1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 680 Graphics Card Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,524 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,041
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    fair enough
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    That i3 bench has the i3 bottlenecking it I guess.. I can get 53 fps something with this 775 quad and the GTX580
  3. Rahmat Sofyan

    Rahmat Sofyan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    94 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Pekanbaru -Riau - Indonesia - Earth
    more clear image

    [​IMG]
    TRWOV says thanks.
  4. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    470 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Indonesia
  5. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,824 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    I think the 7970 and 680 are going to be neck an neck.
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,885 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    CONFIRMED!

    ......what?

    Where in the article does it say the stock clock is 706mhz on the core lol! :laugh:


    EDIT: I will definitely be getting one of these cards for sure around summer time.
  7. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,699 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    960
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I don't know if you're trolling... :wtf::shadedshu
  8. amdftw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    30 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Can you read this?
    The Gpu-z capture.
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,885 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    god yeah wtf.

    DX10.1 didn't do shit for ATI cards. The GTX260 Core 216 was still raping them.
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,885 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    and so then that means according to some other stuff that has been released they are capable of a 63% overclock.

    That guys i3 is holding the 680 back a bit, but it stil lbeat a guys 7970 at the 706mhzx,unless the dynamic clock stuff took it to 1006. Either way once drivers are better(since the minimum FPS seems a bit low) I think this card will take off.
  11. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    470 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Indonesia
    I notice that the driver version is different.
    300.99 in the earlier SLI leak and 300.65 in this Gigabyte retail.
  12. semantics

    semantics

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    107 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    not that surprising that a retail box would have old drivers on a new card which will likely go though several driver updates in the months following release. Gotta pre package that stuff weeks in advance.
  13. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
  14. amdftw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    30 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    So you can not read...
    Ha said the NV control panel showed the same clocks!
  15. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    OK wise guy look here, same forum, same thread, another aparent owner of a GTX680 a little later:

    [​IMG]

    The right GPU-z version.

    [​IMG]
    NHKS and EarthDog say thanks.
  16. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Thanks for this at list my mind is at peace knowing it supports DX11.1 according to GPU-Z 0.6.0 now just to confirm if it supports 4K if so, i might just still use Nvidia for my next GPU upgrade, tho AMD Radeon HD7970 seems appealing.
  17. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    I really don't think that's important right now. Things are really heating up over at Overclockers.
    Look at the unigine result and compare.
  18. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    917 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    362
    There is one guy showing the card doing about 2000 at heaven benchmark.. And one guy showed a score of GTX 580 SLI, 2200...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,885 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    linky. I want to watch/read it.
  20. Count Shagula New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    74 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    My Computer
  21. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    So GPU-z reads: 294mm2 and release date: Mar. 22.2012

    Soon...
  22. Casecutter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Yep! that's what the whole Adaptive V-Sync (also what was termed Dynamic profiles) does... it manipulates the clocks of GPU/memory, along with stimulates or restrain sections of cuda cores as need to alter and maintain frame-rate transitions to be "fluid and/or organic". Basically when 3D scene starts dropping frame-rates below monitor refresh-rate or above, it limits or augments such resources trying to maintain close to 60Fps. As the scene loads the GPU and other chip/card resources provide exactly how much energy each single scene require smooth frame-rates. So within milliseconds the card juggles various resources dynamically against present profiles.

    What's nice is now Nvidia doesn’t need to supply a cooling system built to handle the constant say 40-50% top OC’n spikes, it’s BTU performance can be scaled back, because chiefly the profiles will maintain the lowest clock for the 3D load and FpS required. The chance of a 40-50% OC boost might last a few seconds then be down again. That permits a theoretically higher max TDP, because they turn up the heat that high very infrequently. The only downside is the conventional OC’n enthusiasts are use to may no longer be there, if you disable the Adaptive V-Sync now that chip has a TDP of 160W consistently, OC’d at say 775Mhz.
  23. rvalencia

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    83 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
  24. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    I still am worried about this...its 256-bit and not 384-bit ...it's 2GB and not 3GB ...so if you were to play n-finity (nvidia's eyefiniti) you won't get the best bang for you buck. For the price to be 15% higher than a 7970 it better damn do better than a 7970! I just don't see the comparison that much here ... BTW, what's with the 6-pin connectors? [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  25. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    It's not fugly at all, also why would you care how the PCI-E power ports look as you will never see them when the card is plugged in, that's a pretty lame gripe . .. but to each their own I suppose.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page