yesterday. I read that the LAN1 has chip update, the Atheros 8161(Atheros 8151 for rev. 1.0 of motherboard)

    Someone asked about "soundproblem (greenport and 5.1 output)" in 1.0, but don't know if it's fixed in 1.1.
     
  11. mm67

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Finland
    UD5H system is running with two HD6870 cards.
     
  12. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Haha found exactly the same thing on google,any way i use the intel lan port and i dont use the on-board audio so its all good to me.
     
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,758 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Updated list.

    Yea, I don't think there's anything big, Gigabyte doesn't even list the 1.1 rev on thier website.
     
  14. Jimbo900 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Great Idea! should make looking for help a whole lot easier.

    I just bought your cousin, the GA-Z77-D3H with i5_3570K. Don't have the parts yet but just starting to read up on possible issues. Haven't built a system in ages. Don't know how different the Z77-D3H is from the X-UD5H.
    What did you pick for memory?
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  15. PatoRodrigues

    PatoRodrigues

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    227 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Brazil
    Sasqui, hope to get in the "club" in few days. It's coming!

    really like the OC potential this board looks to have (as told by you in another topic).

    Anybody here has the version with the PCIe WiFi card included? Already used it?
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  16. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,758 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    G.Skill Sniper 2133 C9 1.65v

    My guess is that the add-on is nice, but a dedicted Wifi or BT card would be better. If you have rig that high end, likely, you'd have cable anyway?
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2012
  17. PatoRodrigues

    PatoRodrigues

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    227 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Brazil
    Certainly you can afford a dedicated one haha!
     
  18. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I am running the Gigabyte Z77-UP7 with 3 x Radeon 7970's and love it. It overclocks great and i broke 6GHz on dry Ice.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    FYI: XSPC is making a full motherboard block. Haven't seen it retail yet but it is up on their website.

    [​IMG]
     
    madnoh says thanks.
  20. ckoons1

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    O'fallon Mo.
    how does UD5H compare to SNIPER 3?
    if i am only using one video card is there any advantage?
    thx
     
  21. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    There is no real advantage. Save the $ if your only using 1 card.
     
    ckoons1 says thanks.
  22. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    The sniper comes with better Audio,thats it basicly.
     
    ckoons1 says thanks.
  23. ckoons1

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    O'fallon Mo.
    picked up the UD5H
    thanks Cadaveca
    waiting on water block
     
    Sasqui and cadaveca say thanks.
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,100 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    UD5H is a killer board.
     
    Sasqui and ckoons1 say thanks.
  25. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,758 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    It really is... and it's relatively simple so far. I *still* haven't gotten mine under water yet, spent a few days cleaning out a 4 yr old gunked up loop and now it's ready for prime time. Hoping to see my 3570K @4.8Ghz, it did 4.7Ghz stable on air with just a little work.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page