1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte Intros TurboCache and Overclocked GeForce GT 520 Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 15, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,562 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    GIGABYTE Technology Co. LTD., a leading manufacturer of motherboards and graphics cards, is pleased to launch the latest GeForce GT 520 series, GV-N520OC-1GI and GV-N520TC-1GI. Built on NVIDIA latest GT 520 GPU, supports DirectX 11 tessellation. GT 520 series graphics cards are bundled with the latest graphic card tuning tool “Easy Boost”. GIGABYTE GT 520 series graphics cards also have higher default GPU working frequency, providing users amazing gaming experience.

    GV-N520OC-1GI is integrated with industry’s best 1 GB DDR3 graphics memory. GV-N520TC-1GI is integrated with high speed 512 MB DDR3 graphics memory, turbo cached to 1 GB. GT 520 series graphics cards supports NVIDIA CUDA, PhysX and Blu-Ray 3D technology. They are designed for both high quality gaming and great home theater solution.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    Darn advertising the card as "turbo cache to 1GB" on the box.
    I assume most would buy thinking it's a 1GB card and not just a 512MB that pokes around in your system RAM.

    Wait a moment, this feels like deja vu, was there not a news story a few months back here about gigabyte and their use of turbo cache and the way the memory capacity was listed on the box giving the idea the cards had more ram than they really do?

    *edit*
    It seams my memory does still work :laugh: here is the thread i was thinking about
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2011
  3. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,188 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    At the same time, do those buying budget cards really need that much VRAM? How many are pushing the high res monitors or trying to run games with max everything and high FSAA?

    Someone attempting stuff like that is almost asking to be ripped off. In a way everyone loading up these peashooters with huge chunks of VRAM are taking advantage of less informed people even worse. Then you add in Best Buy zombies selling these with "more VRAM is better" mottos. Just feeds it more.

    Bit of a waste of silicon IMO, just so these companies can sell more low end parts. But whatever, if it sells, I'd prolly market the same way.
     
  4. lucas4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    232 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    These will sell well in shop pc's!
    Bigger numbers instantly means better :p (yes I'm looking at u pc world)
     
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,627 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    928
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Why do they stick these little farting fans on these cards... I have a backup GeForce 8400GS 512MB that's using passive cooler and it's brilliant. And if you want to overclock it, stick a 80mm fan on it and it overclocks like crazy.
     
  6. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    :roll:

    FarmVille FTW!
     
  7. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    381 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Give me a card that acts as cache for the OS, not the other way around.
     
  8. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,883 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    512mb is ample Vram for a card in that performance bracket
     
  9. Baum

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    474 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Germany,Hannover
    fan = dealkiller
    turbocache ?? if i buy a low end card i wan't vram instead onboard shared :banghead:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page