1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GIGABYTE Outs Corrective BIOS Update for GeForce GTX 670 WindForce 3X OC

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 6, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,678 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,418
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Apparently, GIGABYTE's GeForce GTX 670 WindForce 3X OC graphics card (model: GV-N670OC-2GD) is riddled with stability issues that can only be corrected with a graphics card BIOS update. The stability issues apparently relate to the way the GPU is addressing overclocked Hynix GDDR5 memory chips. The company released a pair of BIOS files, version F4 based on NVIDIA source BIOS 80.04.31.00.58 and version F12 based on NVIDIA source BIOS 80.04.31.00.09. The two were posted recently, but are date-stamped 13-Jul-2012. The two don't change the clock speeds the card ships with: 980 MHz core, 1058 MHz GPU Boost, and 6.00 GHz memory. Graphics card BIOS updating is a trickier process than motherboard BIOS updates, and you need to be really sure what you're doing. Find the BIOS files, and related documentation in the link below.

    [​IMG]

    DOWNLOAD: BIOS updates for GV-N670OC-2GD
    mypg0306, cadaveca and Hilux SSRG say thanks.
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,678 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,418
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Many Thanks to Dj-ElectriC for the tip.
  3. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,080 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    802
    To verify, i have updated my own GTX670 Windforce Edition and artifacts at diablo III were solved!
    as-well as driver crashes btw.
  4. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    636 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    I've gotten such great overclocking from my card that I'm on the fence whether or not to update. I have not noticed any stability issues whatsoever. :twitch:

    Thanks for the news btarunr.
    Proph3t says thanks.
  5. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,080 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    802
    Theoreticly OC abilities should not change, you can always backup the old one and just try :)
  6. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    529 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I had to DOA a dozen of these cards a couple of months ago due to BIOS issues.
    The issue encountered wasn't a stability problem but a problem where when the cards installed were loaded to the OS desktop (never before or during setup and always after) the fans would run 70%+ speeds constant (LOUD), drivers or not.. on various platforms. In each instance this occurred i changed to EVGA cards which fixed the issue.

    I haven't really handled these since then but believe that problem is long gone now.
  7. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,404 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    190
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I have a pair of these, they run ice cold and quiet. Haven't had much problems with them though...might have to boot up the new vga bios when I get home...
  8. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    How do I know if I need F4 or F12?
  9. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    Edit.

    If you want to do this, just download their VGA@BIOS software, and it will tell you which version of the BIOS you have. For instance, mine was F1, so I downloaded F4, per their guide, if you follow the link "How to reflash bios?"

    After you download the new BIOS and extract it, preferably to the desktop, just run VGA@BIOS, click Flash when the main screen appears, choose the newly downloaded BIOS, and wait for it to finish.
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2012
    mypg0306 says thanks.
  10. mypg0306

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Please notify here if you have successfully updated the bios. Waiting for the result. :)
  11. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    Oh sorry. Using the instructions I posted, it was successful. I am posting using the computer that has the flashed 670 right now actually.

    Edit. The whole process literally took less than two minutes and the great part is, it flashes it right in Windows and all you have to do is restart and DONE.
    aayman_farzand and mypg0306 say thanks.
  12. mypg0306

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Thanks for the info. Will try to flash it when I get home.
  13. starstarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I flashed mine to F4 but it didn't solve the issue on my card, as I am still forced to run it at PCI-E 2.0 or 1.0. Running at 3.0 will cause serious stability issue, e.g. driver crashes, screen freezing, system halt etc.
    Therion_I says thanks.
  14. Therion_I New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    48 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I'm having serious issues with mine even after Bios upgrade to F4. I can run games for between 30 seconds and 20 minutes before I get a black screen crash and have to use task manager to close the game. Gigabyte Tech Support are prompt with their replies but their replies are devoid of any useful information, they didn't even tell me about the problem with the old bios. They've now told me to RMA it to my retailer who I know are going to shove it in a machine, fire it up, test for ten seconds and say it's fine then charge me testing fees :(

    How do I go about downgrading my PCI-E lane to 2.0? That's one thing I didn't try (and I tried alot, about 40 hours worth of trying to solve this issue). I've got an Asus Maximus V Gene, would it just be a bios option (cant check cause I'm at work)?
  15. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,080 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    802
    Have you tried the F12 BIOS?

    And yes there should be a an option in your BIOS for switching the PCIE Gen between 2 and 3
  16. Therion_I New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    48 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I havent tried F12. The gigabyte website says only to use F12 if your current version is F10 (or it might be F11). As mine was F1 they said use F4.
  17. Therion_I New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    48 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    You aren't, by chance, using an i5 3570K on an Asus Maximus V Gene MB with your GTX 670 are you?
  18. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    858 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    which one do i download if my version is GV-N670OC-2GD.F2?
  19. mypg0306

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    f4
    tacosRcool says thanks.
  20. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    858 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    thanks!
  21. blanarahul

    blanarahul

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    114 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Now i can buy it.
  22. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    636 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Seems as thought stability fixes have not been fixed.

    Can anyone comment if overclocking has improved with this updated BIOS?
  23. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,080 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    802
    I cannot say anything about overclocking but my GTX670 WF X3 just became useable again thanks to the update.
  24. Therion_I New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    48 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I wouldn't if I was you. It seems to be lucky dip at the moment if the card will work with your system. If it doesn't and you try to RMA it then you'll end up like me with a card that's now cost me £360 and still doesn't work. First and definately the last time I ever buy anything Gigabyte!

    Further info:

    Just been on the Gigabyte forum. Apparently it is indeed a problem when running PCI-E 3.0 on a 16x Lane. The problem affects some but not all cards (so it is indeed lucky dip), they haven't solved the issue on the faulty cards with the bios update. Those with a faulty card can either change to PCI-E 2.0 or use an 8x Lane, neither of which will bottleneck a single GTX 670. Or you could try faulting it to your retailer but good luck with that!

    I've also seen talk that it's not just affecting this card. Apparently some GTX 680 models from other manufacturers are having the very same issue.
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2012
  25. xulos New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have 670 OC on P8P67 and 2500k, and none problems , card runin ice cold and silent, 6-7 hours wow, 3-4 hours bf3 , everything fine. Should i update bios or not touch if it's working ?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page