1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GIGABYTE Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX Bios upgrade

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by nocrapman, Aug 15, 2009.

  1. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Hey guys,
    My computer is running off the stock BIOS - F2. In trying to get my CPU temps under control, it was recommended that I get my BIOS upgraded.
    - Does anyone know what might be the latest but stable version for this MOBO.
    - Also since I have never done this, how do I flash the BIOS most easily?
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,474 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    Just FYI, unless the bios is going to lower the volts or reset the cooler, I dont see how a bios flash will hellp temps in any way.
  3. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    True, and the best way to flash bios is via Q-flash
  4. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    I agree... Q-flash is the eastest and fastest way to flash your bios...

    I've used it for years and have never had a problem
  5. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Thanks Guys!
    So Q-flash runs in windows?
    Should i desist then from updating the BIOS, because other than the temp issue, the computer is working great?
    ANd if anyone knows the best stable version out there, I would very much appreciate the info...

    Cheers!
  6. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,474 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    for temp issues I would look at the mounting of the cooler and the application of the TIM. If neither correct the issue, it leads me to say poor airflow in the case for that cooler, or the chip is just a hot sample, it happens.

    If the PC is doing what you want, is it worth the risk to make it a paperweight if you fail with the flash? Over something completely unrelated anyways!
    nocrapman says thanks.
  8. ASharp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    No. It's a tool that you find in your BIOS. I believe you can access it by either pressing "End" while the board is POSTing or you can access it from within your BIOS by hitting one of the F keys.
    nocrapman says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page