1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte Intros Radeon HD 6970 WindForce 3X Graphics Card

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,694 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Gigabyte unveiled its latest high-end graphics card, the Radeon HD 6970 WindForce 3X. Based entirely on an in-house design, the card uses a Ultra Durable VGA+ PCB that makes use of 2 oz copper layers, and high-grade chokes, MOSFETs, and capacitors. Cooling is care of Gigabyte's workhorse high-end VGA cooler, the WindForce 3X. It makes use of a dense aluminum fin array to which heat is conveyed by several heat pipes, and is ventilated by three fans.

    The card is slightly overclocked, 900 MHz core against 880 MHz reference, and 2 GB of memory clocked at 5500 MHz. That apart, the GPU packs 1536 VLIW4 stream processors, and connects to the memory over a 256-bit wide memory interface. Display outputs include two DVI, and one each of full-sized HDMI 1.4a and DisplayPort 1.2. Gigabyte didn't give out pricing.

    [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
     
  2. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,936 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,376
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    wow, its kinda nice: powerful graphic card with triple fan and little bit OC on it, but i guess the looks need more aggressive :toast:
     
  3. Initialised

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    264 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    ASUS DirectCU II - triple slot Eyefinity 6 ready 6970 ftw.

    [​IMG]

    Proper beefcake GPU cooler.
     
  4. shiny_red_cobra

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    3 slots = too big. Even 2 slots is too big, but I understand why it's required these days. But 3 slots is overkill.
     
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,980 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,711
    Location:
    US
  6. {uZa}DOA

    {uZa}DOA

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    119 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    In a Van down by the river!
    that thing's a monster! 3-slots wow....
     
  7. Initialised

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    264 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Yeah but "Overkill is under-rated" - A-Team
     
  8. Kaleid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    These cards produce tons of heat, so 2 slots often is far too little at least if you wish to cool it down decently quiet.
     
  9. dieterd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    120 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    underkill

    I think u dont get what overkill is. if card at stock clocks runs over 70C and is loudest thing in PC - then it is usefull to do something to cool and silent it down (thicker fans, heatsink). is your overkill definition every CPU cooler (besides stock) is overkill.
     
  10. ebolamonkey3

    ebolamonkey3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    773 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Atlanta/Marietta, GA
    Gigabyte, please stop using blue pcb now.
     
  11. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,195 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Why I like the blue, goes with the rest of my parts which I can't even tell the color of cause even with lighting the case is too dark :laugh:

    Course I will admit I don't care for the sky blue they use on the plastic for slots or RAM sockets. Just a lil too bright of a blue for my tastes.
     
  12. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Looks nice. Id grab that ASUS if it had at least ONE HDMI port. I don't own a DP panel and don't plan on getting one anytime soon. Don't really see the need.
     
  13. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    I would hazard that this will be one of the best 6970's on the market, Gigabyte always make kickass non-reference cards. should be cool, quiet and overclock quite well :D
     
  14. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,980 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,711
    Location:
    US
    Really ?.. What fast ass card don't these days ?.

    If a 6970 is running 70c idle you need to get your case cooling sorted out as it sucks if ya running 70c idle.

    Mine ran 43c idle ( default cooler fan around 28% ) and 29-32 idle with the MK-13.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page